We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Don’t miss

We did several hike and bike trails on our visit. All nice but this was by far our favorite. A... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
cfhilton
,
Darien, Connecticut
via mobile
Beautiful views

We really enjoyed our walk along the Skyline Trail. I recommend going early morning to beat the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Justtravelling4
,
Halifax, Canada
Read all 795 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Cape Breton Island
from $801.46
More Info
from $69.36
More Info
Day Tour
5 Reviews
from $96.33
More Info
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
795 results
Traveler rating
571
164
51
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
571
164
51
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy hike bring water shorter route longer loop cow moose beautiful hike parking area the cliff bug spray great walk board walk two hours incredible views take your time national park nova scotia boardwalk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 795 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

The views were breathtaking and great photo opportunities. We were a little apprehensive because you can see the trail from the road and it looks narrow and really high but once you are out there it isn’t as intimidating. Definite see on the Cabot Trail!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank BeckyM40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

We did the full loop with the skyline view. In total this was about 9km or just over 5miles. Nice way to break up all the driving. Incredible view!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Blugal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

It's a good trail for strollers, but there are steps on a section that will take you down part of the mountain. It's an open area, about 270 steps (they weren't bad coming up! Lots of rest stops along the way!) and very windy.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

A trail that's relatively easy because you essentially start at the top of the mountain. It's an easy drive to the parking area at the trailhead. It's a large parking area but you may still have some trouble finding a place to park. When we visited, there was a Park employee helping folks park. It's about 3.5 km walk out to the place where you have great views of the surrounding areas. It's a well-maintained trail, with rest rooms available near the parking area. There are numerous benches along the way if you want to stop and rest.
Part way out there is a fenced off area. You pass through a gate and walk through the fenced off area. They are doing a study of how the plants grow back when the moose cannot get access to eat them. Apparently, after the spruce budworm epidemic back in the 1970s killed off the spruce and fir trees, the moose prevented the forest from growing back.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

In the planning of our trip to Nova Scotia, the Skyline Trail was what my wife anticipated the most. It did not disappoint at all, quite the contrary. The description panels throughout the trail were very helpful and informative. The vistas by the sea were well worth the walk and so peaceful. The wind was quite fierce, so everyone walked carefully on the boardwalks. This, however, did not take away from this great experience.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews