We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it in October”
Review of Bras d'Or Lake

Attraction details
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Do it in October”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Rented a car for the day(cruise stop) and drove around the lakes.The colors were amazing, and the lookouts along the way gave you plenty of time just to sit back and enjoy them.Visited Baddeck,seen where Alexander Graham Bell grew up and caught the little narrows ferry. We were the only customers on the short cable ferry which made for a neat ride. Most things were closed for the year but we were there for the colors and they did not disapoint.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank skipro4720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    18
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“beautiful, scenic area to enjoy nature”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We drove for several hours in the area. Went on a short trip to Baddeck area and some of the Cabot Trail. Took what may be the world's shortest ferry ride...expensive at 5.25 each way! Ferry does save you about 30 miles of driving I believe. Worth the visit if you are heading this way. We were on a cruise ship and stopped in for the day. I suggest renting a car and exploring on your own.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank photoguy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bras d'Or Lake”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We visited West Bay as my wife's family has roots there. We saw where they came came from and where some still live. We met some locals and recieved only the best of help.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RMC7401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tremendous inland salt-water ocean. Mariners and bathers alike will love it.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

tremendous inland salt-water lakes. Mariners and bathers will love it. Try Marble Mountain Beach. Worth the effort.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluenosers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bissett
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SAILING TOUR”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What is a visit to Bras d'Or Lake if you don't take in the sailing tour in Baddeck. Offered 4 times a day daily (in season - usually May to October). Reasonably priced at $25/adult. It is spectacular. Guaranteed eagle sightings. Great view of the Alexander Graham Bell mansion. Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bras d'Or Lake also viewed

Ingonish Ferry, Cape Breton Island
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Dingwall, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Bras d'Or Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing