We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice on our trip from Aylmer Ontario to St Johns Newfoundland. Excellent breakfast , king bed suite, beautiful view of the harbour. Easy to find about a half hour from the Newfoundland Ferry. Very friendly staff, controlled parking, board walk along the harbour well lit at night.Nice restaurant onsite across from the reception desk . Other places to eat close by, over all an excellent hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a harbour view when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brm1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you brm1545 for your wonderful comments! We are so glad you enjoyed our large spacious Harbourview Suite. They certainly are the best suites in the hotel with a wonderful view of the Sydney Harbour and with our easy to find, convenient downtown location, you are within walking distance to attractions, shops or just a stroll on the boardwalk. Hope to see you again! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    335
    126
    47
    18
See reviews for
345
340
45
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
602 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Large suites with sitting room and bedroom which were very spacious and well laid out.
Good bathroom and very efficient aircon, which was needed given the heat outside. Laundry facilities in the basement were useful and there was more than adequate parking spaces for cars
There was a complementary breakfast which had great coffee and lovely toast.

There was a nice boardwalk outside which was very convenient.

Would recommend this place apart from the dining restaurant Trio, which I reviewed separately.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you HabLeaf for your wonderful comments! As being the only suite hotel in the city, they are great for everyone whether it is a family or a couple on a getaway! With all the amenities as well, it's like your home away from home! Also conveniently located downtown on the Sydney waterfront, you can park your car and walk to local shops and tourist attractions in the city! We hope you get a chance to experience Cambridge Suites again in the future! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Friendly, experienced, engaging, welcoming personne. Dining experience is excellent, and hotel is well run, and well groomed. Will make a point of visiting again in the near future.

Room Tip: Upper floors are bettere for sound and views especially those with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertM936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you Robert M for your wonderful comments! We agree that our staff are all very friendly, experienced, engaging and personable! You would be happy to learn that some of our staff have been here for 20+ years! We take pride in our employees and continuosly train to ensure that our guests are experiencing the best in customer service which keeps everyone coming back! We hope to have the opportunity to experience this again in the near future! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We arrived tired and hot to be met by the most friendly staff offering us a complimentary beer or glass of wine while we checked in. They also encouraged us to have a local seafood appetizer of scallops

I spend over 100 nights per year in hotels (mostly business) and this has benn the nicest and mist hospitable check in the I have ever had.

Can hardly wait to see the room and to have dinner at Theo

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you Cheryl P for your comments! We agree there is nothing better than being welcomed with a friendly smile from our Front Desk staff and a beverage after a long day of travelling! Our lobby mixers on Wednesday evenings are a great place to relax and chat with some of our Management staff while enjoying a beverage and munchies. After some socializing, Trio restaurant is a great way to end your day with a mouth watering dinner served by our friendly Trio staff! We hope to see you again! - Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

3 nights with Family in July 2012. We ended up on the Gold Floor which has free juice. The room we had was huge (2 double beds + Living room + kitchenette + Table + Bath room) - Breakfast is included and we had it delivered for the same price. Staff was extremely friendly. The beds were awesome (or I was extremely tired) - If I go back to Sydney, I will stay there.

Room Tip: WIFI does not work very well :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtof44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you etof44! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful restfull sleep in our suite! We constantly receive wonderful comments about our fabulous beds and how people have had the best sleep ever in them! The Simmons pillowtop mattresses are so comfy people do not want to get out of bed, especially in our "Gold Floor" (Premuim Floor) where you can enjoy a little extra pampering! We hope to have you stay again! Sweet dreams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is easy to drive to, located on a main (yet quiet) road running alongside Sydney's waterfront, in one of the nicer areas of town. Parking is in a pay car park but we were given a complimentary parking pass making it free.

The hotel is nicely presented both inside and out and is pretty well equipped; it boasts a bar, restaurant, laundry room, free internet PCs, free wifi, gym and hot tub as well as a roof top patio & Sauna. We stayed in a suite which was plain in decor but clean and again, very well equipped - safe, fridge, microwave, large screen TV, bedroom TV etc. Breakfast was a bit average but the evening meal in the hotel restaurant (Trio) were very good.

What really made this hotel though, was the staff. Again, I find myself bowled over by the helpfulness and friendliness of ALL the staff in a Canadian hotel. Special mention to Amanda and Heather on reception who were truly excellent and helped us beyond what we could have reasonably asked for.

Not a hotel that will totally bowl you over decor wise but given it was so well equipped, nicely located, very clean and service was superb, I'd really recommend this one.

Room Tip: Some rooms have good views across the waterfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you UK49er for your comments! We are so glad you enjoyed the convenient downtown location as well as the hotel itself with all the amenities. We are so proud of our staff here at Cambridge Suites and it certainly radiates to our guests! Our guests are our top priority and our friendly staff are here to attend to your every need. We hope to see you again! Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked a hotel at Cambridge Suites at the recommendation of a friend who lives in the Cape Breton Island area. I will buy him a drink as we are pretty happy with the accommodations. The property is clean and inviting and in what appears to be a good area of town.

The front desk employee was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Our room faced the Harbour and was very spacious compared to the other hotels we have stayed in on our vacation. The renovations were tastefully done and our king size bed very comfortable.

We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLMK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Reservations Manager at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you SimonL54 for your wonderful comments!! We're happy to hear that our local community is recommening Cambridge Suites Hotel as community is very important to us! We are located in a prime downtown area that is very safe and walking distance to shops, restaurants and local history. All of our staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way we can to make your stay most enjoyable and stress free! We hope to have you and your family stay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
18.5 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Property: Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing