We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colby House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Every aspect of this B & B is wonderful. The breakfasts were extraordinary, the decor of this century home exquisite, the friendliness and helpfulness of Bev and Gordon were outstanding. We had planned a number of excursions during our three day stay, but took one day to just sit on the large wrap-around porch and relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
193
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bev and Gordon couldn't have been more gracious, attentive hosts. They made every effort to ensure that our stay at Colby House was memorable and that we felt welcome and at home. Bev and Gordon were extremely friendly, accommodating, kind and helpful, and left no detail to chance.

Colby House is a large, gorgeous home with beautiful bedrooms for their guests. The decor is elegant and striking with fine furniture and linens along with many lovely touches to make one feel truly welcome. A lovely, large living room is available for guests to rest or chat or just sit and enjoy the charming surroundings. A huge wrap-around veranda with comfy chairs added to the ambiance as did the gorgeous, spacious yard that was a treat to behold.

During our five night stay, a healthy, generous, delicious variety of breakfasts was served. The table settings were beautiful and different each morning, and the company of other guests just added to the enjoyment. A wonderful way to start the day!

We can't say enough great things about Colby House. It was the finest bed and breakfast accommodation we have ever had, and one would be hard pressed to find such awesome, caring hosts as Bev and Gordon. We give Colby House the highest recommendations possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaMama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeview, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband & I just stayed one night in the MacDonald Room. Our stay was fantastic!! Don't know where to begin. First impression is as you pull up to the curb we noticed the superb outside of the building. Well maintained, expansive wrap around deck & well landscaped property. Inside the hardwood floors shined. Everything was sooooo.... clean. Bev & Gordon were very friendly. Our room was on the second floor. It was immaculate. The bathroom had a huge shower. Everything in the bathroom glistened. There were nice touches everywhere. In the shower was a unit on the stall wall that held the shampoo, conditioner, & soap. This made things very neat. There were also Q-tips & disposable razors. The bed was very comfortable. There were even small pieces of chocolate on the mantel. The room was very quiet & we had a wonderful nights rest after a long day of sightseeing. Bev recommended some restaurants we could walk to for dinner. We ended up at Flavor that was very good. then we took a stroll on the boardwalk before going back our room. Unfortunately it was 90 degrees the day we arrived, too warm to sit out on the porch. There was a Keurig coffee maker available for coffee or hot chocolate. Even some biscuits. The morning breakfast was fantastic. The table was set like for a state dinner, very fancy. Fresh orange juice, coffee, warm berry tart w/yogurt, ginger bread, homemade scones w/preserves. The main course was French toast topped with fresh fruit, strawberries, blueberries, & kiwi. Can't say enough good things about the place & the owners. After reading some of the other reviews we can see that we are not alone in our praise. If we ever go back to this area we would stay here again. Sorry that we only had one night. Hard to believe that the price was so affordable.

Room Tip: MacDonald room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We absolutely adored this B&B and I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Sydney. The room, house and grounds were beautiful. All I kept thinking was how it would be the perfect romantic B&B for a couple for a special night. Unfortunately, we only had one night in Sydney but we are very happy we spent it at Colby House. Breakfast was also wonderful and we enjoyed meeting the other guests. Here are some details:

Location: Located in central Sydney in a gorgeous older neighbourhood. There was a nice park nearby where we had a relaxing walk. Restaurants, shops, etc. are a 5-10 min drive. Street parking (free) in front of the house.

Room: We stayed in the Gabriel Room and it was wonderful. It was exactly as pictured here on TA and very clean. Free WiFi. All the little touches made it even more special - the robe provided was much appreciated. Nice toiletries. Chocolates on the dresser. All the pillows on the bed made me happy. What can I say? I love pillows.

Breakfast: French Toast with fresh berries and a yogurt parfait. Very tasty and fresh. Fresh baked muffins and biscuits as well. Great coffee :)

Overall: We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

After a hectic day touring Cape Breton Island, it was nice to stay in a nice B&B within walking distance of the downtown and waterfront. Our room was a good size, with beautiful antiques and AC. The bed was a 4-poster, and the bathroom had grantie counter with undermount sink. The main floor has a hundred foot verandah, and the living room is sumptously decorated with antiques. There is even a computer station on a beautiful landing with fabulous woodwork. There are many beautiful Victorian houses in this part of Sydney, built by coal mine owners at the turn of the Century. It was, however, a rather jarring experience to tour the coal mine and learn of the apalling conditions suffered by those on whose backs the owners built their mansions. Luckily there are better work opportunities for the citizens of Sydney in modern times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay with Bev and Gord for almost a week. What a delightful treat! The rooms were very comfortable, the breakfasts were amazing and the travel advice made our time in Nova Scotia exceptional...and the late night porch conversations were lovely. Although I have had many very positive B and B experiences...this is the first time I have felt compelled to advise others to access this Nova Scotia Gem. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug and Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is the best B&B we've stayed at in quite a while. While the rooms are on the smallish side, everything else is excellent, spotless, nice and cared to the very minute details, from small chocolates available in the room and at the common computer and printer desk, to the Keurig coffee/tea maker made available in the dining room, to the well appointed ensuite bathroom, to the variety of TV channels, and comfortable bed. The breakfast is very good, e.g., freshly cut fruits with yogurt, cereal, coffee/tea, eggs florentine with breakfast sausages, etc. It also has a nicely setup small area outside, like a patio where you can relax, read a book/paper or sip a glass of wine. It is also located within a comfortable walking distance to downtown and the Sydney boardwalk. I warmly recommend it for anyone looking for a place to stay while in Sydney NS.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#5 of 7 in Sydney
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Bay Inn and  Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colby House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colby House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 Park St, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 4W4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Colby House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colby House Bed & Breakfast Sydney, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing