We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We received first-class service.”
Review of Comfort Inn Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Sydney
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
“We received first-class service.”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Accommodation was just what we wanted - clean and comfortable. For our visit to Louisbourg, this was a very good location with good restaurants nearby. Service was friendly and supportive: we received a phone call in our room just after our arrival to make sure everything was to our liking - now that's rare! And as we left, the manager took the time to help me obtain our airline boarding passes and print them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review of the Sydney Comfort Inn. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to leave such nice comments about our hotel. We hope that on your next trip to Sydney, we will once again have the pleasure of having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
60
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We routinely stay at Choice Hotels and we found this location to be lacking in some areas in comparison to the rest. The breakfast area was small with no seating. Ok to take it to your room if you're on the first floor, but it is a route march to the second. There was no yogurt and the staff said that they had run out on the weekend. This was now Tuesday and no yogurt??. The biggest observation was about smoke in the hallways. Although we were in a no smoking wing, the smoke was very noticeable. This was brought to the attention of the front desk. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freedom50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN251GM, General Manager at Comfort Inn Sydney, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments which allow us to continually improve our Customer Service. Your concerns about the Breakfast and the smoking wing concern us as well, and we will work hard to improve those areas. Thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My friend and I stayed at this hotel because of it's proximity to the ferry to Newfoundland which was leaving early the next morning. We quickly checked out of the hotel early the next morning and when we arrived in North Sydney, were checked in and proceeded to line up for the ferry. That is when I noticed my blackberry was missing. I remembered seeing it on the bed in the hotel, so I called the hotel and spoke to a young man named Hector. When I told him I had left my blackberry on the bed in the hotel room, he told me he would go look for it and get back to me. Within 5 minutes, Hector called me back saying he found the phone and would put it in a taxi to deliver to me at the terminal, if I didn't mind the cost of the taxi. I told him that would be perfect and thanked him for his assistance. In my opinion, this young man is to be commended for his friendly manner and willingness to make sure I was satisfied with his assistance. Because of Hector's customer service, I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

On the basis of Trip Advisor reviews, my wife and I booked a two-night stay at the Comfort Inn in Sydney, Nova Scotia. Though there seems to be little in Sydney to attract anyone, the wonderfully historic French colonial Fortress of Louisbourg is only about 35 kilometers away; the start of beautiful Cape Breton Highlands and its Cabot Trail is about the same distance in the other direction. For us, then, the Comfort Inn seemed a good choice and in the main it was just that. No one will regret choosing to stay at this motel unless they want cutting edge modernity. If they do, one ought to look elsewhere because the CI is irretrieviably stuck in the mid-1980s.

Somewhat shockingly, the Comfort Inn International has given its Sydney motel its prestigious Gold Award, symbolic of the best of the best that the chain has to offer. It only took us about five minutes after we checked in to realize how wrong-headed such a designation is. Though the Inn has two floors, it has no elevator and anyone assigned to a second floor room as we initially were (despite that fact that we had very specifically requested one on the first floor) has to try to drag everything upstairs by hand - a major task for older travelers such as us. Once in our room, we discovered that it had no mini-refrigerator (something else we definitely wanted) nor no separate place in which to hang one's coats and other clothes (what is available is a rack attached directly next to the bed(s) in the rooms). Though the proprietors have tried to decorate with several large pictures hung on the wall, they also have prominently attached an ironing board and iron there as well -- a horribly unattractive addition to the decor.

I would hate to prove it but I think the breakfast must have been one of the sparsest, if not THE sparsest, we have ever encountered over the last twenty-five years or so at any other Comfort Inn in Canada or the United States. There is, first of all, no separate breakfast room and only two chairs in which to sit after one chooses from the excessively cold selections. The days that we were there, most lodgers seemed to come down, get a tray, fill it with cold cereal or a bagel or two, and then lug it back to their rooms. We sat in the crowded lobby. In today's market everyone seems to have a place to sit at a table or three, no matter how crowded. Not the Comfort Inn on Sydney.

Add to all this, the fact that the hall rugs badly need a good shampoo (or be replaced completely) and one has an almost perfect stereotypical picture of 3-star motel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

New comforters on the bed were fabulous and heavy; makes for a good nap. No coffee filters in room, kind of disappointing. Continental breakfast was pretty decent (they had froot loops!). Friendly staff, clean rooms, random parking. Overall, good hotel. Beware, Sydney driving can be scary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinsation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

stayed here after getting off the ferry from Newfoundland; somewhat out of the way for that, but we were travelling with a dog and looking for a pet-friendly motel. This place fit the bill perfectly. The first floor rooms have sliding glass doors, making it easy to take the dog for a walk, as well as for unloading and loading the car. Room was clean, comfortable; continental breakfast has a good selection. One complaint: the walls are thin, and had we not been dead tired, the people in the next room might have kept us awake.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBPnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We used this hotel as a base while visiting the site at Fortress Louisbourg and the surrounding area. The staff were excellent and the hotel was crisp, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast suited us well and we were to take trays up to our room and eat at our leasure. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Good value for money
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.8 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
1.0 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
2.1 mi away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sydney

Property: Comfort Inn Sydney
Address: 368 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Sydney, Nova Scotia is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking. Comfort Inn Sydney is the place to stay for your day trips to the Cabot Trail, the Cape Breton Highlands or Fortress of Louisbourg. We are centrally located minutes from historic downtown Sydney and our friendly staff is always available to provide your home away from home. Our 60 newly renovated guest rooms are fully equipped with free WiFi, 32" LCD TV's, coffee makers, irons and hair dryers. Enjoy our Complimentry hot breakfast as the perfect start to your day of touring beautiful Cape Breton Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing