We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed and disgruntled.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homeward Inns of Canada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homeward Inns of Canada
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Antigonish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed and disgruntled.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had booked the room for 3 people and a small dog. When we arrived just after 9 pm, after being on the ferry from port aux basques all day, then driving 2 hours in the pouring rain, we were told that our dog could not stay. Apparently all of the pet friendly rooms were all booked to others, the front desk clerk was not at all courteous.She tried to get us to backtrack on the highway to another hotel. Now the room we had booked had no carpet but because there was carpet in the hallway(which was extremely old and dirty) we were not allowed to bring him to the room.We stayed at this hotel last year when we came through and did not experience any problems. The clerk did not even give us the voucher for breakfast we had to ask for it. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 643cuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewardInnsofCanada, Manager at Homeward Inns of Canada, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize that you were unhappy with your experience at the Homeward Inns of Canada. We do have a number of guest rooms that are pet free for the comfort of our guests with allergies. If you requested a pet room, we absolutely should have accommodated that request. As per our 100 percent customer service guarantee, please contact us via our website or by phone for a full refund of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    27
    14
    14
See reviews for
41
30
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Ontario
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a great lady and host Pearl is! When we arrived Pearl went out of her way to accomodate us to the enth degree. We not only received a larger room than expected, we also had the wonderul surprise of a full breakfast right next door. Pearl even went the extra mile to personally drop off our breakfast coupons to our room (along with the best dog ever, Sydney). Much recommended if you are passing by or staying a few nights. Oh, by the way Pearl, we did go to see your brother Cisco to go whale watching. A great experience. Hope to come back on our next travels to the East Coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamsterstuey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

While my dad and I were on our way to Newfoundland, we stopped at Homeward Inns before arriving to North Sydney. I was very happy to see a cute sheltie sleeping on a couch at the front office and the staff was very friendly. They even called us at the room to make sure everything was alright. The only problem I could possibly think of is that there wasn't enough space in the two double-bed room. The breakfast was included and I found it very tasty( at the Snow Queen)!

Bonus: You could even bring your pets!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brigittethetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed at this motel several times. We were pleasantly surprised by the addition of a hot breakfast to our stay. Our room was well maintained, clean and meet our expectations.the staff was very friendly and helpful. This is not a 5 star resort, but is certainly a great value for the cost of your stay. The motel is a very short walk from St Francis Xavier University. There are several fast food restaurants very close.
I recommend calling the motel directly for the best rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is our second stay at the Inn and were happy with our stay both times...Pearl made sure we got we were comfortable and even upgraded our room because I was in a sling and she wanted me to have extra room at no extra charge....we will make this our regular stop over every year....there should be more people like pearl in the hospitality business.....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesterflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Homeward Inn where we met Pearl when checking in - we had two rooms one for us and one for our friends. The Inn was immaculate and Pearl went way beyond the the call of duty to make us comfortable. She is truely a gem and will always be remembered by her kindness. She is definitely an asset to the manager and his Inn. Would definitely stay there again and breakfast at the Snow Queen was wonderful - another very nice couple. Thank you Pearl for making our stay a wonderful experience ! Robin and Dave Slaby, Susan and Dave Gordon from Florida

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rsbinski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed here with my family on the way back from P.E.I. And it was definitely not worth the cost. It is a very run down motel with a lot of work needed. It is also a very ugly area of town with terrible views from the window. You had to go to this little restaurant for your breakfast and the food was pretty bad. I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francoise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewardInnsofCanada, Manager at Homeward Inns of Canada, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at the Homeward Inns of Canada. As stated in all of our rooms and in our lobby, our property has a 100% percent satisfaction guarantee. Please contact us via our website, or by phone for a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antigonish hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
1.3 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keppoch Inn
Keppoch Inn
#10 of 12 in Antigonish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeward Inns of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeward Inns of Canada

Property: Homeward Inns of Canada
Address: 41 James Street, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 1R6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homeward Inns of Canada 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Homeward Inns of Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeward Inns Of Canada Hotel Antigonish
Homeward Inns Of Canada Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing