We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for eastern Cape Breton, pleasure or business.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great base for eastern Cape Breton, pleasure or business.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

In my view, the best hotel in Sydney, right on the harbor with views, excellent restaurant, nice free cont'l bkfst., parking, central location. But the front desk and management are truly responsive to customer needs, standouts! I have stayed here often for weeks at a time and have never been disappointed. The rooms are very comfortable, like an apt., and some have kitchenettes, so important if you're there for awhile. Complimentary Y-fitness around the corner and rooftop fitness in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strider462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Sales at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Strider462,

Thank you so much for your very kind words, it never gets tired hearing guests say how much they enjoy it here.

We feel the same way about our guests it is great to be able to get to know some of you personally and make you a part of our extended Cambridge Family.

The YMCA is a wonderful new facility and a lot of us use it ourselves so if you ever need a class partner give us a shout!

We should be having a managers reception on the rooftop soon!

Cheers
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    343
    129
    47
    19
See reviews for
358
345
47
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

There was nothjing really wrong with our experience, and I would stay here again. Our suite was a little different compared to a Marriott Residence Inn, in that it is more like a hotel room than an apartment. The kitchenette is quite spare, and there is no soap for doing dishes which are provided.

The suite we had was more suited to a large group than a couple as it had two double beds, and a folding couch. 1 king size bed would have been more to our liking, but still a nice room. Great view of the harbour, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arewetherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Director of Sales at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments we appreciate the feedback as it is how we continue to strive to get better.

I was curious when I read your review as to how you heard about our property as it sounds like you might have been expecting an apartment type/residence experience. It would never be our intention to present our property in that way.

We are a "Suite" concept meaning that most of our suites have a separate living/bedroom areas that close off from each other with a small Kitchenette area. We do not have apartments.

I apologize for the dish soap not being there it has a standard spot under the sink so it is out of the way but next time please if you are missing anything simply call the front desk as the staff are very accommodating and would have it to your quickly.

We do have suites with one king size bed but I am unsure what room type you booked on reservation, the larger two double beds might have been all that was available if we were sold out of the king size. Again the desk staff are wonderful and would have happily moved you to another room type if it was available - next time I would suggest inquiring at the desk.


Glad that your stay was enjoyable and we hope that you will come back and stay again soon.

Sincerely,

Ross Hunter
Sales and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

A great hotel in a nice locaion, it has a very good restaurant and fitness centre.
The suites are large, clean and have great views of the harbour. It is within walking distance to bars, casino, cruise ship terminal and nice restaurants. The staff is beyond helpful and friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan-Hfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Director of Sales at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you for your very kind words and for choosing Cambridge Suites while you were in Sydney.

We are so lucky to have all of the location and amenities you mention but thank you for pointing out our staff as they play such a huge roll in what we do. The staff at the hotel are very dedicated and hardworking so we love it when people notice it. I will pass on your comments to them.

Sincerely,

Ross Hunter
Sales and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at the Cambridge Suites for my 30th birthday. The suite was a great size, with 2 flat screen tv's, the bed was very comfortable. They even left a local fudge treat and card in our room to wish me a happy birthday. At one point we called down to front desk as I had forgotten to pack a corkscrew for my wine bottle....there was one delivered to our room within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mypawco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Director of Sales at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Happy very Belated birthday, thank you for your comments we are so glad you had a great visit.

We started using the Cape Breton Fudge Company for our treats about a year ago and they are very popular. The fudge is amazingly creamy I am so glad to hear we sent you some for your special day.

We hope to see you for many special occasions to come!

Sincerely,

Ross Hunter
Sales and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

A very nice hotel in downtown Sydney. The room was well outfitted & spacious, with a kitchenette, living room & separate bedroom. The were flat screen TVs in both the living room & bedroom. Whether for a short or extended stay, I would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Director of Sales at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you so much for visiting us at the Cambridge Suites Sydney, we were thrilled to see your review and that you enjoyed your stay.

We have quite a few extended stay guests and they certainly appreciate the kitchenette and the flat screens are always popular. Guests who travel with family and even business people love that they can close off the bedroom completely from the living room for privacy, feels more like home.

Thank you for the wonderful commnts and come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,

Ross Hunter
Sales and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This is the second time that I've stayed at this property. I love the fact that it's basically a one bedroom apartment. Nice livingroom, diningroom, kitchen, huge and spotlessly clean bathroom and a separate bedroom. A nice sized TV in both the livingroom and the bedroom. Lovely bedding and wonderful mattress.
The staff at this hotel are wonderfully friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sackster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Director of Sales at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you so much for your review, we love hearing feedback from our guests.

So glad you hear you like the spaciousness of our suites, it is always nice to have a little extra living space when travelling.

The hotel culture that we strive for everyday it to make our guests feel less like guests and more like they are at home - we are very pleased to hear that you felt it.

Sincerely,

Ross Hunter
Sales and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I can say this... I was overall impressed with everything in this hotel. However there are a few things I loved in particular.

1. The front desk staff informed me that Jennifer( with whom I had made the reservation with ) had decided to upgrade our room to the purple room. Which turns out is a room that some of the proceeds go to the paliative care unit in the local hospital. Having been in paliative unit down home with my own father few months before I was deeply touched.

2. Our room included breakfast delivered to our room every morning. it was good, hot , and very filling.

3.The bed was the best I have ever slept in. It was so comfy, pillows were just perfect.

I think if you are looking for a nice hotel in Sydney , it's worth every penney.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbjuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSSydney, Director of Sales at Cambridge Suites - Sydney, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Thank you so much for you review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are so proud of the "Purple Room", in two years we have raised over $10,000 for The Cape Breton regional Hospital Foundation and Palliative care largely because of the revenue from this room. We do not charge the guests extra for this room it is the same price as the other suites - it is the commitment of the hotel to 10% from that room revenue.

We hope that next time you come to Sydney you will come and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Ross Hunter
Sales and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.2 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
5.9 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Suites - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites - Sydney

Property: Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Address: 380 Esplanade St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambridge Suites - Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with the freedom of more space, in the heart of downtown Sydney. Welcome to the unique experience of Cambridge Suites Hotel, where you enjoy the special added comfort and spaciousness of a suite without spending more than the price of a hotel room. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Sydney, Nova Scotia, our suites provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Check into something more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Suites - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Suites - Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing