We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brownstone Cafe

Brownstone Cafe
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Antigonish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Brownstone Cafe is a newly opened restaurant offering delicious and unique cuisine ranging from warm paninis and sandwiches to Mediterranean inspired dishes. Enjoy homemade desserts with fair trade coffee while taking in the beautiful ambiance of the extravagantly designed surroundings. The Brownstone Cafe is a licensed restaurant with an excellent selection of cocktails, spirits, beer and wine.
Suburban Philadephia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Driving through town, we were looking for a place for a late lunch. This was a GREAT choice. The outside was so inviting, with the geraniums and Canadian flags. We found a parking spot across the street and went in. Enjoyed the outdoor seating. Staff was accommodating to our requests. I had lobster on top of the spinach salad... It was delicious. My husband enjoyed the Ruben panini and got poutine with it. We left feeling like we lucky out finding this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kidletsaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    83
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gourmet Hotdog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

10 of us stopped for lunch on our way to the Cabot Trail from Halifax. It was busy when we got there but was clearing out. The waitress quickly cleared the tables and set something up so we could sit together. I've never had a hot dog in a restaurant before so ordered the Brownstone Hotdog. It was yummy. Everyone seemed to enjoy their food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My new favourite restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I ate at the Brownstone several times while visiting Antigonish in May. I had the Lobster Poutine (delicious) and also really loved their Gluten Free Nachos. The food was nicely prepared and beautifully presented. The staff was friendly and professional and their patio is beautiful and relaxing. The Brownstone is my new favourite restaurant and I look forward to returning on my next trip east!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful warm and friendly
atmosphere, excellent service, friendly staff.
Panini wAs delicious.
Decor very relaxing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The atmosphere is wonderful, staff is helpful, and the food is amazing. Can't wait to go eat there again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FinedishAntigonsih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brownstone Cafe also viewed

 
Antigonish, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Brownstone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing