We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This motel was simple but very clean and comfortable and quiet. The price was reasonable and they also provided a small breakfast snack to get you on your way. Ma Webb restaurant is across the road if you need a steak, burger or fish and chips.
The motel provides out door bar-b-q's for guests to use. A great idea for traveling families wanting to keep food costs down.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side facing the play yard so the road noise was not a disturbance for our q...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retired28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are always interested in what our guests have to say so that we can continue to improve our services. We are so pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable one. The number of people who comment on the cleanliness of the motel is gratifying to us and to our housekeepers who work so hard to ensure your comfort. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
49
81
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I just got back from a high school tournament in Antigonish and couldn't wait to write a review of this nice motel. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. One room had a flat screen TV and the other had an older TV. One great perk was the laundry service. For just $5, the sports uniforms, etc. were all washed and returned to our room. It was nice to not have to look for a laundromat or for the girls to wear dirty clothes, They have an ice machine in the office which was handy for sports injuries. There was a gas station, cafe and Restaurant either across the street or within walking distance. My only difficulty was in finding the place. The reason for this was that there was construction on the highway and detours. When I called for directions, I was given simple directions and was able to then find it quickly. Even though there are other motels that are closer to St FX, I would still go back to this motel because of my experience with the great rooms and personal service.

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner unit- at opposite end from office and found that it was very quiet. The air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerMomHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
What a lovely review! We enjoyed making your stay as comfortable as possible. We will remember you when you return. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing as service providers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very pleased with our stay. Arrived a bit early with no problem checking in early. The beds are very comfortable with lovely They also supply a lovely continental breakfast, which you can take back to your room. Overall, it was a wonderful stay and will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa3980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We listen to what our guests say and continually strive to improve our service. I am so pleased that your stay was a positive experience for you. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Clean, affordable & great location! Continental breakfast included, easy to find, friendly staff..will be back. Highway noise in front but if your looking for quiet would suggest a room in back, which leads to a big field. Thanks Jan & staff:)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
What a lovely review! We enjoyed making your stay as comfortable as possible. We will remember you when you return. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing as service providers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I recently took a trip to Nova Scotia in July of 2012. We stayed at several motels on our 12-day trip, looking for clean and reasonably priced accommodations. We found this, and more, at the Coastal Inn in Antigonish. Our room was very comfortable and spotless. We enjoyed the daily Continental breakfast, included in the price… it was a great way to start our day! Jane, the owner, was always available to give assistance and we believe she took great pride in her establishment. She was happy to get on her computer and print travel routes for us without us ever asking. She was a cheerful fountain of information and we thank her greatly for her hospitality. We will return and stay with her when we come back to Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJC57377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the rime to do a review for us. We are delighted that your stay was such a positiver experience. We remember you and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Recommend this hotel if you want a convenient, economical stop between Halifax and Cheticamp. Our room #22 was clean with a microwave and refrigerator. The shower was among the smallest ever seen, but its water temperatures fluctuated between very hot and cold. The continental breakfast was basic, but satisfying, and had to be taken back to the room to eat since there was no breakfast area.

We booked a NSQ and first were offered #64 in the rear. This room proved so small that we could not fit our suitcases and us both in the room. We then were moved to #22 on the front which is a corner room at the L of the inn. Consequently, we had minimal windows, but space and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for room #22. Rooms in the back are very small, but quiet. Rooms in the front open to the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your views regarding our motel and services. You are correct in stating that our rooms in the back are definitly smaller than our rooms in the front. We let our guests know this and an opportunity to view a room when they choose an 'economical' room. We try to provide the same amenities as are provided in the larger front rooms and feel we have been successful. We apologize if our heating system gave you some difficulty and have had someone come in to discuss what we can do to correct this. Most of our guests consider the location, the cleanliness, friendly service and price to be worth giving up some space. We thank you very much for your review and look forward to seeing you againl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Firstly, it is literally right off the TCH. No trouble spotting it. I was well satisfied with the quality of the room and comfort of the bed for the price. Comparable to and even surpassed some more expensive motels/hotels sampled on my trip. Very clean - linen even included a little stack of rags for misc. use. The effort to be green is appreciated. The staff was courteous and friendly. The choice of fare for the continental breakfast was varied and tasty. I am very satisfied with this stay and would certainly recommend it. Plus, it is across the road from Mother Webb's restaurant which was also a dandy experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are always interested in what our guests have to say so that we can continue to improve our services. We are so pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable one. The number of people who comment on the cleanliness of the motel is gratifying to us and to our housekeepers who work so hard to ensure your comfort. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigonish
5.7 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.2 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
3.8 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.6 mi away
Piping Plover Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Antigonish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Antigonish

Property: Coastal Inn Antigonish
Address: 4789 NS-4, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2L4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coastal Inn Antigonish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasts 35 charming, 2 level units that can be air conditioned and include a full bathroom, cable TV, and a phone. Also in every room you can find a fridge, microwave, and coffee station for your convenience. Many different room types available to fit you needs, including options with a King Size bed. Every morning a continental "Coastal Inn Plus" breakfast is offered and for food during the later hours in the day, a fully licensed Steakhouse can be found directly across the road. Also located in the area are 2 gas stations, a convenience store and another restaurant in short walking distance. Also we are located less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Antigonish, St. Francis Xavier University, an 18-hole golf course, Live Summer Theater. You can find us located just off the main Highway 104, less than a minute away, at Exit 35. The perfect resting spot halfway between Halifax and Cape Breton's Cabot Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Coastal Inn Antigonish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Antigonish Hotel Antigonish
Coastal Hotel Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing