We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antigonish B & B”

Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Antigonish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maynooth, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Antigonish B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay here. Jim was agreat host and made a delicious breakfast. Lots of little extras made this a b & b that we would return to. The location was close to the highway and easy to find. The gardens were lovely. Thanks for the fresh beans Jim..we enjoyed them !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast with 2 hosts who go out of their way to help you out. It is very clean and there are many special touches added. Breakfast was wonderful. The only problem we had was that noise travels quite a bit and it was noisy. In the evening when guests arrived we can clearly hear all the conversations in the main meeting area. The room next to ours had a baby who was fussy in the night, so that kept me awake quite a bit.

Added touches are when Jim gave us a picture that he took of us, and when I won a prize by picking a winning ticket out of the can. These 2 people love what they do and really work hard to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Marleen and Jim are great hosts and have a very comfortable b&b with a super view . The breakfast was excellant wished we had more time to stay longer

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

A very lovely spot. Beautiful home and very clean. Host and Hostess work very hard to leave a great first impression. The gardens are spectacular. This was a first for my husband and I staying at B&B's. The bedrooms give a great view of the backyard also. It would have been nice if we could have opened the windows and patio door. The weather was very warm and due to humidity and the risk of a smoke alarm going off, we were unable to open our bedroom window. Also during the evening while socializing in the den, we were unable to open the patio doors for a nice breeze.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This bed and breakfast has a lot going for it. It has a fantastic view, is exceptionally clean, and very well furnished. The hosts are accommodating and gracious and have a variety of amenities for travelers, including tea and cookies in the evening. The breakfast was wonderful and filling. Jim and Marlene made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This review is written after enjoying my third stay at the Rose and Thistle. Jim and Marleen are wonderful hosts - While finding this lovely B&B can be a bit tricky with GPS (the hosts are aware of this and list exact coordinates), it is actually very easy to remember how to get there in subsequent visits. The rooms are well-kept and beds are quite comfortable. While close to the town of Antigonish, it is far enough away to afford scenic views. I am glad to have had the opportunity to get to know the Hubleys and I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

When we arrived Marleen was out and Jim covered in grease from cleaning his lawnmower, but nevertheless he just directed us into the house with instructions of where to find our room, make a hot drink and generally make ourselves comfortable until Marleen returned 15 minutes later. Jim gave us a good recommendation for dinner. The B&B is situated a little way out of town and is a 30 minute walk from the town centre, however after a days driving we felt like a walk into town for dinner. The house itself is very big and beautifully fitted out. The sitting room and breakfast room have wonderful views and if you are lucky you can see bald eagles in flight. Before breakfast Jim invites you to be photographed - a keepsake for their albums, but after breakfast he presents you with a copy of the photo beautifully presented in a card frame as a gift to take away - a nice touch and the best photo we've had done for a long time. Breakfast was very good, very plentiful and nicely served. Great hosts and comfortable facilities.

Room Tip: Ohio room very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
2.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
5.2 mi away
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
#2 of 12 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4143 South River Rd, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 0B4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're staying for a day or longer you will enjoy our modern West Coast Style Home overlooking beautiful Antigonish Harbour. Built to take advantage of the 180 degree view of the Harbour, Sugarloaf Mountain and surrounding hillsides, the view is breathtaking. Four comfortable rooms, queen size beds, all with 3 piece ensuite baths. Sit and relax in the guest lounge where cable TV, DVD, CD player. Full breakfast featuring homemade breads and seasonal fruit. We are within 5 minutes of Main Street. Open Year round. From Hwy 104, take Exit 34 onto Highway 4. We are located 1.5 km from the Exit, green house with white trim on the right, over looking Antigonish Harbour. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing