We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azelia Farmhouse B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Antigonish B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night at this B and B on the tail end of our trip just prior to returning home. The house has undergone some tasteful renovations which only adds to its comfort while taking away none of its charm. It's situated on a hill, allowing you to sit on the country-style porch, sipping tea and munching on homemade oatcakes, while gazing over verdant rolling hills and the owner's growing herd of alpaca. The comfort and inviting nature of this beautiful and impeccably clean home is surpassed only by the warmth and friendliness of the husband and wife owners, Al and Mary Pat, whose relaxed ways give you the instant feeling that you're returning home from some arduous journey. They were endlessly accommodating with regard to our one-year-old daughter and actually seemed to enjoy having her around. The made-to-order breakfast was by far the best meal we had during our vacation and sustained us throughout the long trip home. Mary Pat was ready to give us recommendations for a restaurant that evening. We politely declined as we preferred to stay and enjoy the short time we had at this wonderful home. Our apologies to the town of Antigonish. The Azelia FarmHouse is too good to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sashaleeAntigonishNs, Owner at Azelia Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind remarks. We enjoyed your family very much and hope you will be able to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
77
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We sayed at Azelia Farmhouse B&B enroute Cabots Trail and again on the return trip. The B&B was indeed a renovated farmhouse located outside the college town of Antigonish. Our bedroom /bath was large, clean and inviting . The king size bed was comfortable and linens were high quality. While the farmhouse exceeded our expections the real highlite was the inn keepers.They were genuine friendly people that you would want to call friends/neighbors. The breakfasts were cooked to order...yes ...I said cooked to order and were wonderful. We would definitely recommend this B&B and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNAS1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sashaleeAntigonishNs, Owner at Azelia Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We appreciate that you took the time to review us and wish you the best in your continued travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

From the alpaca farm, cleanliness, hospitality, food. They were all excellent. The owners were charming. I am very difficult to impress but I was. Thank you for a lovely stay . Also, the value was there and this b and b undercharged for what it offered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sashaleeAntigonishNs, Owner at Azelia Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for spending some time with us and thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Sorry that the horses are gone but we feel the Alpaca's take their place nery ncely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have never stayed at a B&B before and thought that it would be nice to try staying at one for a change. Azelia Farmhouse was everything that people have said: Friendly people, clean/comfortable rooms, and great conversation. Mary Pat and Al were very nice to talk to and even gave me suggestions on what to see in my travels. I would without reservation recommend them and would be happy to stay with them again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hightechto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sashaleeAntigonishNs, Owner at Azelia Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Al and I try to offer our guests the very best in comfort, food and informaton. Guests' comments help us to maintain the standard our visitors expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glade Spring, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just like the other reviewers, we found Mary Pat and Al "like family," we enjoyed talking with them, and our room was excellent. Oh, and the breakfast was really nice. The only "problem" was that we had planned only a one night stay enroute north to Cape Breton. Big mistake - hang out here as long as you can! The area is attractive with other things to do for two or three days anyway.
You won't regret staying with Mary Pat and Al!

Room Tip: All seemed fine to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sashaleeAntigonishNs, Owner at Azelia Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We enjoyed your time with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent one night with Mary Pat and Al at their wonderful b and b. what a fantastic experience! Our room was comfortable, bed was very cozy, they went out of their way to make breakfast that fit into our dietary needs, great to talk with them. We even got to help out with a new born alpaca! Staying at Azelia was like visiting with family we like. Although in the country, it is easy to get to and just a few minutes from the cute town of Antigonish. If you are in that area we highly recommend booking a room there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of our most favorite memories of our trip to PEI/NS in 2006 was the night spent at Azelia Farmhouse. That alone made us want to return again and instead of 1 night, we spent 3! They are truly in the business for the joy of visiting with people from around the world, spoiling you with their attentive openness and delicious breakfasts - so beautiful that you need to take pictures of them! We looked forward each day to our return to the "farm" so we could visit with Al and Mary Pat evenings. The alpacas were such fun this time, too, so - an added bonus. The Connnors make you feel so special and a part of their idyllic life that we can't wait to return......

Room Tip: Any of their rooms are beautiful.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sashaleeAntigonishNs, Owner at Azelia Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much. We enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write.
We look forward to your next visit to Nova Scotia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
3.8 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
10.7 mi away
June's B&B By The Sea
June's B&B By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azelia Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azelia Farmhouse B & B

Property: Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Address: 309 Connors Rd | RR 2, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azelia Farmhouse B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit our turn-of-the-century renovated farmhouse, surrounded by century old ash and sugar maple trees. Only 4 mi.(6.4km)from the town of Antigonish, you can still enjoy the solitude and charm of a country setting. The rate includes a full course country breakfast. 2 rooms--1 A/C king size room with 4 pc.private bath: 1 A/C queen size room with 3 pc. ensuite bath.Guests living room and bedrooms with SATV/DVD. Phone/FAX and internet access available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Azelia Farmhouse B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azelia Farmhouse B & B Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing