We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cabot Trail
from $912.50
More Info
from $2,299.00
More Info
from $1,739.00
More Info
Reviews (1,582)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveler rating
1,124
249
78
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
249
78
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews counter clockwise beautiful drive nova scotia national park bucket list take your time road construction breathtaking views west side take pictures rusty anchor twists and turns meat cove long drive fall colors every turn ingonish beach
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Most outstanding place ever. A must wee in the fall with the changing leaves. Drove around the entire trail. My wife was so excited and took lots of pictures.

Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful drive in the early Autumn. Roads not too busy and weather and scenery great. There are lots of great stopping off places.

Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is truly spectacular! We did not see any whales during our whale watching cruise but we really went there, first and foremost, to experience the beauty and splendor of Cabot Trail. And it did not disappoint us at all. The multitude of colors were a magnificent backdrop. The people were extremely hospitable and friendly. I still believe the best time to do the trail is in early fall. Dont do the whale watching cruise if you go in October as you most probably wont see any. It will be a waste of your time and money. But overall, it was soooo well worth the long drive I did from Montreal to Cape Breton Island. We stayed at the Telegraph Motel in Baddeck, Nova Scotia, by the way. I will definitelty be back!

Thank cai101965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breathtaking views, easy drive, even in the drizzling rain this was an awesome experience! Hope to return again.

Thank debraem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am sure I can't add too much more to this review you haven't read over and over again. The beauty is outstanding.

Details - We travelled clockwise starting from Sydney to Baddeck and onwards.
It was last weekend of October so the trail was basically ours alone. There are pros and cons. Of course it was a pro to have complete freedom without crowds. Very easy to stop and pull over and take pictures time and time again. No issues with parking or finding room to take pictures. No tourists in my photos!
It was a con that nothing was open. We lucked out visiting a bakery in Cheticamp but that was all that was open. No restaurants. No gift shops.

As for the weather and the beauty of the fall leaves. 1. The red leaves were all gone but a glorious array of oranges were in full bloom from the bottom of the mountain through to the middle of the mountain. As we reached the top, the trees were bare from leaves and the ground was starting to be covered with light power of snow.

As for the road conditions 1. It was sunny with clouds and the road was clear at the bottom. As we started to climb we ran into some really icy situations and we were a bit nervous. We had intended to do the trail clockwise one day and counter-clockwise the next. We decided to just drive the trail one day and explore sea level Cape Breton the other.

Hiking - We stopped only once to explore a waterfall. It was quite slippery with the leaves mixed with the wet, icy snow type conditions. Sadly we missed out.

The waves were crashing and it was spectacular for photos. It was chilly so bring gloves to take those breathtaking photos! It was mostly clear but as the day went on and as we climbed higher and higher, our visibility was reduced.

Wifi for anyone curious - it was off and on. However, get your head out of your phone and look out the window to the beauty!

Thank MichelleK20127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 2 days exploring the Cabot Trail and although it is very scenic and picturesque, the amount of road construction happening during our visit was very frustrating. We had to make several 15-30 min. stops in the multiple construction areas along the drive, which increased our driving time by 3-5x to get anywhere. The old road surface is clearly in need of repair but is it necessary to have so many different areas of the road under repair at the same time?
It was very frustrating!

Thank ChitchatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled here October 16 -19 and were fortunate to catch the leaves at their full peak! The scenery is breathtaking, traveling towards the end of the busy season was perfect for us as there was very little traffic. Although some businesses were closed for the season, we still found plenty to do and see, including live music during two lunches. A really beautiful part of the world.

Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We began our travel on the Cabot Trail in Cheticamp, a picturesque fishing village and ended at Baddeck. Our tour followed the road through mountains, the plateau, along the Gulf of St. Lawrence and through small villages and harbors. The mountains were a blaze of fall colors. We stopped often to take photographs at overlooks, harbors and a lighthouse. There are many, many hiking trails. Some are short and easy. Others such as the Skyline Trail and longer and more strenuous. We saw wildlife: moose, deer and bald eagles.This is a world famous trail and ranks right up there with California' s coastal Highway One.

Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

spent a week on Cape Breton Island at the Celtic Fall Colours Festival and it was excellent. We drove the Cabot Trail and Hiked 5 of the longest trails off of it. Spectacular views were had everywhere we went. All the people on the island were so friendly and accommodating and the food was spectacular! The fresh seafood chowder and haddock and fries were excellent....if you have an opportunity to visit this beautiful place, make sure to take it. you will not regret it!

Thank tripper045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent three days, i.e ee had a stopover in Cape North because ee also wanted time for hiking. Weather was not on our sude for the hiking thiugh, but even so it was good to have extra time. We also tried out some of the smaller loops, all amazing. Even though we didn't have any sunshine, the colours were out of this world! Plenty of spaces to adore the views and to picnic.

Thank LiseBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews