We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think of this as "the little motel that COULD" ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Think of this as "the little motel that COULD" ...”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

From the road, it's neat and clean, but not particularly charming. Just a simple strip motel, quite small, on the outskirts of Antigonish. The pleasant surprises are within ... so fresh and clean it almost sparkled. Not a speck of dust, nor a smudge of dirt anywhere. Comfy and tasteful furnishings and a few unexptected extra amenities that took it over and above. Continental breakfast in the reception lobby (tiny but cute) was a do-it-yourself and consisted mainly of bagels and toast, juices and the best coffee we had in Nova Scotia. A lovely little oasis after a long day driving throughout the province.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearytraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    43
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
151
238
28
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We just stayed one night as we were passing through the area at the end of our vacation. We had problems with the ferry and by the time we arrived it was very late. However, they were expecting us and left very clear instructions in the office mailbox and we manage to walk into a 'SANCTUARY". It was clean, beautiful, quiet and that was from the front door. Once inside we were delightfully pleased at the care and placement of items to make our stay very comfortable. Free cold bottled water in the refrigerator, a bathroom with every amenities available. Loved the night light (plan to find one and get one for our bathroom at home) The alarm clock was state of the art technology with projected time on the ceiling (also want one) Room was clean, organized and quiet and had some little touches that you'd find in high class hotels. The bed was first rate. A nice continental breakfast was included. I just wished that I could have stayed here longer or better still that we had stopped on our way through at the beginning of our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyberKat_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a small hotel (only eight rooms!) on the outskirts of Antigonish run by a couple who make you feel like you are a part of their family. The room was the cleanest motel room I think I have ever stayed in. Well maintained, up to date, with everything you could possibly need for comfort. Breakfast was simple, but filling. Make reservations though, they seem to be full all the time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Showme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at the Evergreen for one night recently to attend a wedding. We had been expecting something nice, after reading all the reviews. But the real thing was even better than we had hoped for!! We found ourselves wishing we could stay in the area for another few days, just to have an excuse to stay at this motel. It was just a small (8 room) roadside motel. But when you opened the door to your room, you felt like you were in a fancy boutique hotel. The floors were hardwood, with tiled floor in the huge bathroom (it even had a nightlight!). There was a full kitchen with a microwave, counter height fridge, oven, dishes, utensils, pots and pans, salt and pepper, dish soap, toaster, coffee pot, dish cloth and tea towel. Basically, it was all you could possibly hope to find in a self catering place. The bed had premium bedding with a fantastic mattress and pillow. The room was also nicely decorated. It was light and airy, with cross ventilation. There was a good AC unit, but we did not use it that night. Even with the windows open, it was very quiet at night and we had a fantastic night sleep.
An above average breakfast was included. There were three types of cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit, fruit salad, assorted homemade muffins, bagels, toast, cereal bars. There were DVD's you could borrow to watch in your room for no charge.
We found the owner to be very friendly and helpful. The Evergreen was probably the second nicest motel we have ever stayed at - and we do a LOT of traveling. The only thing we would have liked to see was a proper table in the room. There was a round coffee table with two chairs by the window. You could eat at the desk, but it would have been nice to have a lunch in front of the extra large window. Oh, the room was medium sized. Our room had one Queen bed it in, so it seemed fairly roomy. Other family members had rooms with 2 Q beds in them and so they did not have the coffee table and chairs and their rooms seemed a bit more cramped.
If you go to Antigonish, be sure to book this place early. It is a real gem!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJPToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed overnight at this Inn and were very impressed by the clean, spacious rooms with complimentary everything, including breakfast. Very curtious staff, always willing to help with any problems. I really liked the large bathroom facilities, with ample towels and toiletaries. I would definitely stay there again, and would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had a large, very clean room with a lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DKDJuniata
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a small hotel - only 8 rooms. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable, and had a full kitchen in it! Had we known, we would have picked up some sweet corn (which was in season) and cooked it! The bathroom was very large and well equipped. The front desk staff was very friendly; they had a selection of about 60 DVDs you could borrow for free; and breakfast, while not extensive, was adequate and included in the price of the room. They also had many of the menus from the restaurants around town, which made it very easy to select a place for dinner. About the only downside - if it is one, is that it isn't located near the 104 - but rather on the other side of town - but it was easy to find, and had a lovely view of the countryside, and was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKDJuniata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
1.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
167 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
56 reviews
1.4 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Antigonish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigonish Evergreen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigonish Evergreen Inn

Property: Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Address: 295 Hawthorne St | 401 Hwy 245, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigonish Evergreen Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located approximately 1.5 km from the downtown core of Antigonish and our well known university, St. Francis Xavier. We are known for our quiet yet "in-town" location, friendly, homey atmosphere, helpful service and a healthy continental breakfast. We offer clean and comfortable accommodations with all amenities you could require. Book today and relax in front of our new flat screen tv's with over 400 DVD's to chose from at no charge or sit outside and enjoy the view while reading and enjoy a flavored coffee from our evening treat cart. Our queen rooms have cozy fireplaces for your relaxation as well. All rooms have robes and slippers and ipod/iphone docking/charging stations. For the business travelers we have wifi and/or cabled connection with excellent strength. Visit us today - we promise you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Antigonish Evergreen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigonish Evergreen Hotel Antigonish
Antigonish Evergreen Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing