We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
111
107
88
60
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
111
107
88
60
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean alexander graham bell cape breton free hot breakfast cabot trail definitely stay here again desk staff coffee maker close to downtown staying at this hotel mini fridge teresa upgrades ferry waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 406 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Arrive via Air Canada and quick drive from the airport to the hotel. What a pretty entrance and a very pleasant and professional front desk clerk Robin Isherwood greeted us upon arrival. The rooms and nice and clean the bathroom roomy. Well looking forward to a good nights sleep

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank beneion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Thank you for the 5 Star review, we appreciate your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

We checked in Sunday March 31st, the room was spotless. The floors are laminate and very clean. There was a nice electric fireplace in the room too. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again for sure.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wander51822934308, Director of Sales at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and recognizing the wonderful changes to the hotel and how hard the team works to create an awesome experience for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Hearthstone Inn were we offer free breakfast, a great location and awesome rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

What I like best is that it’s quiet ! We have asked for a room close to the entrance and we got what we wanted. I find all the people we’ve dealt with to be very friendly. The location is also good. Thank you!

Room tip: Make sure you ask for a room on main level if you can’t climb stairs
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay, we appreciate the feedback!
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

Very basic room with standard amenities. Here for final weekend of the Scotties so didn't need anything fancy. Bed was great. Would have liked a table that we could have played crib with a little more convenience. Room was clean and biggest complaint was the light over the bathroom sink...either at a poor angle or just not strong enough.

Room tip: Explore rate options since we paid quite a bit more than the friends we were travelling with...government rates for them.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhD7769OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay - I'll pass along your comment about the bathroom light to or maintenance team.

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

When I first came in the motel their was a musty smell but not in the motel room. The musty smell was probably due to the carpet in the hallways. I guess it has seen better days. Being there 10 days I observed that the property is beginning to renovate room by room. There was a problem with the toilet and a light burnt out in the bathroom. It was repaired promptly repaired. Parking is tight but there is a gravel lot in the back with easy access to the motel by card. All in all I would give it a 9.5 out 10.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank alh960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry S, General Manager at Hearthstone Inn Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Thank you for rating us 9.5 out of 10. I'm sure your next visit will be a perfect 10.
Kind regards,
Thierry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews