We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Exceptionally clean room and very friendly staff!! Located right on the waterfront, it gives you a tremendous view and a beautiful place to go for a walk!!! It is also within walking distance to Tim Hortons! :) Would definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jacquie65,

Thank you for the great comments. We are very proud of our recently renovated hotel. Our new SaltSpray restaurant boasts the best dining view in the city. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Darcy MacDonald
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    146
    58
    24
    13
See reviews for
93
105
18
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I had to have surgery on my broken ankle at 8:30am Saturday morning and required a driver. That meant the whole family of five had to pack up and leave north of smokey around 5:30am. Instead of waiting at the hospital all day with the kids my wife called the front desk and asked if she could rent a room for the day. The staff was super helpful and friendly. My family got to relax in the room for a while then went swimming, then a great pancake breakfast ( free for the kids ), then another swim, then back to the room to freshen up and wait for my call from the hospital. They had a great day and I didn't have to worry about them all for a good price.
Michael.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Michael F,

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad to hear that we could properly accommodate you and your family during your visit to Sydney and make things more convenient under the unfortunate circumstances. Our kids eat free program is always great! I hope you and your family can come back again soon!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was the old Delta so I expected it to be roomy and well laid out.

The new reno to a Holiday Inn is modern if not a little over the top.
Rooms are great, beds new and comfortable.
Internet is a little on the weak side so don't expect to do much beyond basic surfing the web.

Hotel has an older gym and decent pool with water slide. No sauna or any of the perks usually associated with a Delta so they must have removed them during the reno.

The hotel is close to many things...Flavours being the best place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Doc D,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a great location right on the waterfront in downtown Sydney! Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family had a great time in the pool and on the waterslide. The exercise room was well equiped with new machines and lots of them. The room was nice except that it was beside the stairs and we could here everything that was going on. The restaurant was just ok but there are lots of choices around the hotel. The hotel is in the middle of a much needed make over and update but it was still clean and quite. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room by the stairwell, it was really loud. We had the king room with sofa bed and it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 795stevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear 795stevec,

Thank you for your review! I'm happy to let you know our lobby and restaurant renovations are complete! It's wonderful you and your family enjoyed the pool and waterslide and we would love to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed for business in early March 2013 and the hotel was under renovations. The staff were amazing and I didn't find the construction impacted my stay other than having to use another elevator. However, the signage to point you in the right direction was easy to follow. My room was beautiful...with a spectacular view of the harbour. The food at the Crown and Moose Pub was consistently good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can afford it...worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisablue154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Lisablue154964,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the Crown and Moose pub and we could accommodate you well during our renovations. Good news...renovations on our lobby area and our new SaltSpray Restaurant are now complete! I will pass on your great comments to the staff and we hope you can come check out our new look and restaurant soon!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had to do some business in Sydney and was somewhat unaware about Hotel options in the Region.

As the Title mentions, the place was under Reception Desk renos, yet the people were absolutely wonderful about how they went about things.
I cannot express now much the people were so incredibly outstanding!
The room was very comfortable with pillow options.
One caveat: There is little noise options between rooms...

Great Price/Quality with great soothing water views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Ron C,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad we could make your stay comfortable for you during our renovation process! The project is now complete and we are very excited about our new look! We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Sydney!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed here when this was the Delta, and it's a great hotel. It can be pricey but it's the best hotel in the area - if you're not going cabins or bed and breakfasts, this is your best choice. Other inns and hotels in town are poorly renovated and some are really just not good at all. I lived in the area eventually for a few years - it is where I'd recommend for anyone who asks me for a personal preference!

Room Tip: corner rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nwakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Nwakris,

Thank you for your review. We are proud to be your choice hotel in Sydney! We would love for you to come again and check out our amazing renovated lobby and our new SaltSpray Restaurant!

Sincerely,

Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
1.5 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing