We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for my requirements”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just right for my requirements”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was located in the perfect location during my travels through the area. The front desk staff was excellent at check in and check out. The room was clean and well appointed with a great view of the waterfront and the big violin. I had a few complaints, however. Someone across the hall from me had a do that barked incessantly after 10pm right as I had fallen asleep after a long day on the road. After calling the front desk I felt that the response time to the room was too slow. The dog barked for between five and ten minutes non stop. If I had my way, no pets would be allowed in hotels but I understand that some people I have to travel with them for many reasons. If that's the case, manage your dogs, kids, whatever the issue is, so that other guests can get the rest they are paying for. One other issue, the restaurant/pub off the lobby was terrible. The food was not good and the service was atrocious. There was some crazy dude server who was basically shouting at the top of his lungs about the poor management of the place and how he had to do all the work. It took away from the experience because he wouldn't shut up and I couldn't carry on a business conversation with my associate. At that point it was too late for us to leave but we should have. So done needs to take a hard look at the restaurant management, the service and food quality. Don't bother eating in this place. Because of these identified issues, I rated the hotel lower in certain areas such as service and sleep quality.

Room Tip: Face the water and the violin for a good view and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImATravelinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear ImATravelinFool,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear check in went smoothly and you were pleased with your room and the view. I'd like to apologize for the disturbance of the dog and the unsatisfactory experience in the pub, it is very important to us that our guest's have a good night's sleep and receive the best service possible. I will pass your comments on to the Front Office and food and beverage managers. We are always looking for ways to improve on our guests stay. I hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    147
    61
    26
    14
See reviews for
94
110
18
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cochrane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We planned to stay at the Holiday Inn because of their rating and reputation. Our stay no where near met those expectations. The room had a water leak in the shower, the floor was flooded after our showers in the morning. You could tell it had been that way for some time as the wallpaper had peeled away from the wall and some tiles were broken. The restaurant was poorly manned, we went for dinner that evening, after a wait to be seated no servers/waiters were in the restaurant? We seated ourselves after a few minutes, (another couple did the same) the table dishes were not clean although it was a new set up table. waited a few more minutes and still no one showed up, so we left. There are other choices in Sydney, we'll look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank top-flyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear top-flyte,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This HI has been completely renovated and the rooms are fresh and comfortable. We had no complaints, the pool and gym are good, room service is efficient, location great for a stroll downtown or around the board walk. Cuisine is basic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Ruperto,

Thank you for your review. We are loving our new look and we're glad you like it too!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

If you reserve a room with a view of Sydney Harbour you wont be sorry. Beautiful sunset and sunrises! The hotel itself is very clean and the staff exceptionally helpful. Loved the boardwalk along the waterfront. Lovely walk in the evenings. Close to many wonderful bars and restaurants. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmf1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear jmf1967,

Thank you for your review, though we cannot take credit for the beautiful sunset and sunrise, we can take credit for the amazing views from your room and are very proud of our wonderful staff. Hope to see you back again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a very pleasant trip. I stayed one night for business and picked the hotel due to its waterfront location. The hotel is nicely decorated, the ambience is very fresh and contemporary. The room was lovely and contemporary with a great view. The bed is comfortable, the linens fresh and white. The bathroom was nice with bath and body works products and a real hair dryer (although the cord could be longer). We had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant that overlooks the water again and the small details again impressed me such as decent cutlery. The knives and forks were of good quality, there was a great choice of breakfast and it was of good quality. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a waterfront view, the sunset is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Natasha H,

Thank you for your review. So glad you were pleased with even the smallest detail (cutlery). We would love to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I rarely write these poor reviews, however, our stay at the Holiday Inn in Sydney was horrible, they could not decide which room rate to charge each night of our stay, 35 minute wait for breakfast and no server, no menu or no coffee, coffe machine in lobby not working and if it was , it would cost another $2,00 to your room rate whichever it might be. No bell man on check in and no one could find carts on check out The restaurant has great view, but the food is not great at all. The only bright spot in our trip was Alison at the front desk she went about and beyond to try to repair an awful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Livelys1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Livelys1976,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I only stayed one night but it was quite pleasant. The room was nice, the bed very comfortable and it was in good shape all around. Though it appears that the while rooms may have been renovated (or if not, they look pretty good) that the bathrooms haven't and look a bit older. I found the hotel nice and clean. It also has 2 restaurants, neither of which I tried but they seemed busy and popular.

This hotel has a great location right on the water. You are much better off getting a room overlooking that than the city, which isn't impressive. There is a boardwalk on the waterfront that makes for a nice walk in the evenings

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Feneant,

Thank you for your review. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us and the many perks we have to offer! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
1.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#2 of 4 in North Sydney
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing