We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very nice and cozy”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

a very clean hotel on the water. walking distance to just about everything you need. and about 10 minutes from tne airport. the staff was very kind and knowledgeable. i was a little disappointed that the hot tub was not working. overall this is a very nice hotel and worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you george O for taking the time to leave a review of the Cambridge Suites Hotel in Sydney.

We are pleased our guests are able to enjoy our great location along the water and understand your disappointment regarding the hot tub; as soon as the part arrives it will be installed immediately. You will have to return and try it out!

Thank you for noticing the efforts of our wonderful team!

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    343
    129
    47
    19
See reviews for
358
345
47
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
144 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed for three nights and found this to be a good choice. The suite had two flatscreen TVs along with a mini kitchen with sink, microwave and fridge. I had a good check in and found the hotel to be very quiet. The provided breakfast buffet was very good and there are lots of other eating and shopping choices nearby. The only negatives were I found the bathroom sink was slow to drain and the batteries in one of the remotes were flat. I'd also like to
comment about the seven dollar per day extra parking fee they charge. I agree with other reviewers that this is a little unusual so I asked at the front desk about it when I checked in. They have historically had a real problem with workers in nearby offices using their parking lot for their
cars. As a result hotel guests used to have a problem finding a place to park. Consequently, they've installed a barrier and provide a barcoded card to use to gain entry. I found it was not an issue or problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Kentucky Colonel for taking the time to write a review of the Cambridge Suites Hotel in Sydney.

I am glad that you spent several nights with us during your recent stay in Sydney.

Thank you for asking one of our team members about the parking and its charge. It certainly was a concern that we had to do something about for "our guests".

I do hope the next time you are in Sydney that you stay with us again.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After staying at cove motel on the other side of cape breton for a weekend, this hotel totally saved my life. I really didn't expect much since Sydney and surrounding areas are a bit sleepy and don't have updated modern amenities but this hotel honestly exceeded my expectations and more. The building itself is clean, modern and not tired, old and musty. The rooms are also updated with modern touches and flatscreen TVs. The bathrooms are clean and well sized with aveda products. What put this place to the level of excellence was the service. The hotel staff are amazing. When I checked in, they asked if i will be wanting room service for breakfast, I said no because I'll be checking out at 5am to catch a flight back home and 10 minutes later, I had a little package of muffin, butter, yogurt, apple juice and fruit to take with me in the morning! They wanted to make sure I wasn't leaving hungry. Honestly, it's little gestures like this that makes a hotel experience a truly exceptional one. Was this the nicest property I have seen? No, but it was updated, modern and (most importantly) clean with some of the warmest staff I have ever come across at a hotel property. I highly recommend this place as I am sure you won't come across anything better in terms of service, quality and style.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mardy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Margie L for taking the time to leave a review of the Cambridge Suites Hotel in Sydney.

I agree the staff are amazing and.......it is the little gestures that make a hotel experience a truly exceptional one!

Thank you again and see you next time you are in Sydney, Nova Scotia.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Cambridge Suites in Sydney is a wonderful place to stop; whether for work or on the way to or from the Newfoundland ferry. We just returned on August 15th after another comfortable stay at Cambridge. While the staff know me through work I am quite sure everyone gets the same attention. The King room separated from the living and dining area is very comfortable. There is a large tv in both the bedroom and the living room - hi-speed internet and comfy furniture. A one minute walk behind the hotel brings you to the lovely boardwalk and a very short stroll to the "Fiddle". Breakfast, which is included, includes all the things you need to start your day. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Margie L for taking the time to leave a review of the Cambridge Suites Hotel in Sydney.

One thing is for sure "we love our guest's"!

We appreciate your loyalty and......look forward in you staying with us again and again.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for one night which was pre-booked. Very friendly receptionists and helpful too. We arrived late after an extremely full day on the Cabot Trail. Huge room with lovely bathroom and very comfortable beds. Everything spotless. Breakfast area was busy but food adequate and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you dorsetgra for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with the Cambridge Suites Hotel in Sydney.

Thank you for letting us know of your positive experience with us! Our team will be thrilled to learn this.

Please come again.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glace bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful suite,this hotel has a bedroom and livingroom and a kitchen, very clean with big comfy bed,has a tv in room and a tv in bedroom,beautiful large bathroom also a free breakfast in the morning,everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you sherry m for taking the time to do a review on us!
We appreicate hearing that you enjoyed what our hotel offers, superior suites for our guests along with a great breakfast. We hope that you turn into a repeat happy guest who visits whenever in Sydney.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The reception area looks dark and dingy but service was good. The selection for the continental breakfast is not appealing at all but will do to just fill your belly up. The suite on 8th floor is nice and clean - very thoughtful to have a makeup remover wipe for the ladies ;) Note that the doors are heavy so the slamming from your neighbours may bother you especially if you are jetlagged! Overall it was all right for the town...

p.s. reception never told us we had to pay for parking, although rates were not outrageous but all the hotels we stayed in where you have to pay for parking would actually inform you of the rates! had we known we would have parked on the streets as there were lots of free parking around!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudCanadianTravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you ProudCanadian for taking the time to leave a review of the Cambridge Suites, Sydney. We appreciate your feedback in learning where you believe we may require improvement and where we got it right!
Thanks again.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
5.9 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Property: Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing