We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT PASS THIS BY!!”
Review of Meat Cove

Meat Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“DO NOT PASS THIS BY!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Best scenery on the island and I've seen it all!! I ventured in on a motorcycle and it was well worth the trip! Don't pass by this little nook, you'll regret it!

Helpful?
Thank BoulevardBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    9
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Newbury
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“well worth the effort”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was one of the highlights of 2 weeks in the Maritime Provinces. We were there on a stormy, windy day in October, and it was beautiful to see. The drive off the Cabot Trail is a little rough, but don't give up.The views are fantastic.A great feeling of respect for nature, especially in those conditions. A little better weather and we would have camped there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulmac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
261 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“If You Do the Cabot Trail--Go All the Way!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Meat Cove is truly the end of the road. Like most of the Cabot Trail, the seashore views are spectacular and even more impressive when you realize how remote this location is and how few people get to experience it. The folks in the general store/restaurant/info center are extremely friendly and helpful. Ask them about the hike "up the mountain" that starts just a couple of hundred yards up the road from the general store. If you've made the trip to the Cabot Trail--you owe to yourself to go all they--to Meat Cove!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
532 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring Views!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Right on the north tip of Cape Breton Island, well off the Cabot Trail, we ran across this spot on TA.

Quite the adventurous drive to get there, especially the last 8 kilometers of unpaved, often rough road.

Lots of folks camp there, in tents, right on the edge of a cliff overlooking the water, watching, hearing and feeling the waves crashing against the rocks below.

You can actually drive right down to the beach if you like, though the road is on quite an incline!

Aside from the incredible view and the campsites, not much there.

There used to be a restaurant but it's closed. We heard they used to serve chowder right out by the campsites but weren't when we were there. They did have some food, pretty much standard stuff like hamburgs, wings, sandwiches. And beer. We took a pass on that and stopped instead at the Rusty Anchor on our way back down the West coast of Cape Breton Island.

So, adventurous drive, yes, but well worth it to experience spectacular, pretty unique views of Canada.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TO_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most easterly tip”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband had read about Meat Cove and it was really the only place along the Cabot Trail that he truly wanted to see and stay at. We stayed about a 45 minute drive away but took the time to go up one late morning and stayed for almost three hours. We walked along the stone beach, swam in the ocean and enjoyed the cove. We also stayed and had a lunch up top at the little lunch spot overlooking Meat Cove. A must see!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaMay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat Cove also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Meat Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing