We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #1 of 11 Antigonish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
“A truly wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you are from outside of the maritmes, this is truly the place to stay. Al and Mary Pat take you in as one of their own and treat you like family coming home. They invited us into their kitchen for late night tea with them and their family . It was like one big family.

The food was better than most restaurants and MaryPat bent overbackwards to ensure our girls food alergies were addresssed. The alpaca experience was truly fun, as the 4 day old baby alpaca running with the other animals. Al specifically penned the animals in for our children to play with them.

The rooms were Impecibly clean and the beds very comfortable.

As we were a family of 5, it is tough to find a B & B that will want families, but their Bee suite allowed us ample room. Plain and simple, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilH781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
78
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Pet alpacas roaming the farm, fantastic huge breakfast, farm setting outside the city but only 5 minute drive to town. Really comfy bed in large bedroom with beautiful bath.
Mary Pat and Al - super friendly, helpful (thanks for the oatcake recipe and scones with white chocolate and cranberries!!!) Awesome people!

Room Tip: Did not see 2nd bedroom. Our room, azelia, was incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank can'tstaystill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband, my daughter and I stayed one night with Mary Pat and Al. Their B & B was our first destination after flying into Halifax. We were greeted like family upon our arrival and shown up to our beautiful, clean, cozy rooms. After eating dinner in town and returning to their home, we were offered tea and cookies and pleasant conversation. The next morning, Mary Pat left coffee for us outside of our room so we could enjoy a cup before coming downstairs for her delicious, homemade breakfast. We had fresh fruit, homemade banana, coconut, pineapple loaf (which was amazing), eggs benedict, juice, and coffee. Mary Pat and Al provided great conversation while we ate and suggestions for our drive to Cape Breton. After breakfast, Al let us come with him while he fed his alpacas and our 14 year old daughter was thrilled when she was able to pet them too. We would not hesitate to recommend their B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night with Mary Pat and Al and it was wonderful. They were very warm and welcoming, like coming home to visit family you haven't seen in awhile. very hospitable, serving tea and snacks before we even brought our bags in. the room was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. They provided information on activities in the area (including up to date info on plays and concerts happening that night) as well as recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast was excellent and Mary Pat made sure you left full! We stayed in 4 B&Bs during our trip and this was our favorite. If we are ever in the areas again we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were told that people in Nova Scotia were friendly, Azelia farmhouse proved this and more. Mary Pat and Al looked after us like family, attentive to all our needs and for one night we felt that we were in the company of friends. If Mary Pat offers you a strawberry shortcake say yes, you will not regret it.

The farmhouse is close to town but isolated away, taking tea on the verandah looking at a view for miles is so restful and you will wish you had booked for more nights.

Note to British guests, Mary Pat has a large selection of tea including Yorkshire Tea.
(Lawrence and Katrina)

Room Tip: We stayed in a large room to the left at the top of the stairs, large comfy bed and double bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in the Azelia Farmhouse last week when my wife and I were on our way to Cape Breton, NS. It was a fantastic B&B- we would have been happy to spend more time there. We made the mistake of putting in the address on our GPS and went on a harrowing 25 minute drive through a one lane road that was unpaved, just gravel. Our rental car scraped the ground multiple times and I honestly thought that we might die in the darkness of the forest. Thank God we got there eventually! Turns out there is a much better way to get through to the B&B- just ask the inn keepers. Anyways, it was a wonderfully peaceful place, loved the decor of the rooms. Felt like you were in a real farmhouse, which I guess you were. Breakfast was fantastic and the hosts were really gracious, even letting me borrow a hose to rinse off my dusty car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This B&B is located in a true rural setting on the side of a hill. The home is an older farmhouse (actually the family home of Al) which has had the upstairs totally renovated with first class finishes. On arrival we were warmly met by our host and hostess (Al & Mary Pat) and every aspect of our stay discussed including what time we would like to get our morning paper and coffee delivered to a small table in the hall outside our room. Suggestions were offered as to where we could have dinner and what might be of interest to us for the evening.

In the morning we awoke and shortly afterward heard the sound of the coffee being delivered and tthen smelled the muffins baking downstairs. On arrival at the breakfast table we were greated by borh Mary Pat and Al with a table set with lit candles, fresh roses from their flower garden, real china dishes and siverware. The breakfast was exceptional (belgum waffle with maple flavoured whip cream and fruit). Mary Pat and Al stayed for friendly conversation while we enjoyed our breakfast.

This couple certainly displayed exceptional hospitality and their accomodations are excellent. The surroundings are beautiful and they also have some Alpacas so of course picture taking was essential.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caperOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigonish
2.4 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
166 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
56 reviews
9.6 mi away
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in McArras Brook
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azelia Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azelia Farmhouse B & B

Property: Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Address: 309 Connors Rd | Rr 2, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azelia Farmhouse B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit our turn-of-the-century renovated farmhouse, surrounded by century old ash and sugar maple trees. Only 4 mi.(6.4km)from the town of Antigonish, you can still enjoy the solitude and charm of a country setting. The rate includes a full course country breakfast. 2 rooms--1 A/C king size room with 4 pc.private bath: 1 A/C queen size room with 3 pc. ensuite bath.Guests living room and bedrooms with SATV/DVD. Phone/FAX and internet access available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Azelia Farmhouse B & B Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing