We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home - unless it's the Azelia Farmhouse B&B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #1 of 11 Antigonish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“There's no place like home - unless it's the Azelia Farmhouse B&B.”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My mother and I travelled through Nova Scotia and PEI for two weeks in June, in some of the worst vacation weather we've ever experienced: rain, wind and chill for 2 weeks straight. By the time we arrived at Azelia Farmhouse I had come down with my first cold in years - and it was a doozie. Mary Pat met us as we drove in the yard, and immediately extended such warmth and hospitality, it just seemed to cut right through the bad weather. I felt better the moment I met her. After declining her kind offer of tea and dessert in favour of an early bed time, Mary Pat recommended a 'hot soak' in the tub of one of her other guest rooms - that was unoccupied that night (our room only had a shower vs. bathtub), along with a hot lemon drink to help make me feel better. This is service far above and beyond anything I'd have expected of a B&B host. We stayed in the Bees's suite, which is actually 2 adjoining rooms that share a roomy bathroom. All the amenities were available - TV's in each room, coffee and tea-making facilities, as well as early morning coffee or tea made and delivered outside our room with the morning newspaper. The breakfast, complete with home baking, was hot and delicious. The farmhouse is situated just outside Antigonish (if you're traveling using a GPS, select "Antigonish County" vs. Antigonish before typing in the address - it'll take you right to the door) overlooking a lovely field with horses - and a night view of the lights of Antigonish in the distance. Lovely, homey B&B, hosted by one of the most lovely people we've met anywhere. Thank you for a terrific stay at Azelia, Mary Pat and Al.

Room Tip: The Bee's suite is great for parents with children and the King room has just been beautifully r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canuckexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
78
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I only wish that we could have stayed more than one night at the Azelia Farmhouse. From the delicious rhubarb pie on arrival, to the robe & slippers in our room, to the coffee delivery in the morning, every last detail had been taken care of. We stayed in the large king suite and felt as if we were in the lap of luxury. The property is just outside the cute little town of Antigonish and the pastoral setting couldn't be more relaxing. Stay here, you will LOVE it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CityGal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

You will find genuine hospitality and high quality accommodations at this lovely B&B. Mary Pat and Al are welcoming hosts who are justly proud of their family farmhouse. It is a treat to stay here. Where else could you be invited to come "home" to have homemade apple pie after your restaurant meal in town or to enjoy delicious local wild smoked salmon for breakfast. You'll even learn how to pronounce "Antigonish".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoulderGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Even though we wanted to stay two nights we only could get a single one as the second night was already taken. We know now what we missed. From the warm and friendly welcome to the farewell, this is the most outstanding B&B you can find. Take all the bad experiences you make in hotels, here you find all the missing things and even more. Be it real flowers in the sleeping room or a sewing kit in the bathroom, neatly arranged rolls of yarn on tooth picks, even an imitation open fire place. There are even two sinks in the bathroom. The bed was not queen or king size, it was emperor size.
We were not treated like customers, rather we felt like family members. The breakfast was to be chosen from a menu. It was a real great experience. Homemade from scratch you regret to be able only to eat so much.
Many thanks to Mary and Al

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einstein007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I can only agree with the other positive comments. The hosts are more than helpful and charming. The house is a little outside of the city but this isn't a problem as you'll be travelling by car anyway. We only stayed for a short night and felt almost sorry for not having the time to profit from all the amenities in the room. Though we had little time for breakfast what we got was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenufara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Located on an old coach road (that now says "no exit") the Azelia B&B is worth going out of your way for. It's an easy drive out of Antigonish, make a left towards Clydesdale and then a left on Connor road. Then drive to the end of the gravel road, about 1/3 mile. The yellow house is Al's childhood home and remarkably maintained. The king bed room is magnificent and so very quiet. And we were so busy during breakfast collecting Mary Pat's recipes, we almost forgot to leave. We highly recommend the Azelia. It's the best B&B experience anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnInPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Azelia Farmhouse for 1 night in August... but wished we could have stayed there longer!

Mary Pat and Al were friendly and very welcoming. They made us feel totally at home, though with enough private space not to feel crowded. They helped us find a restaurant in town and bike routes for the morning.

Breakfast was completely delicious! We had Mary Pat's special nut pancakes and the table was full of fruits, yogurts, juice and coffee. We even got coffees placed quietly outside our room at 7:00 - just the time we asked for and the perfect start to the day.

You should seriously include Antigonish in your travel plans for Nova Scotia, just so you can stay here. You'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westie_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigonish
2.4 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
166 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
56 reviews
9.6 mi away
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in McArras Brook
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azelia Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azelia Farmhouse B & B

Property: Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Address: 309 Connors Rd | Rr 2, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azelia Farmhouse B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit our turn-of-the-century renovated farmhouse, surrounded by century old ash and sugar maple trees. Only 4 mi.(6.4km)from the town of Antigonish, you can still enjoy the solitude and charm of a country setting. The rate includes a full course country breakfast. 2 rooms--1 A/C king size room with 4 pc.private bath: 1 A/C queen size room with 3 pc. ensuite bath.Guests living room and bedrooms with SATV/DVD. Phone/FAX and internet access available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Azelia Farmhouse B & B Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing