We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claymore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Claymore Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Port Hilford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were lucky and stayed in the suite which was handicapped friendly. The great part was that the floor was laminate wood so easy to roll my wheelchair. It had 2 rooms and a bathroom with accessible features. The staff was very pleasant. The included breakfast (voucher) was very good. The bed was a little hard though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
23
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champlain, Quebec
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here while on a jobsite in Antigonish. The hotel itself is kind of dated especially the rooms I was in. The bedding, sofa and furniture seems out of the 70's but they served their purposes anyways. The bathroom was the spot that needed the most TLC as it was very dated. I was looking at staying in one of their apartments but there were none available for my stay unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel_Germain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingonish
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and stayed at the Claymore in November of this year, The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room included a breakfast voucher at the Justamere Cafe next to the Hotel. The food was excellent. Although this is an older property the owners have made renovations and upgrades that have improved the visitor's stay. Overall very good accommodation in comparison to other places in Antigonish,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Claymore Inn is a decent place to stay. The location is within walking distance of a few restaurants and a grocery store, and a breakfast voucher is included with your stay. The rooms are outdated and could be cleaner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I guess this would be a pretty standard 1.5 star hotel but they are calling it a 3.5 star and charging 150.00 a night for a basic double room! The walls were paper thin, and the rooms were not looked after. The bed was super uncomfortable.... Sagging in the middle. Breakfast service in the restaurant was slow. Everyone was nice, but sometimes nice isn't enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antigonish hotels

DeForest, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Close to downtown restaurants but the on-site restaurant was just fine too. Very friendly and professional staff. We were having trouble logging in to their Wi-Fi. Even though we told them it was not a big concern for us, they had their IT person come in on his day off. He made repairs to the access point and everything worked fine after that. Very clean rooms!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The staff was excellent. The room was very comfortable and the price was very good.My wife and I would recommend this hotel to anyone without any hesitation. To our surprise they even had a special on the price for the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
0.6 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Antigonish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Inn

Property: Claymore Inn
Address: 137 Church St, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Claymore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Claymore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Antigonish
Claymore Inn Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing