We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stop for the night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritime Inn Antigonish

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place to stop for the night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stopped here on our way from the Eastern Shore to the Cape Breton Highlands park. It was an unseasonably hot day (90F) and the air conditioned room was a great relief! The ability to park right next to our room prevented having to schlep our luggage through the hotel.

Once we were in our room, we ate at the hotel restaurant which had excellent food.

We accidentally left our spare camera battery and charger in the room, but were able to pick them up on our way back through town. The staff and service were excellent. When asked where we could get ice for our cooler, we were told to just fill it up at the hotel ice machine! (another pleasant surprise)

Room Tip: Parking is right next to first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBearNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntAdmin, General Manager at Maritime Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review. I am pleased to here that your visit to our property was positive.
We take pride in our services and enjoy extending our unique hospitality to our guests.

Again, I thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shawn Boudreau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    67
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
48
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were fortunate to just drive in at 7PM and get a room for that night. The room was very clean, and spacious. Love the reading area adjacent to the front desk in the lobby. The staff was pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxieMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here on our drive through to Cape Breton. The room is big I love the drive up and unload next to your room idea. Clean and a huge tv. I think it is a good value compared to others. I like the restaurant in the hotel It was pouring rain and we could just walk into the restaurant and enjoy a nice warm home-cooked meal without going back out in the rain. The only suggestion I have is that the front desk clerk didn't seem to have any information on the happenings of the town. We would have loved to spend some more time and money in Antigonish before we drove onto Cape Breton but there was no written information and we didn't seem to get much info when we asked.
Just a suggestion but otherwise great spot.

Room Tip: I got a lower level room just drive up and unload your bags - you park right outside of your room it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burrowing_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntAdmin, General Manager at Maritime Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review, all reviews enable us to improve our customer service. I apologize for the lack of information available to you during your stay. We do have many brochures and travel guides available at our front desk. This is not typical of our customer service, and again I apologize.
I would to thank you for your gracious comments about our property and look forward to welcoming you again, in the near future.

Sincerely,
Shawn Boudreau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I felt I paid a high price for the king room I booked for 2 nights. It was not a busy weekend, my car was practically the only car parked on the left Wing of the hotel. The bed is huge and comfortable which I prefer, the room is too small and needs a couple more furnishings like an extra small table and a coffee maker area. If you're on a business trip, it may be your only option in town, but try other hotels as well and make sure you get a good rate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntAdmin, General Manager at Maritime Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, all reviews are greatly appreciated.

We are pleased to hear that you found the bed large and comfortable.

Our rooms are furnished with top quality, beds and case goods, and we appreciate your observations on possible improvements to our room layout, and design.

It is unfortunate that, you feel your room rate was too high.
Our room rates a based on our quality of services, and products. We feel that the rates that we charge are fair, and necessary, to continue to provide our distinct quality of service and products.

Again, I thank you for your review. All reviews enable us to serve our guests better, and we hope you will return to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shawn Boudreau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Maritime Inn Antigonish for seven nights. The hotel was extremely clean and very comfortable. Even though it is on the main street of Antigonish it is very quiet. It is quite conveniently located. It was a very busy trip for us and it was a great place to wind down and relax at the end of a busy day. The staff is very attentive and accommodating! The restaurant was excellent as well.

My only suggestion for improvement would be to upgrade the TV to a flat screen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntAdmin, General Manager at Maritime Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was very comfortable and relaxing. We hope you will have a chance to visit again, perhaps this time on vacation, instead of work?

I also wan to let you know that we are now, "fully" equipped with flat screen televisions!

As of the third week in May, of 2013, we have upgraded all of our televisions, to flat screens.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to your return to our property.

Sincerely,

Shawn Boudreau
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Perfect location in the middle of town on the main drag. Extremely clean throughout. One of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in, plus four huge firm amazing pillows. Had two great sleeps, which I often don't do when travelling.

The restaurant is great in terms of service (great bunch of gals working there) and a good basic selection for breakfast and lunch. Nice touch was the vegetable "medley" at dinner, which instead of being the predicted frozen veggies steamed, was made up of fresh veggies (peppers, onions, etc.) that seemed vaguely charred as if stir fryed in an iron pan or something - yummmm. The small steak I ordered with a couple of shrimp was great too.

Staff all around were terrific and very friendly, other than fellow who initially checked me in, who was sort of indifferent but nothing that would keep me away.

Sometimes it's nice to have a drive-up room, which I had on this trip, and it was easy and convenient.

Great wifi connection.

When in Antigonish I'd go back to Maritime Inn for sure to stay and also for an easy, good, reasonably priced meal. Great spot!

Room Tip: I had room 106 which was drive-up, close to the front desk, ice machine and pop machine through an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntAdmin, General Manager at Maritime Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I would like to thank you for your wonderful review.

It is really motivating to hear you speak of our property, with such enthusiasm.
We strive for a high level of service each and every chance we get, and I am glad to hear that we have met expectations, in almost every aspect of your stay.

I would like to apologize for the indifferent attitude, of one of our staff, while staying at our property, I assure you that this is not typical of our customer service, and again, I do sincerely apologize.

Again, I am pleased to hear your stay was great, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Thanks again, for the great review, all reviews are greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Shawn Boudreau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was booked into this hotel by my secretary and was very disappointed when I saw it on my ittinerary as I has stayed there a number of years ago and was less than impressed. When I got there, I couldn' was the me place. Clean modern rooms, a beautiful cozy checkin area and a restaurant with many gastronomic delights. Well done folks!

Room Tip: Come here. It's excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntAdmin, General Manager at Maritime Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review!

I am happy to hear that you were quite impressed with our property. As you have noticed, we have recently completed extensive renovations, not only to our guest rooms, but to the entire property. and I am pleased that you approve.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

P.S. (Thank your secretary for us, she is obviously a great ambassador for our property.)

Sincerely,
Shawn Boudreau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigonish
1.5 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
13.1 mi away
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in McArras Brook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn Antigonish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Antigonish

Property: Maritime Inn Antigonish
Address: 158 Main St, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2B7, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Inn Antigonish 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, contemporary lodging to suit your needs. Whether you're with us on business, or staying as part of your vacation, we're happy to offer a variety of accommodations to ensure a perfect fit. Enjoy our four star amenities with all the charms Antigonish has to offer. Our cozy, full service location in the centre of this bustling university town is within walking distance to campus, walking trails, shopping, theatre and special events. Choose from spacious double rooms, convenient drive-up rooms, Premiere rooms upstairs, or our 2 bedroom suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maritime Inn Antigonish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Antigonish Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing