We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel like family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Antigonish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is a small hotel (only eight rooms!) on the outskirts of Antigonish run by a couple who make you feel like you are a part of their family. The room was the cleanest motel room I think I have ever stayed in. Well maintained, up to date, with everything you could possibly need for comfort. Breakfast was simple, but filling. Make reservations though, they seem to be full all the time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Showme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 568 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at the Evergreen for one night recently to attend a wedding. We had been expecting something nice, after reading all the reviews. But the real thing was even better than we had hoped for!! We found ourselves wishing we could stay in the area for another few days, just to have an excuse to stay at this motel. It was just a small (8 room) roadside motel. But when you opened the door to your room, you felt like you were in a fancy boutique hotel. The floors were hardwood, with tiled floor in the huge bathroom (it even had a nightlight!). There was a full kitchen with a microwave, counter height fridge, oven, dishes, utensils, pots and pans, salt and pepper, dish soap, toaster, coffee pot, dish cloth and tea towel. Basically, it was all you could possibly hope to find in a self catering place. The bed had premium bedding with a fantastic mattress and pillow. The room was also nicely decorated. It was light and airy, with cross ventilation. There was a good AC unit, but we did not use it that night. Even with the windows open, it was very quiet at night and we had a fantastic night sleep.
An above average breakfast was included. There were three types of cereal, oatmeal, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit, fruit salad, assorted homemade muffins, bagels, toast, cereal bars. There were DVD's you could borrow to watch in your room for no charge.
We found the owner to be very friendly and helpful. The Evergreen was probably the second nicest motel we have ever stayed at - and we do a LOT of traveling. The only thing we would have liked to see was a proper table in the room. There was a round coffee table with two chairs by the window. You could eat at the desk, but it would have been nice to have a lunch in front of the extra large window. Oh, the room was medium sized. Our room had one Queen bed it in, so it seemed fairly roomy. Other family members had rooms with 2 Q beds in them and so they did not have the coffee table and chairs and their rooms seemed a bit more cramped.
If you go to Antigonish, be sure to book this place early. It is a real gem!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJPToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed overnight at this Inn and were very impressed by the clean, spacious rooms with complimentary everything, including breakfast. Very curtious staff, always willing to help with any problems. I really liked the large bathroom facilities, with ample towels and toiletaries. I would definitely stay there again, and would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Room_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had a large, very clean room with a lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a small hotel - only 8 rooms. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable, and had a full kitchen in it! Had we known, we would have picked up some sweet corn (which was in season) and cooked it! The bathroom was very large and well equipped. The front desk staff was very friendly; they had a selection of about 60 DVDs you could borrow for free; and breakfast, while not extensive, was adequate and included in the price of the room. They also had many of the menus from the restaurants around town, which made it very easy to select a place for dinner. About the only downside - if it is one, is that it isn't located near the 104 - but rather on the other side of town - but it was easy to find, and had a lovely view of the countryside, and was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKDJuniata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We just stayed one night as we were passing through the area. Great little roadside motel. Staff were excellent. Room was clean, quiet and had some little touches that you'd find in much more expensive places. And, a nice continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tovah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We completed a 10-day East Coast adventure and were heading back to Ontario with an overnighter at the Evergreen Inn. We had stayed at a couple of motels on our trip and were expecting another "run of the mill" motel experience. We were pleasantly surprised!! This inn is better than a number of well established name brand monikers and we had members of our group comment that it was the best place we stayed in, and we used venues such as Days Inn,Delta and Marriott! Way to go Evergreen Inn!! Keep up the great work!

Just as a note, the owners were away on vacation and the tremendous service was given by one of their employees!!!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank paluc502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
1.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 7 in Antigonish
188 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 7 in Antigonish
222 reviews
2 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#6 of 7 in Antigonish
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
StFX University Hotel
StFX University Hotel
#5 of 7 in Antigonish
8 reviews
1.3 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#7 of 7 in Antigonish
141 reviews
4 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 7 in Antigonish
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigonish Evergreen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigonish Evergreen Inn

Address: 295 Hawthorne St | 401 Hwy 245, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 1B9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range: $117 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Antigonish Evergreen Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located approximately 1.5 km from the downtown core of Antigonish and our well known university, St. Francis Xavier. We are known for our quiet yet "in-town" location, friendly, homey atmosphere, helpful service and a healthy continental breakfast. We offer clean and comfortable accommodations with all amenities you could require. Book today and relax in front of our new flat screen tv's with over 400 DVD's to chose from at no charge or sit outside and enjoy the view while reading and enjoy a flavored coffee from our evening treat cart. Our queen rooms have cozy fireplaces for your relaxation as well. All rooms have robes and slippers and ipod/iphone docking/charging stations. For the business travelers we have wifi and/or cabled connection with excellent strength. Visit us today - we promise you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Antigonish Evergreen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigonish Evergreen Hotel Antigonish
Antigonish Evergreen Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing