We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great recommendation from the Holiday Inn receptionist !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governors Pub & Eatery

Governors Pub & Eatery
Ranked #2 of 143 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great recommendation from the Holiday Inn receptionist !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Arriving after a long wet drive from Halifax the Governors was recommended to us by the hotel receptionist. Doesn't look much from the outside but the food in the restaurant was great and the fiddle music & organic Cape Breton real ale in the bar upstairs was fantastic ! A great end to a dreary wet day !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dupiaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    275
    114
    47
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, horrible Service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I Always go here to eat when we are in town. Its Defiantly our favourite place! After checking into our hotel around 7 on a Monday we decided to make our way over to Governors. We Tried getting on the deck upstairs but it was full, no big deal lots of room inside. We sat our selves at a dirty table since we really had no other choice. Waited about 15 mins for a menu in which I went to get myself, and mentioned to another waitress I was waiting. She finally came to take our order in which she did apologize for the wait. We ordered wings to start as usual, and I ordered a steak and my boyfriend orders a burger. Another wait on the wings about 20 mins. It was nice and hot, I asked for ranch that didn't not ever come. Our food didn't arrive after the app. it was another 15 mins after we finished our wings that our food came! And our waitress didn't even bring us the food someone else did. I had to get a glass of water myself at the bar. and after we were finished everything the wait on our cheque was another 15 20 mins, and the bartender gave it to us and apologized for the waitress. Like I said The food was GREAT!, Service sucked :(. I will be coming back, just maybe when ive forgotten about the long wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McfOkf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful food with a great patio and waterfront view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a great dinner here on the waterfront after a long days drive. Our waitress and the hosting staff were very friendly and fun and the restaurant was nicely put together with some great extra touches like the gas fireplaces on the patio. The food was prepared well and tasted great...it was a great way to end the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markus_JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, big crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I arrived at around 6 p.m. and were lucky to get a seat on the downstairs outdoor patio (which offers a great view of Sydney Harbour). We tried the upstairs patio first, but found it too loud and crowded, so we went back downstairs. Shortly after we were seated, the patio was filled, so we were glad to be able to enjoy the lovely evening outside.

Service was not quick, but we understood that because of the big crowd, and our server was friendly, efficient and attentive. We enjoyed our excellent local Garrison beers while we waited. Our food (spinach salad, Cape Breton maple salad with seared scallops added, Cape Breton crab cakes and seared haddock) was well worth the wait. Delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best seafood chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

On a rainy evening, we were looking for a warm friendly place to dine and discovered Governors. Ambiance was perfect, wait staff knowledgeable, and the seafood chowder was the best I have ever had--chunks of halibut, shrimp, and haddock! Almost a stew! Fresh and full of flavor. Dinner was so good we repeated the experience the next night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governors Pub & Eatery also viewed

Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Governors Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing