We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Yummy Maritime Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A Yummy Maritime Jewel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

As I planned my stay in the maritimes, the Cambridge Suites was just perfectly located; walking-distance to my conferences, right on the water and close to the boardwalk and just seconds from downtown. I had dinner at Trio and the experience was one of the most memorable I have had. My guest and I had the steak and fries as well as the halibut and they were absolutely delicious! We also had lunch, the chowder and the arugula salad were outstanding! The wine selection was not great but the server informed me that a new wine menu was on the way.
My room was great, clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The only suggestion I can make would be offering drinks on the rooftop (Hello, Tiki bar! We are all thinking it!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinhYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi LinhYip,
Absolutely loved your Review Title, A Yummy Maritime Jewel! Thank you for taking the time to give a review of our hotel and......look forward in your return visit with us. Our guests make the best suggestions, you never know we may meet on the rooftop in the Tiki bar. Wouldn't that be something to see.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    343
    129
    47
    19
See reviews for
358
345
47
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times and i have had a consistently excellent experience. Sites at this hotel are more like small luxurious apartments. Each with a massive king bed, two flat screen tv's, a small kitchen, sofa with armchairs, nice and spacious work desk. Food is truly excellent (although the waitresses are not as good to be honest). The two girls at reception during the morning/afternoon shifts are just amazing and they will try their hardest for you, really. The gym on the top floor is very good size and the endless pool very enjoyable, as is the sauna. If you go to Sydney, then staying at this hotel will probably be the highlight of your trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zibbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello Zibbo,
Thank you for taking the time to give a review of our hotel and for continuing to choose us to stay with while in Sydney! We are ready to welcome you back the fourth time so.......come back already. Until next time and again thanks for all your kind words.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from a conference in Sydney and stayed at the Cambridge Suites. It is situated on the Esplanade, giving some rooms wonderful harbour views. The spacious, two-room suites are well equipped with a kitchenette, sofa bed, desk, and dining room in the sitting area, and a very comfortable separate bedroom. The bathroom has good amenities, plenty of luxurious towels and a fantastic, powerful shower. A continental breakfast buffet is included in the room rate.

What made this stay special was the outstanding customer service from every single staff person I encountered! Stacey at the front desk was helpful with directions and always gave a friendly hello as guests crossed the lobby. The wait staff at breakfast and in the restaurant/lounge were super positive (even when we came in for dinner close to the closing hour), and Brenda from housekeeping kept my suite in spotless condition for my entire stay. This may be a chain hotel, but the service is more like a small, family run inn. Service, comfort, location, value--what more do you want from a hotel?

Room Tip: Premium rooms on the seventh floor include a hot, room service breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Dalry!
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Cambridge Suites in Sydney. Each and every team member want to contribute to our guests having a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for letting us know that we are doing just that!
Please visit again next time you are in Sydney.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great size room on the 8th floor which had a really comfortable bed. The roof was a treat to go and escape to with a great view. Size of room quite comfortable. Continental breakfast was ok, and I wished for more fresh fruit options and hoped it would be open longer in morning as hubby liked to sleep in, but couldn't really. Limited tourist information at front desk but made up for that using Trip Advisor app :-) Dinner at Trio was awesome and Troy was a wonderful host / bartender.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is a spectacular view of Sydney's harbour from our rooftop patio day or night. Our complimentary breakfast will be upgraded soon along with the the hours being extended. We are so proud of Trio restaurant and the awesome food served. I am delighted you were able to experience Troy in action! Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is just on the harbour, unfortunately it was raining and did not see much but I seemes very nice. The suite is large enough to have aTV paty or small meeting. The bed is very comfortable, just what I needed. The furniture is not well matched and a bit dated. I could smell an odor from the carpet but as I opened the windows, it disappearead.
Breakfast (continental) is included. The choice of cereal is only refined suggary stuff. Would have appreciated a granola. The waitress however went in the kitchen and she was able to find me a sealed bag of mixed whole cerals:very much appreciated!
Check in and out is easy

Room Tip: request a view on the water...and hope for a sunny day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mango-montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Mango-Montreal! I wish you could have experienced the full spectacular view of Sydney's harbour on a bright glorious day. It's hard to go back to a regular hotel room after staying in a spacious suite. Great news, an upgraded breakfast is on its way for our guests. Thanks for your feedback, it is appreciated. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Who builds a business class hotel without a pool? The place is very good, the rooms are excellent, the restaurant is very nice, the staff are excellent. But no pool? When a man has been in meetings all day or driving in a car or flying on a plane, one needs a pool. The gym is excellent.

Room Tip: Tell them it doesn't have a pool, and you expect a discounted price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Charles W,
Large diving pool no, alternatives yes!
We offer a spa pool that one would swim against the current for exercise, a hot tub to take your worries away along with a dry sauna to relax located in our window enclosed roof top. Spectacular view in the day or night overlooking the Sydney harbour. Our guests may also use the facilities at the YMCA(newly renovated) , a 2 minute walk from us complimentary.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here last summer. The onsite restaurant is top notch with fair prices. The staff was very friendly and chatty. On site parking is free. The rooms towards the back of the hotel offer the best views of the harbour. Exercise room and hot tub were nice. 5/5

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gino234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Front Office Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello Gino234!
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us last summer and hope that you come again this year! We are very proud of our restaurant TRIO and agree it is top notch. We have a great variety of suites with the Harbourviews Suites offering the best views. Parking is at a nominal fee however at times we offer specials that include parking. I, on behalf of the fabulous staff are ready to welcolme you back in 2013. Hope to see you soon, Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
5.9 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Property: Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing