We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A drive not for the squeamish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meat Cove

Meat Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A drive not for the squeamish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Dirt roads, hairpin turns and vertigo inducing hills and drops. The views are spectacular, but it is waaay out of the way, so give it some thought. Drive real slow once the pavement ends.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RayCornerstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    9
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Cool rock formations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The drive here was interesting. The bridge is back in down to the beach. We just loved the fascinating rock formations here. When it came time to leave we found that if you stop at the top at the stop sign you are not getting out. Third try we just kept going and away we went.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't camp but will one day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Drove up here while staying nearby - the photos do not do the view justice.

I'm terrified of heights but the view was worth the shaky legs and sweaty palms. We showed up shortly before dusk and got to see the sun set while we were up at the top of a nearby trail (30m). The walk back in reduced light wasn't an issue for us but I could easily imagine others getting lost.

My girlfriend's mother was here when she was about our age (30 years ago) and had specifically mentioned this location as a 'must-see' when we did the trip. I'm very glad we listened even if we didn't end up camping.

The food - unbelievable. Small family-run kitchen, maybe one cook and one 'server'. It was great. I'm not terribly picky.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

You're in Meat Cove because you meant to go to Meat Cove. It's well off the beaten path, but there are some nice hikes in the area, the little restaurant/co-op/town hall can get you started, and it's another way to see some of the spectacular scenery of Cape Breton. If you'd like to have some alone time, do some hiking on trails that aren't exactly national park and go about as far as you can on the mainland, your goal is Meat Cove.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJB-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very varied walk out to the tip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We took the longish walk from Meat Cove to the tip of Cape Breton. This was fairly strenuous in parts but very varied terrain and well worth the effort when you emerge from the wooded area to walk the last stretch to the coast. Meat Cove itself is a charming little community - the cafe just by the bridge leading into the village is highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffedge509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Cove also viewed

Ingonish Ferry, Cape Breton Island
Inverness, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Meat Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing