We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel - dirty and old, staff - crusty and lazy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel - dirty and old, staff - crusty and lazy.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

We knew it was going to be a bad night just from pulling into the parking lot. The building is quite run down but we were hoping to be surprised. Well, we were surprised by the lazy staff who didn't care about our request for a crib. We asked 3-4 times for them to get us a crib. They continued to say they've never seen one in the hotel. The 4th time we had it and asked them to call their manager at home. they did and of course they did have one. It was dropped off in our room and then we realized why they'd never seen one. This thing they called a crib was purchased 80 years ago and has sat dormant in some utility closet for 79 of its 80 years at the hotel. We were afraid to touch it ourselves let alone put our baby in it.

The drapes had cigarette holes, the beds were soft 80 years ago today they are broken. The carpets were stained from years of neglect. We never took our shoes off. The continental breakfast consisted of bread. It was a convenient location for us to stay but a total dissapointment.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spid_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    60
    41
    24
See reviews for
79
63
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed one night, mid-week August 2009. It was late evening when we checked in. The room assigned was quiet, had two comfortable queen beds (on the soft side for those who prefer firm) and a functioning colour TV with a larger than usual selection of channels. The in room air conditioning unit had dripped/leaked onto the floor and seemingly also done some damage along the sealed window over time. For health reasons, we were concerned. At check out, we recommended a dehumidifier be placed in the room before it was re-assigned. A staff member investigated while we were still loading our luggage, suggesting immediate responsiveness. The front desk staff, consistent with previous stays, were friendly and helpful. The dining area is still enjoyed by locals and travellers alike. The continental breakfast was a welcome value added feature. The room, doors, ceilings are in need of some repainting and the hallways could obviously use some updated carpeting/tiling. In morning light, it was evident the building front could also benefit from fresh paint. Sad to see the decline.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinwithFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night arriving back from Newfoundland. We arrived after 9pm and the hotel was full. The front parking lot was full and we were forced to park in the back lot that was dark and unpaved. The hotel allowed the guests with commerical vehicles to park in the front even though they took up two spaces and forced the rest of us to hike in to the hotel. The room was okay but out dated. The bathroom tiles had mold on the grout and tiles that were poorly fixed. For the $100 a night they were charging you would expect a little more. Breakfast was included and is oftered from 7 to 10 am, which consisted of toast, juice and cereal. If you don't want to stand in a line go before 8am.
Over all for the price of this hotel we were disappointed. There are others in the area and unless there is nothing else available this place is a good last choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnmo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon BC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

We drove in off the road tired and this was the first place I saw, so we pulled in at 10pm at night. I asked for a good rate and was told $101.00 was the best they could offer us. Low and behold if i had a booked ahead I could saved some $$$. The room was nice but we could not get the heat to work at all. We tried everything everything and finally gave up and decided to just hide under the covers for the night as we were both too tired to go elsewhere. The desk clserk was some what helpful and we did some laundry and they were out of fabric softener. Not much in the way of the service. The breakfast was nice and the waitress was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickster0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

They allow pets. This was not obvious from their website. There was a dog show in town, and the hotel was overrun with dogs. There was barking all night. When I complained to the desk, they were indifferent.

There were also teams of teen-agers for ball tournaments. Groups would run through the halls.

The breakfast was a joke. It was located in a hard to access corner and there were no tables.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
430 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

My room was great. Clean, quiet, a vew of a lake and the ruins of a neighboring hotel. Stay on top floor ONLY. The middle floor had a lot of hallway traffic and the lower floor was a dump. The pool area was ugly, and the restaurant reminded me of Jimmy Buffet singing about the menu at a Holiday Inn. Parking far from room.

Now to be fair, my last stay at a Quality Inn was when they were called Quality Courts so it has been awhile, and it will probably be another 30 years or so until I stay in one again. The feeling of staying there was like returning to the early 1970's style Quality's, Ramada's, and Holiday Inns. The only thing missing was Black Medittereanean furniture and red carpeting.

I'd stay at the Delta. It is closer to the downtown area.

  • Liked — Nice room
  • Disliked — Felt like I was back in the 70's
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed in this Quality Inn while heading to Newfoundland. The hotel is clean with the amenities you'd expect of a hotel in this price range (roughly CDN$150 / night). Service was courteous and efficient. However, we didn't get room service or request anything out of the ordinary, so we were pretty low-maintenance guests. We didn't try the restaurant or bar, although the restaurant was pretty busy in the evening, so it can't be too bad.

Our room had relatively new furniture and appliances. The bed was firm and comfortable. The room was non-smoking and had no discernable odor or signs of having been smoked in. TV had the normal cable channels. There was also a pay for movie service. Free Internet access was included. The indoor pool was in good condition and well maintained.

The location is convenient to downtown Sydney (not that there's much there, but still). We stayed here because we needed to catch the ferry to Newfoundland the next day. The ferry is about 7-10 miles from the hotel.

On the negative side, if you're on the side close to the road, you will get some road noise at night. It didn't bother me, but I can imagine it might bother some. Also, the front parking lot is in decent condition, but the rear parking lot is gravel. I've found a lot of gravel roads and gravel parking lots in Nova Scotia, so not unusual, I suppose. Lastly, while our room had new furniture and was quite clean, there were plenty of wear signs, including spots on the rug, scratches and marks on the walls, and chips in the sink. This is not a big deal, but kept me from rating the experience "Above Average".

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Gravel parking lot
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Two-Wheel_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
1.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
6.6 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Property: Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Address: 560 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing