We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homeward Inns of Canada
Nearby Hotels
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Inn(New Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claymore Inn(Antigonish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveler rating
34
40
33
17
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
40
33
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent priceroom keywithin walking distanceweekend stayroom was largenight's sleeppearluniversitypetshalifax
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 143 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had an unexpected stay in Antigonish during our recent family vacation and we choose the Homeward Inns of Canada. It was a nice hotel, the room was clean. The hotel is located close to several restaurants. Overall it ws a decent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The floor is filthy in room 131. Our feet were covered in dirt; they were brown after we had walked barefeet. The washroom reaked of urine. They said breakfast was not included eventhough the sign outside stated 'hot breakfast.' Not worth $120.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toronto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewardInnsofCanada, General Manager at Homeward Inns of Canada, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. At the Homeward Inns of Canada, the cleanliness of our rooms is paramount and we are surprised that our room did not meet your expectations. As stated in a personalized letter in all of our rooms, we have a 100 percent Customer Service Guarantee. It is unfortunate you did not make our customer service representative aware of these issues at the time of your stay so that we could have changed your room immediately and provided a full refund. As noted on our road signs and at our front desk, breakfast is served Sunday through Thursday. As per our 100 percent Customer Service Guarantee, please call our toll free number at 1 800 251 0008 to receive a full refund for you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel was clean though outdated; it will do the job for a quick overnight stay. It has plenty of restaurants around within a few moments drive or walk. The front desk clerk was much uninformed about this small town; couldn’t give recommendations. As an out-of-towner, passing through I would have appreciated a map more clear directions to places. Overall she seemed disinterested in doing anything other than getting us out of the lobby, lots of one-word responses.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewardInnsofCanada, General Manager at Homeward Inns of Canada, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our property. Like Cleanliness, customer service is extremely important to us and helps to enhance the stay of our Guests. I apologize that you found your experience with our front desk staff to be underwhelming. As per our 100 % Guest Satisfaction policy, please contact us via our website to receive a full refund. We hope you chose to stay with us again so that we can improve upon your last stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed twice at this motel and both times have found the staff to be very accommodating and friendly. We chose Homeward Inns because we could walk to St FX, which is only 5+ minutes away by foot. Our most recent stay was May 5th and 6th, 2012 for my son's graduation from St FX. Our previous stay was in early July 2008, when we toured ST FX before my son and a friend were to start university there in the fall. The first room we had in 2008 was very large and modern, with queen size beds, easy chairs, tv, large bathroom, ac, all very clean and comfortable. I had booked for 3 that time. For the grad weekend, I booked just for myself with an extra bed in case someone else needed a place to stay. As it turned out 2 people needed a place to stay, and because it was the grad weekend, we had lots of visitors too. The room was adequate for my needs but was small and cramped for more people and vistors too, but then I didn't book expecting a crowd. The room had WIFI, and was clean and warm (it was a very cold rainy weekend), and there was lots of hot water. The beds were comfortable. It was quite adequate for our needs and the motel is next door to a Tim Horton's. The best thing of all was that we walked to all the grad events at ST FX, and didn't have to worry about finding parking when we got there. Yes!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with queen size beds.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here with some friends recently to attend games at St. FX. Great location, very close to the university, and restaurants. It isn't fancy, but is clean, convenient, comfortable, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews