We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We've noticed in Cape Breton specifically, that cleanliness IS a real virtue here. We were really pleasantly surprised with our suite on the 7th floor at the Cambridge Suites. There was a soccer tourney going on, and these people accommodated a quiet place for us. Our suite was perfect. Clean, comfortable bedding. Separate bedroom. Nice amenities. Something special that both Cambridge Suites had (in Halifax where we stayed as well) and here is that the shampoo/conditioner does not have harsh chemicals. I'm allergic to those things, and so it was a nice surprise seeing good quality shampoo/etc. here. It was a real treat staying here. Flatscreens in both rooms, bed/down service, breakfast delivered in room. Spotless... which is really important. I can't say enough about this place. And we almost took the bed apart to find out what kind of heavenly mattress that was. Stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you Marlap2 for your fabulous comments!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stayed during such a busy time in the hotel and city. The Premium floor is a nice upgrade for someone who wants a little extra pampering and a bit more quiet time, especially during these busy times. The Aveda products on our Premium floor are a nice added touch as well. We're happy to also let you know that that mattresses we use are Simmons Pillow Top mattresses - Hotel Excellence #010302. As you can see we have MANY requests to know what they are so they too can purchase one as most people say it's the best sleep they've had in years! We think they are like sleeping on a cloud! We hope you get the chance to visit us again in the future all the way from the west coast! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    327
    124
    47
    17
See reviews for
335
334
42
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our one night stay did not do justice to the beautiful suite we had on the top floor of the hotel. Full kitchen, living room, 2 flat screen TVs and king size bed made this a place to stay even longer. Very clean and well appointed, with a friendly, helpful staff. Free wifi, although a charge for the exterior parking lot. Adequate continental breakfast. Would have stayed a week later on our return from the Cabot Trail, but hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Value-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you Value-Traveller for your wonderful comments! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in our spacious suites and sad to hear we were not able to accommodate a stay on your travels back from the Cabot Trail. We hope to have you back with us again in the future! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love the Cambridge Suites. The rooms are large are bright. We had a street facing room but it was still nice to look out over Sydney. The bed was King and so comfortable I thought I died and went to heaven. They have wireless internet which is great if you want to stay connected while enjoying a vacation.

The food at the restaurant is good, but a little expensive. There are lots of other great places to eat in Sydney so we just did a one night Dinner as a treat.

The staff were great and very helpful/accommodating as we stayed there the week we got married.

The proximity to the boardwalk is awesome - it's literally a few steps from the back entrance. It is easily accessible for a great walk in the evening. It is also right down town, so it is easy to get to lots of shops and attractions from the Hotel.


I don't believe they have a pool or spa which is the only downside to this hotel. That said, I was there in August 2010 (not 2012 but this site only goes back to October of last year) so they may have done some updates or renovations since.

We plan to stay again at the Cambridge Suites very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor harborside room and enjoy sunrises and sunsets over Sydney Harbor. Or, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC1481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you JLC1481 for your wonderful comments and recommendations for our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and agree we have a great location right downtown on the Sydney boardwalk. As you were unaware, we do have a spa/hot tub located in our fitness center overlooking gorgeous views of the Sydney harbour on our roof top with a newly renovated roof top patio as well. We hope you have the chance to check it out the next time you're here! See you again! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed one night and it turned out to be a great hotel and room.

Room: Very spacious suite, facing water.
Bed: The soft type that retains heat. For someone who needs fairly cool temperature to sleep, this was not good.
Restaurant: We ate the hotel restaurant that had very friendly staff and good food.
Staff: Very helpful and friendly.

We will go back to the hotel when we visit Sydney again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorNezumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello TorNezumi! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Cambridge Suites Sydney and appreciate all your feedback! The suites are very spaciousand comfortable and with the great downtown location on the water, it is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We are glad that you got a chance to enjoy our own restaurant, "Trio", with the great food and friendly staff, it is very popular with guests and locals. We look forward to having you visit us again from the big city of Toronto where we also have a wonderful Cambridge Suites right in downtown! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We chose Cambridge Suites for a first time business trip to Sydney. The staff are fantastic - friendly, courteous and efficient - and the hotel is OK, but has the potential to be really great. If they choose to be.
The Pros:
- Excellent location with some lovely views of the lake.
- Great staff - everyone we encountered seemed happy to be there to help us.
- Fantastic restaurant - the seafood pie was delicious comfort food!
- The "Manager's Reception" in the lobby was a really nice touch with wine, beer and cheese.
- Room 802 - large, nice view, clean.
- Windows open for fresh air.
- Beautiful wall paper in the bathroom.
- Soft, clean carpet.
- You can choose how often to have your room serviced from daily on through to not all all.
- Nice continental breakfast included with the suite.

The Cons:
- Room 802 - top floor, a bit noisy with what I suspect is the buildings HVAC system on the roof above it? Whatever is up there, it runs all day and night and is loud (not our in-suite AC which we kept off).
- The bed is beyond soft. A bit like sleeping in a bean bag chair leaving aching neck and back in the morning.
- Absolutely hideous popcorn ceilings - stained, dirty looking.
- Wall paper in bedroom and living room poorly installed and peeling in several areas.
- Cleaning staff was loud and noisy while working on the floor in the morning - hollering down the hallways to each other, etc.
- Room (or maybe just the door) not very sound-proof. You hear everything in the hallways.
- No bath robes! For a suite, you really do expect the simple courtesy of bath robes.
- Manager's Reception should include a manager actually mingling with the guests. There was one staff person there for a few minutes who chatted with one guest before leaving a few minutes later leaving the guests to their own devices (serving themselves drinks, etc.). It's a great sales and client building opportunity for Cambridge Suites that was under-utilized.

My over-all impression is good, but they really could be great if they wanted to be - the service is there, but the finishing and courtesy items are not up to par. In room 802 in particular, they need to scrape the popcorn ceilings and replace the wallpaper in all rooms except the bathroom - use the same (or similar) wall paper that is in the bathroom through-out the whole suite and you'd have a spectacularly, rich looking suite. The furnishings themselves seem a miss-matched afterthought. They were serviceable, but not nice and not what you'd expect for the price - a worn country-style desk, with a nice modern style office chair and a worn modern style sofa with a country style plaid arm chair. Country style end tables along with a metal and glass coffee table that didn't match any of the other furnishings in the room just made it seem like this room ended up with whatever furnishings were left over when a hotel was switched from country-style to modern-style.

The restaurant - Trio - almost deserves a review of it's own - really good food, great portions and reasonable prices. Delicious desserts - highly recommend the bread pudding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AddieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello AddieMac! Thank you for your great comments and suggestions. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay; everything from our wonderfulty staff, to location, restaurant, breakfast and suites. We agree we have a great hotel here in downtown Sydney! We are working on making it better with upgrades to our suites, lobby and furniture on our already newly renovated roof top deck. Although we do not have robes in all suites, we do offer robes on our Premium floor with many other upgrades such as a hot breakfast delivered, free parking, free bottled water with turndown service and your morning paper delivered. It's another great option for someone who is looking for those little extras like yourself. Our weekly Manager's reception is a great social for our guests and Manager's to mingle and get to know each other. Your experience is not our standard and apologize for the lack of staff at that time. All your great suggestions will not go unnoticed! Thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Cambridge suites for 6 nights and found the staff friendly and helpful.
The property however appeared tired and ready for a complete refurbishment, the colour scheme and aertex ceiling is reminiscent of the early 80`s !
The rooms were not overly large and the natural light from the small window dim.
The beds however were very comfortable,
I went to the roof top for a Jacuzzi on arrival to help relax and rejuvenate from the stresses of travel and whilst this facility looks great on the hotels website , the reality is slightly different , for the Jacuzzi is stuck randomly in the gym area next to tread mills !! with music and a TV screen blasting out it was hardly conducive to relaxation !
The sound proofing of the rooms are not great as I was awoke at 12,30 by three loud women checking into their rooms ! ( no more sleep for me that night !).

The breakfast room is also on the small side and inadequate for the hotel size so there is a shortage of table and seat space when busy and battle to get a coffee.
I was recomended by the waitress to allow an additional 30 mins for breakfast to get served as the hotel was full !!

Room Tip: Front rooms may have better light than the side room that I had
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanCoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello Alancoxon! Thank you for your great feedback. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as a way to improve where we can. We are so glad to hear that during your 6 night stay that our staff were friendly and helpful thoughout which I'm sure you'll agree makes a big difference during such a lengthy stay!
We are working on updating our decor in the suites as well as some new furniture in our lobby and on our already newly renovated roof top deck. Even though our spa hot tub is located within the fitness center, the views are amazing with windows surrounding it! Thank you for all your suggestions and we hope to have you stay with us in the future! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheticamp
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

As I was checking some review of different places , I've realize that I've never made any comments of the wonderful service we've always had at The Cambridge Suites since quite a number of years !! It's our getaway our home away from home .I have family in Sydney and we visit , but we stay with you . We have met many of the staff and we can say that all of them are and were special . This spring and summer we haven't travel much , waiting for a hip replacement, but hoping to see you soon after. Lovely suites , comfy beds , lovely food , lovely people ! Saying Hi to Shannon , Doug and the front staff !!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but love the harbour rooms ! Close to shopping , Casino . Love to walk along th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdnaPoirier1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hello Edna and Jimmy!!! Thank you so much for your kind words!! It's so nice to see familiar faces walk through the door as I'm sure the same goes for you with the familiar faces at the front desk. We very much appreciate your loyalty to Cambridge Suites and love that you can call us your home away from home!! We hope all is going well and good luck with your surgery, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can relax in our comfy beds and enjoy the fabulous views along the boardwalk! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
18.5 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Property: Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing