We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”
Review of Bras d'Or Lake

Attraction details
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Took a sail boat out for almost two hours. Our guide sailed past Alexander Graham Bells House which is the only way to see it. No tours for his family still lives there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We saw more beauty just driving around while staying here than when we went out specifically looking for scenic drives.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy in Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Barra Strait Inn right on the lake in Iona, very comfortable and great sunrise in the morning of the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank trishf2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have driven the Cabot Trail several times in the past but this is the first time I have driven along the southern shore of the lake from Port Hawkesbury right up to Sydney. The views on this side are far more frequent and far more impressive. The road is a secondary road so you take your time and enjoy the sights. There are lots of little places selling local crafts, places to stop for tea and some lovely homes and cottages to see along the lake. We thoroughly enjoyed the drive and saw far more of the Lake this way. We returned on the main highway but you really only get a few glimpses of the lake that way. Take the slower route and enjoy the scenery !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie_C1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Georgious location. Beautiful landscapes. Beautiful drives, did almost 80% of the lake. Construction on the east side of the lake on NS 4 caused delays. About 30 minutes for 10km of travel but it's Canada in the summer, cannot do road work in the winter eh.

Beautiful spot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FreddyBeach313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bras d'Or Lake also viewed

Ingonish Ferry, Cape Breton Island
Dingwall, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Bras d'Or Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing