We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colby House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$101
Cambridge Suites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North(North Sydney)
$126
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clansman Motel(North Sydney)
$99
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
303
11
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
11
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bmacdonald roommaclellan roomwrap around porchbeautiful housenova scotiafrench toastone bedroom apartmentpark suitewasher and dryerfull kitchenwould return in a heartbeatliving roomcape bretonfriendly hostseach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 317 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This was our first experience with a B&B. Based on the service we received from Bev and Gordon, we certainly would go this route again. We were impressed by the attention to detail, the homey feel and the comfortable bed. They certainly make you feel welcome and even catered to a special diet for breakfast, which by the way was delicious. We highly recommend this as an alternative to hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateantigonish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I stayed here for only one night on business and am already planning my next trip back!

My whole experience was excellent.

The owners were welcoming and kind. The room was spotless and beautiful. They have mastered the extra touches - heated towel racks, soft fleece sheets (March), cozy quilts. Breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurt and blueberry pancakes!!

5 stars plus

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperCanada_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

a lovely and comfortable home, so clean and well organized. Lots of privacy and just the right amount of company. Filling breakfasts, elegant and healthy. Totally comfortable bed, wonderful shower. This B&B is lacking nothing execpt a longer stay! Lots of little touches and friendly, helpful hosts. We even had our own Christmas tree in our bedroom.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micheldebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Colby House was an absolutely perfect venue for our daughter and son in law's Christmas wedding reception. Bev and Gordon provided exceptional service which went above and beyond our expectations.They ensured the reception was a flawless event, giving their kitchen over to caterers and bar, but were quietly present whenever needed.
Their attention to detail-from greeting our guests to the turn down service(we stayed in their beautiful rooms as well-- exquisite decor, linens etc) to the fabulous breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh from oven muffins, Eggs Florentine ,served with beautiful china and linens.
We have travelled through Europe and Asia and have sampled many different levels of service-but this truly was an all-round exceptional experience-we were treated like royalty.Many thanks-words cannot express the upscale hospitality and care provided

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fenwick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed at half a dozen B & B's during our visit to Cape Breton and this is the only one that surpassed our expectations. The attention to detail, friendliness, helpfulness, cleanliness, and warmth were unmatched in our travels. The full breakfast was fabulous. Next time we're in Sydney, we know who to call.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebronzebranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews