We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homeward Inns of Canada
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claymore Inn(Antigonish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Motel(Port Hastings)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
34
40
33
17
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
40
33
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent priceroom keywithin walking distanceweekend stayroom was largenight's sleeppearluniversitypetshalifax
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 143 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived late, and left early - so we didn't spend much time here. We were two couples seeking two rooms and were generously offered the two-bedroom suite above the office at the same rate as two rooms, which suited us well.

The suite had a kitchen and table, and living room, as well as two spacious bedrooms. It smelled a little damn up there, but opening the windows cleared the air - perhaps they hadn't rented it out recently.

Overall, very reasonable accommodations for the price and great location (next to convenience store, McDonalds, Tim Hortons) on our way through town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The only motel we didn't like of the six motels for our time in Nova Scotia. The real kicker was the lack of water pressure for the shower. The bed was comfortable but we didn't like the vinyl flooring and the TV was off to the side of the bed and around the corner of the chair. Breakfast at the Snow Queen (included in motel rate) was a waste of our time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sawdustsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewardInnsofCanada, General Manager at Homeward Inns of Canada, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize that you were unhappy with your experience at the Homeward Inns of Canada. We have made very recent upgrades that will provide more consistent high levels of water pressure in all of our guest units. A number of our rooms have laminate flooring to accommodate guests that have allergy issues, or prefer rooms without carpeting. As per our 100 percent customer service guarantee, please contact us via our website for a full refund for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The owner was absolutely rude beyond belief. I would call it worst customer service I have ever experienced, but there was no service! Threatening to bill me for a plumber for his clogged sink! Refused to look at the problem, refused to let the plumber speak to me, yelled at his staff and refused to let them speak, and my favourite part - has small claims forms at the desk. Prior to this I was willing to forgive the gap under our room door to the outside, the 24 degree heat that wouldn't shut off, the one picnic table that collapsed, the so called room clean up that existed of someone changing the garbage! Feel bad for the staff - what an example!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewardInnsofCanada, General Manager at Homeward Inns of Canada, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at the Homeward Inns of Canada. It is unfortunate that you did not mention the challenges you were experiencing when our customer service agent made a courtesy call to your room. We would have been happy to show you other guest rooms or try and fix the issues you had encountered. Also, if any of these challenges had been mentioned during your two night stay, we would have been happy to provide you a full refund as per our 100 percent customer satisfaction guarantee. We are very proud of our entire housekeeping department. They are held to an extremely high standard and receive many excellent comments from satisfied guests. As with the majority of hotels, it is the policy of our property to hold guests responsible for damages incurred through unruly behavior and to ensure that all of our guests receive a comfortable experience free from noise and interruptions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My sister, close cousins and I all live in different provinces and decided to get together for a weekend. We stayed at the Homeward Inn in Antigonish and were very pleasantly surprised with our room. Aside from a suite at an upscale hotel, this was easily the largest hotel room I've stayed in. It was very spacious even with 2 queen sized beds, a hide-a-bed, 2 arms chairs with a table and a large dresser. The room also had a large flat screen TV and mini-fridge. The bathroom was a great size with plenty of towels and amenities for 4 girls. Not only was the room great, but there was also a complimentary breakfast in the morning.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and I will be sure to return to this location on my next visit :)

Room Tip: I believe that we had room 107. It was around the back and on a corner, likely making it one of the larger, quieter rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanaDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Got storm stayed in Antigonish at the Homeward Inn. Decided to try our luck at the Homeward inn. Nothing but awesome hospitality and first class service. Rooms were great! Very efficient staff and got a complimentary breakfast at the snow queen the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jevin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews