We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem Well Worth a Visit!”
Review of Old Barn Gallery

Old Barn Gallery
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Antigonish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We sell original art that is mostly local - much of the art is the work of art/owner Carol Naveta Rivoire. Carol's passion is CONTEMPORARY ART, and her paintings are full of all the elements necessary - pleasing colors, texture (lots of texture), balanced composition, line, value, and emotion. The galleries are located at beautiful Beaver Dam Farm in the village of Pomquet, 12 min. from Antigonish Town. One gallery is in a former stable, and the other in the former carriage house. -- Very charming and fun! There's a lovely terrace with seating. Have a cup of coffee and enjoy the flowers and container vegetables surrounding the terrace. There are 500 old-fashioned rose bushes on the farm plus huge perennial gardens. -- Drive EAST on the highway towards Cape Breton. EXIT 35B (Monks Head Rd.) Folow OLD BARN GALLERY signs to first road on left (Melanson Rd.)
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem Well Worth a Visit!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Old Barn Gallery is run by Carol Rivoire. It is located in an old red barn on her horse farm, set amid beautiful pastures and hills and surrounded by lush gardens. Carol has redone the old barn to perfectly display one-of-a-kind artworks by local painters and craftsmen along with antiques and handicrafts. Carol is very knowledgeable and has traveled extensively to assemble her collection of items, which also includes vintage linens, quilts, pottery and whimsical tea pots! It is great fun to browse the gallery making interesting discoveries in every corner. Look carefully and you may even see a cat or two in the middle of the displays! If you are anywhere in the area, don't miss this beautiful gallery!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NChoagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    9
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a find !”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Saw the sign on the way from the beautiful Pomquet Beach and decided to check it out. Well, what a collection of original Art, antiques, collectables, crafts, and more! All in an original rustic barn, well organized and ambient, amidst the beautiful gardens surrounding the barn. You won't be disappointed.
Bernie C

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful gallery and grounds. A must see when you are in the area. Very unique items to see. The cats come out to greet you and are very friendly. Also the gorgeous horses are there to see

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of A Kind”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A visit to the Old Barn Gallery is an amazing experience. The red barn is set in a picturesque farm setting with winding roads, rolling hills and fields as far as the eye can see. The Gallery presents the visitor with an array of items including original art, exquisite crafts, antiques, collectibles and gifts. As I was staying at the Charming Cottage on Beaver Dam Farm for two weeks, where the Gallery is located, I visited the Gallery often and always saw new things that I had missed previously. My stay on the farm, accompanied by my dog ,was a wonderful experience - relaxing and peaceful in fresh country air surrounded by perennial gardens which can be visited by all who drop by. The people living and working at Beaver Dam Farm and the Old Barn Gallery are very open, welcoming and friendly, as are the cats and horses who also live there. I definitely hope to visit again some day.
Janet, Ottawa, Ontario

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandbar_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Barn Gallery - My new favorite getaway!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have lived in Antigonish for five years and am always searching locally for activities that will enhance our quality family time. Last Sunday, I acted on an intention I have had since the summer of 2012, which was to visit The Old Barn Gallery, not far from my house. Just minutes from the main highway (Trans Canada, for those of you not from around here), the Old Barn Gallery is my new favorite 'quality time' getaway. Located at the end of a quaint, picturesque dirt road, the first thing I noticed on the drive was the sounds of the songbirds. I was soon enveloped in the scents of wildflowers and summer foliage.

As we approached the property, I felt as though I was transported back in time. The horse pastures, framed by rustic wooden fences, flowed with buttercups and dandelions. The gallery itself is nothing short of stunning. This is so much more than an art and antique gallery. The barn, with it's original beams from the eighteen hundreds, breaths to life the glorious history and stories of a simpler time not long ago. Not one space of this property has been left unattended. From the eclectic mix of modern, antique and fine art within the walls of this magnificent red barn, to the gallery of roses that embrace the lane to the main house and walking trails, it is clear that not one detail has been overlooked. There is even a sitting area with quaint tables and chairs, situated among the flower gardens just outside the entrance to the gallery. The area is alive with butterflies and bumblebees enjoying the feast of nectar that has been so graciously planted for their dining pleasure. And, of course, what old barn would be complete without it's very own 'barn cat' or cats, as is the case with The Old Barn Gallery. Four feline friends are available to greet you, each with their own distinct personalities and characteristics. The old orange one is DREW. The calico is CALLIE. BELLA is smart and a little bit pushy, and the shy one with two white hind legs is, can you guess it? . . . WHITE LEGS!

Carol, herself, is as gracious a host as you will ever find. This sweet, lovely natured woman is welcoming and inviting and is abundant with stories of the history of the farm and the carefully selected pieces that have been chosen to grace the walls of the gallery.

I can honestly say that I am completely awestruck at the beauty and serenity of Beaver Dam Farm. And...it is in my own back yard! This truly is a hidden gem!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Barn Gallery also viewed

 
Antigonish, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Old Barn Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing