We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel Choice”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is not a deluxe hotel, and doesn't pretend to be, but it's very good all the same. Room is a decent size and furniture is comfortable. The linens are clean, and good quality. The bed is very soft, which suits me, but might not be for everyone. Heating and air conditioning worked efficiently. We were checked in quickly on arrival, and found the room nice and quiet. We had a fridge and microwave, and the in-room coffee was better-than-average quality. The onsite restaurant serves up huge breakfasts at a reasonable price. It's not the Ritz, but it's a good lodging choice in a convenient location, halfway between the freeway and downtown Sydney. We didn't use the indoor pool, but could see it from our room and it seemed busy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    57
    64
    48
    27
See reviews for
91
67
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My family had booked 3 hotel rooms due to a funeral. It was an outdated room but pretty clean for one night. After returning home I realized I left my pants there. Called the hotel numerous times as well as emailed the manager and never received a call back.Obviously if you leave items in this hotel they are never returned and management overlooks this..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Middleton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

i just returned from a three night stay at this Inn as part of a 16 member group ( a 10 man boys basketball team, three coaches and three parents. i was very impressed with our room ( 2 queen beds. microwave, fridge); temperature was easy to regulate and room was very clean on our arrival. Pool was large for a hotel and there was plenty of space around for lounging as well as good variety of chairs/ loungers. Note to future visitors they are soon replacing the pool liner and furniture so your experience should be even better. Fitness room was well equipped. Continental breakfast was not very impressive but the buffet lunch ($9.95) received great marks for quality, variety and quantity. Complimentary Tea, coffee , newspapers and apples were always available in the lobby. Very friendly staff and lots of free parking

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank 1976pacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Room was clean, internet worked great. Bed was very comfortable stayed on the third floor. The bathroom could use a few upgrades but had lots of towels and was clean. The pool was clean and water clear. We ate breakfast at the restaurant it was great service was a little slow so allow an extra few minutes. The free breakfast isn't much just tea/coffee/juice packs, breakfast bars and some fruit.
We would stay there again but only on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank regaless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

After reading some of the scathing reviews of this hotel, it was with trepidation that I booked three nights here during our driving tour of the Maritimes in August 2010. However, I am pleased to report that we were pleasantly surprised at how well our stay turned out.

Our room was clean and well appointed with a king-sized bed and 42-inch flat screen TV. The bathroom seemed to have new fixtures. While we did not used the indoor pool, we could see it from our room and it looked fine. Unlike most free continental breakfasts, this one is held in the hotel restaurant, so it was not difficult to find a convenient place to sit and eat comfortably. The breakfast itself is nothing special - cereal, bagels, toast, etc. - but, compared to some bad free breakfasts that I have had elsewhere, it was quite adequate. Also, it was a nice convenience to have a bar right in the lobby of this small hotel as a quiet and pleasant place to wind up the day.

We found the location of this hotel to be quite handy. It is about halfway from the closest major highway (125) and downtown Sydney, so it was easy to get out of town (for trips to Louisbourg and the Cabot Trail), while being close enough to the city to try local restaurants. (We did not try the hotel restaurant for lunch or dinner.)

Our only complaints in staying here were: The public computer in the lobby did not work on one of the days that we were there. Also, one of our nights at the Quality Inn was during a weekend when a teenage baseball team was staying as well. Ironically, while the kids were well-behaved, some of the parents were very loud, making it difficult to sleep. A call to the front desk, however, soon solved the problem.

Overall, I was pleased with our stay here and wonder if some previous reveiwers were overly sensitive to petty matters. I stay in hotels frequently and I would have no hesitation in staying at the Quality Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbakerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We booked this hotel because we wanted high speed internet! The High speed internet was the only Good thing about this hotel, when we pulled in, I wanted to cancel and go elsewhere, and that was even before we saw the room, but we were tired from a long day of traveling so we decided to wing it, the room was very dingy! The beds had a slope in the middle and were not comfortable. We did not dine there, and they were doing a lot of painting, so hopefully they are going to make it look nicer. The room was fairly clean, but the bathroom disgusting, just old and needs work! Bottom line Sydney needs some nicer Hotels!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twocomplicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, FL
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed one night before taking the ferry to Newfoundland. It was about 13 miles from the ferry landing, but was easy and fast to get to. The check in was quick, although when we asked the clerk how get to the ferry she didn't know, but our GPS got us there. The room was very large with 2 double beds, refrigerator, microwave so were able to have dinner in. The room was clean and beds very comfortable. They could use a new shower head as it sprayed all over the place. It was also quiet. If were to come through here again we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sljvlj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
1.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
6.6 mi away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Inn Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Inn Sydney

Property: Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Address: 560 Kings Rd, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1S 1B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hearthstone Inn Sydney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to Sydney Harbour on Kings Road in Sydney Nova Scotia, the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is ideally located only minutes from the shopping and dining of Downtown, Sydney's Centre 200 Sports and Entertainment Complex, Casino Nova Scotia, the Membertu Trade and Convention Centre, and ten minutes of four Golf courses, and a knowledgeable staff to assist our guests in planning day-trips to Cape Breton Island's key tourism destinations, including The Cabot Trail, Fortress Louisburg, Baddeck; and summertime activities/adventures including Two Rivers Wildlife Park, Whale Watching, Kayaking, and renown golfing experiences at the Highland Links and Dundee Resorts; the Hearthstone Inn Sydney is not only what our corporate and leisure guests need us to be, but we are where they need us to be as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hearthstone Inn Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Quality Inn
Hearthstone Inn Sydney Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing