We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colby House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We were extremely impressed with this B&B on our recent holiday. Bev and Gordon, the owners, went out of their way to assist us in any way they could. The rooms are elegant, beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning is truly a gourmet feast. All four mornings we were served assorted fresh fruit and berries, yogurt, muffins/scones and a different main course (eggs florentine, blueberry french toast etc.) along with our choice of beverage. We would definitely return and plan to do just that as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exumalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Colby House is just incredible. Gordon and Bev just make you feel at home from the very first minute. Bev is also amazing at breakfast while Gordon mans the "Colby Deck". If you're planning on the a visit to Cape Breton (follow the Cabot trail and go whale watching in Pleasant Bay!), Sydney may look a bit out of the way bt the small detour is well worth it. Definitely the best B&B in Canada we came across.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rikf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

These people are very friendly and have a beautiful house. This place is awesome to stay at and the food is marvelous

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimchick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Bev and Gordan were great hosts. My husband needed a dentist for an emergency and Bev took care of everything. The Colby House is meticulously decorated and provides for every need. I liked having a computer available to check email and make reservations for our continuing itinerary. It is a safe neighborhood and great for walking, and you don't have to park on the street.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy0453074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Bev, Gord and Missy were lovely! We stayed in their Gabriel room and it was gorgeous! Room was very clean and updated. Breakfast was all homemade. Scones were excellent, and the homemade jam was to die for!!! Would come back just to stay there. Thanks Bev and Gord!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inqblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Liz and myself stayed at colby house on the first and last days of our holiday in Nova Scotia. I would have been happy to spend the two weeks in between in colby house as well. Bev and Gordon make you feel like your visiting with lifelong freinds in a very short time. the rooms were the nicest and cleanest i have ever had the pleasure of staying in, and breakfast is so good you will think your still dreaming.Absolutely nothing is missed here and little extra abound.Mybiggest problem was leaving.The big hotel chains in Canada should send their ceo,s to this B&B, they would quickly see what they have long since forgotten in the hospitality field

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Looking for a very clean, comfortable, and charming B&B in Sydney?
Colby House has it all.
From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, your hosts, Beverly and Gordon make you feel at home.
This century house is very tastefully decorated and has of all the up to date amenities.
Super comfortable beds, sumptuous breakfasts, and a nice cup of tea on the spacious veranda all contribute to a most pleasant stay.
We stayed there for four relaxing nights, while visiting with relatives and attending a wedding. My wife was unable to get an appointment to get her hair done, until Beverly called on her behalf and a convenient appointment was arranged.
Your hosts go above and beyond normal expectations to ensure that, not only your stay at Colby House, but that your whole visit to Sydney will be truly memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredVetzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
1.2 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colby House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Park St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 4W4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $78 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Colby House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colby House Bed & Breakfast Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing