We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under renovations....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Under renovations....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Well, too bad Delta jumped ship here! They are cureently under renovations (advised when I booked), but no hot water in the morning!?!? Gotta be kidding me! Also, they better invest in thei fitness facilities, pittyfull!!
Rooms are not too bad... But hallway very noisy! Install door sweepers here guys!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Daniel Bruce,
Thank you for your review. We are very excited about our current renovations! We will be welcoming a whole new lobby in February. Unfortunately, there was no hot water due to a local power outage in the city that had re-set our boilers for a few hours last week. Thank you again for your comments, we appreciate any suggestions for improvement.
Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    142
    55
    24
    12
See reviews for
89
102
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The view is exceptional with harbour view and the staff are all pleasant and very helpful. I preferred it as a Delta as I am a business traveller and the pillows have been switched (downgraded in my opinion) - I know I'm picky!!. Also the amenities are not the quality I got to love. Very accomodating to booking a room and the rates are very reasonable. I would stay again, but have switched to Cambridge for business travel because when staying for a week, there are more conveniences - such as small store, breakfast buffet which speeds my leaving in the morning and staff are so helpful and quick to followup on any maintenance requests that may come up.

Room Tip: choose one with harbour view on any floor from 4 or up
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mary S,

Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the view from our rooms and our wonderful staff. We do have new standard pillows in our rooms with two soft pillows and two firm pillows per queen bed with a choice of four specialty pillows upon request. Our amenities have changed as well to the Bath & Body works line which is coconut and lime verbena shampoo, conditioner and lotion and citrus mint face and body soap. Thank you again for your comments and if you would like to stay with us again, let us know how we could help accommodate you better.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived after 5 in the am after cancelled flights in Halifax and a long drive to Sydney. I have to say that the young lady who checked me in was simply amazing, I think she smiled the entire time I stood at the counter, she actually apologized for Air Canada....it is not often that you encounter someone as genuine as i did - I knew I was in Cape Breton for sure !! I thought I would have to check out right away at 11am and she was very accommodating and said no problem, sleep late and she would let housekeeping know not to disturn me - and she was true to her word.

I am only dissappointed that I can not remember her name. For the hotel the date was Dec 22nd at 5:00am, I hope she is noted for superior customer service skills !

Room Tip: The guest room was a queen suite with amazing views of Sydney Harbor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertaTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear AlbertaTraveller67,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate you so you could catch up on a few extra z’s from your long day of travelling. I will certainly pass on your kind remarks to Sarah. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days visiting family in the area. While we did not spend much time in the room, it was very well appointed. The cleaning staff were exceptionally helpful when my daughter was sick early one morning (uncontrolled) Bedding, carpet, and bathroom required some quick cleaning. Luckily we were leaving for the day but was offered to move rooms. We waited until our return to decide but the cleaning staff had done such a great job, no need to move. No smell, No wet carpets. We have stayed here a few times (not Holiday Inn) and I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Tammy W,

Thank you for your review. I’m glad we could accommodate you during your stay in Sydney. It’s wonderful to hear that the housekeeping staff could meet your needs and did a great job as well. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the cleaning team. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town visiting!

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a room on the 7th floor with very nice views including the world's largest fiddle.
The Lobby and other public areas, hallways, stairwells and the pool locker rooms are a bit musty and needed cleaning. But the rooms themselves were clean and smelt fresh. Toilet ran alnight, called late afternoon to have it fixed but never did. Also had trouble at first with the air conditioner not blowing much, called down and a nice young man came up to check it and even brought us a portable fan.
Only had breakfast in the restaurant and were pleased. The highlight of our stay though was a young man with an unusual name, Nymark. He seemed to be a jack of all trades he brought us the fan the night before and was our waiter for breakfast. He went above and beyond for us and other patrons making breakfast very enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat2009Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear cat2009Texas,

Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your room and the great view of the Sydney Harbor and ‘The Fiddle’ from the 7th floor; however I’m sorry we didn’t get your toilet fixed promptly. We are excited to announce the next stage of renovations is the lobby area, starting in January! We are also very lucky to have such caring employees like Nymark. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to him as well as the food and beverage manager.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went here for a weekend on a whim. Only live about 20mins away but felt like doing something different because it was our 4 year anniversery. When my boyfriend mentioned this they upgraded us to a suite with no extra charge. The room was clean, spacious and nice.

Room Tip: tell them its your anniversary ! haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeBreton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear CapeBreton90,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to have had you stay with us on your 4 year anniversary! Whenever you feel like another mini getaway, we’d be more than happy to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Decent room on 7th floor with a great view of the waterfront and the world's largest fiddle. Drinks machine on our floor was not working and a trip to the 5th floor to find an alternative required running the gamut of scantily clad, noisy and exuberant soldiers! Very glad we weren't on that floor!

We ate in the restaurant on the afternoon/evening of arrival and again at breakfast. On both occasions, food was awful (poor quality, huge portions, crudely presented) and service was poor.

Checkout was very slow (waiting for breakfast bill, which required several prompts from front desk). Whilst waiting, we learned that the recent change from Delta to Holiday Inn had been "merely a branding change".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJHOLIDAYINNSYD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Philip D,

Thank you for your review. We are very lucky to have such great views from our guest rooms, including the world’s largest fiddle. Along with our brand change, came many exciting guest room renovations, new elevators and many more to come. I’m sorry that you were let down during your restaurant and check out experiences and I will certainly pass on your feedback to the Food and Beverage manger and Guest Service Manager. I hope you will give us another chance if your travels bring you to Sydney again in the future.

Sincerely,
Lindsey Joe
Manager, social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
1.4 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Property: Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Address: 300 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing