We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it did the trick”
Review of Crown & Moose Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crown & Moose Pub
Ranked #17 of 145 Restaurants in Sydney
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
758 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“it did the trick”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a long drive, it was raining and we were hungry. Even though the hotel pub may not have been our first choice it really was worthwhile stopping there. The beer was on special, the food portions were huge and the pricing was good. We had the seafood chowder and the mussels for appetizers - each could have been a main course. For our mains we had the fish (haddock) and chips and the pasta with seafood. Not the best food that we had in the Maritimes but certainly it did the trick. Service was good and prompt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
151 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Felt like we were in a bad sitcom!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This place was nuts. Ate there after a long day of driving because it was pouring down rain and I couldn't face any more time in the car. I knew we were in for an "experience" when the waiter decided to sit down in the booth next to us and ask "what you kids want." I got salt fish cakes that had no discernible fish. They were like mashed potato cakes. My husband had "something that supposedly passed for spaghetti carbonara." He said it wasn't bad, but it wasn't carbonara. The kid had a hamburger with the works. The kid win. It was actually good. I don't know what possessed us to order dessert after such bad entrees, but we did. I had maple creme brûlée. It was vanilla pudding with a brûlée top. I am not making this up. Luckily we have a really good sense of humor. But we won't be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank HistorianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service/Entertainment”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The bar staff were wonderful- both friendly and helpful. Andrew Doyle played for hours- really entertaining! We didn't sample the food but the music/beer was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location downtown Sydney.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Although it is a little more expensive than your regular pub, the food is always good and it is right downtown walking distance to anything you'd like to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunpig59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food - I'd return”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Being a hotel pub, I wasn't expecting a lot, but the weather was lousy so I gave it a try. I was pleasantly surprised. While the place is more a bar than a family-friendly pub, the food was the best of the three pubs I tried while in town. I started with a caesar salad that was okay (not freshly made anchovy based dressing if you're picky about these things). The standout was the pasta main course. The serving was large, the sauce was very good (had chicken, tomato, peppers, onions, etc.), and it really hit the spot. When next in Sydney, I will eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wahoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Moose Pub also viewed

 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Crown & Moose Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing