We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”
Review of Skyline Trail

Skyline Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A July visit to the Skyline Trail will not be without company, but we saw moose, the circle hike isn't the most interesting, but the views at the water's edge are pretty spectacular. Well worth your time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NJB-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    121
    33
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Views are worth the walk”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A lovely walk results in some spectacular views at the end. Well sign-posted but some indication of distance to the end would be a bonus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliffedge509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Views to take your breath away...”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were lucky with the weather so we saw the best views and colours around the day we visited, along with the huge moose and his family! It is a an easy trail, which is well laid out, so most people can attempt to walk it. Even though you don't complete it you can still see a lot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TJH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“mind park”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you dont catch an animal then the loop is mostly a barren mind park the little stairs part at the end does give a stunning view of the ocean and some winding roads.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bilaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The day was foggy and overcast, but we were determined to walk the Skyline Trail, and are very happy we did. After a 20 minutes walk along a very wide roadway leading to the actual start of the trail (which we found disappointing) we were pleased to be rewarded by the appearance of two fully grown adult moose (male and female) a short distance into the trail. Then we walked another distance, along a gravel pathway which ultimately lead to the boardwalk walkway pictured in many Skyline photos. Since the trail itself was fogged in fairly thickly for a good part of our walk, we were amazed to discover that the fog which can be extremely dense one minute, can lift in seconds to offer a completely clear and beautiful vista of ocean and skyline. Thankfully fellow hikers shared this information with us. Upon reaching the end of the trail, which was completely enveloped in grey when we arrived, the sky did in fact clear a few minutes later to make our trek worthwhile. If you love easy walking trails in beautiful forests and don't mind sharing your walkway with other like-minded visitors, this is the good trail for you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyline Trail also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Skyline Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing