We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canadian hospitality proven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Antigonish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Canadian hospitality proven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Jim and Marlene were excellent and interesting hosts. The breakfast was fabulous and we spent some time discussing the food. For overseas visitors there is so much to learn that most North Americans take for granted and it is great to stay at a B&B with interesting hosts who themselves travel. As an added bonus we met some US travellers also staying who had decided to drive transcontinental - a very fun evening.

We were tremendously impressed with Jim's knowledge and his ability to fix up our next nights stay at "The Ponderosa" in Sydney, Cape Breton Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dieseltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thank you, Marleen and Jim, for your hospitality and delicious breakfast. We truly enjoyed our stay in Antigonish..A quiet and comfortable stay, easily accessible, and immaculate home.
Thanks again for the directions to the ferries and your company.

Jennifer and Rob

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had stayed at two Victorian B & B's before this one and were a bit leery of it's modernity. No need to be because it was fabulous! The home was built with the idea of having it be a B & B - all the rooms are downstairs with a private entrance off the back. There is a nicely placed even stone walkway down to the entrance, making rolling your suitcase an easy task. Jim is a stickler for details and a former general contractor. Everything in the house is well designed, clean, and up to date. Even the art on the walls was tasteful and interesting. The breakfast in the morning was the same both days we were there but since it was tasty, no problem. Fresh tomatoes from the garden and homemade salsa for your eggs.
I noticed one review said if you like privacy, this place isn't for you. I think this was for two reasons. There is a common area outside the bedrooms for guests to congregate, watch tv, be on their computers. If you don't want to socialize, you can just go in your room. The other reason may be that Jim likes to come socialize with the guests in the evening, after they've returned from dinner. He wants to hear about their day, their meal, and maybe make suggestions for the next day's activities. Everyone cleared out of this area by 10 and all was quiet. I didn't find it a problem. The photo Jim takes in the morning before you leave is a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sraeemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Jim and Marlene went out of their way to make sure we were well hosted. The B & B rooms are on the lower floor (very bright) of a modern home. While there is no TV in the private rooms, there is a large, well equipped sitting area for all guests to share. We enjoyed a comfortable and quiet sleep and a great breakfast prepared by Marlene and served by Jim, but only after Jim had taken each guest's picture. After eating, Jim presented each couple with a lovely picture of themselves in a nice folder to take along as a memoir of their stay.

Room Tip: If you prefer a lot of privacy, this B & B may not be the most suited to that, but there are so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay here. Jim was agreat host and made a delicious breakfast. Lots of little extras made this a b & b that we would return to. The location was close to the highway and easy to find. The gardens were lovely. Thanks for the fresh beans Jim..we enjoyed them !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast with 2 hosts who go out of their way to help you out. It is very clean and there are many special touches added. Breakfast was wonderful. The only problem we had was that noise travels quite a bit and it was noisy. In the evening when guests arrived we can clearly hear all the conversations in the main meeting area. The room next to ours had a baby who was fussy in the night, so that kept me awake quite a bit.

Added touches are when Jim gave us a picture that he took of us, and when I won a prize by picking a winning ticket out of the can. These 2 people love what they do and really work hard to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Marleen and Jim are great hosts and have a very comfortable b&b with a super view . The breakfast was excellant wished we had more time to stay longer

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
2.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
5.2 mi away
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
#2 of 12 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4143 South River Rd, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 0B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're staying for a day or longer you will enjoy our modern West Coast Style Home overlooking beautiful Antigonish Harbour. Built to take advantage of the 180 degree view of the Harbour, Sugarloaf Mountain and surrounding hillsides, the view is breathtaking. Four comfortable rooms, queen size beds, all with 3 piece ensuite baths. Sit and relax in the guest lounge where cable TV, DVD, CD player. Full breakfast featuring homemade breads and seasonal fruit. We are within 5 minutes of Main Street. Open Year round. From Hwy 104, take Exit 34 onto Highway 4. We are located 1.5 km from the Exit, green house with white trim on the right, over looking Antigonish Harbour. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing