We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and very comfortablee”
Review of Claymore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Claymore Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here over night as we had a very early appointment the next morning at the local hospital. It was very quiet and comfortable. The children enjoyed the pool too.They were very good and said If we weren't going to be back for check out time that was fine just to let them know. We received vouchers for the restaurant for breakfast which was excellent. All round very good and would recommend to anyone, we would stay again. Also they gave us an excellent discount when they knew it was for a hospital appointment saving us around $ 38 . Very good place to stay .

Room Tip: We were on the top floor over looking some cottages and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillian323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Enjoyed our quiet stay here. Staff were friendly. Good food and good service at the restaurant. Hotel located adjacent to a mall so can easily access a grocery store & other stores. Felt room rate was higher than average

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul60S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is so in need of TLC that they have forgotten how to dish out the same to their guests. But, if cleanliness is at the top of your priorities, this one will probably do. The floors are wooden and are mopped daily! (I witnessed this upon arrival and the staff confirmed this is so. ) The shower, tub, and fixtures were antiquated and difficult to adjust. There is an indoor pool (waaaay too cold) and a hot tub (waaaay too hot) and a sauna (the dry type). The location is in a parking lot with a sporting goods store as the mainstay. There is a restaurant, which is ranked #4 on Tripadvisor, but I do wonder how they got this. Our experience in the restaurant was, well, disastrous. In all fairness, we were there the weekend of the Highland Games and I think the 3/4 full restaurant was just more than they could handle. There were fireworks in the parking lot the night we stayed and no one warned us -- I woke up under attack, or so I thought, but then enjoyed watching from the window in the room. My guess is that there are slim pickin's in Antigonish for both hotels and restaurants, so this choice is probably not a bad one. We opted not to have breakfast and quickly moved on.

Room Tip: If you stay on the ground floor you will hear every footstep from the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Tank you very much for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your experience included a number of issues where we were not able to meet with your expectations. I will be reviewing your comments with our management and staff to take whatever measures are necessary to make improvements to our facilities and service. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments about our high standards for cleanliness.

Ernie Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped in with no reservation with one day of travelling behind us and another to go. Great experience for us (family of 5). The room was big enough to accomodate 2 adults, a teen and two children. Indoor pool was great. Unlike other places we've stayed, the pool had great hours for the kids to swim before an early departure with a day of driving ahead. Complimentary towels at the pool too. We received discounts for breakfast the next day at the restaurant. The food was great — didn't need to stop for lunch (your mileage may vary).

Service at the front deak was very efficent and friendly.

Location: Yes, the inn is located right off of a mall parking lot but the location is very quiet.I had no issues about safety while I was checking in at 11:30 pm.

Strongly recommend for families travelling. Wanting a comfortable place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Stig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your positive experiences during your recent stay at our hotel. It is gratifying to know that we were able to contribute positively to your travel experience in Nova Scotia. I sincerely hope that you will continue to enjoy touring our province and that you will come again.

Ernie Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived later in the evening with no reservation. The front desk lady was very friendly & gave us a room discount as well as a $7.00 coupon for each of us towards breakfast the next morning. The hotel is older but does the trick. Our room was clean. We also checked out the pool/ hot tub, they were fine but full of a lot of chemicals. Our breakfast the next day was very good & the staff again was very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments on our facilities and services. I am especially happy to hear that our staff made you feel welcome by extending true Nova Scotia hospitality. I am proud of them and I will pass on your compliments. Please come again.

Ernie Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked through the nearby visitors center and got a discount. When we arrived at the hotel, they even upgraded us to a better room without any additional charges. Nice rooms, but small. Location next to shopping and restaurants. Breakfast in the attached cafe. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice indoor pool. We would book it again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 448rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments on the facilities and services at The Claymore Inn & Suites. I am especially pleased that you found our staff to be welcoming and hospitable. I do hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again. It will be a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Ernie Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived very very late in the evening after lots of driving with no room reserved and were pleasantly greeted with wonderful service, checked in and made to feel welcome despite it being almost midnight. We were given a reduced rate for our late arrival. The staff was eager to tell us about the towns history and the tartans associated with it. The room was clean comfortable on a family friendly budget. Necessities in place, nothing extravagant which would not be expected at that rate. We also were provided with vouchers to cover part of our breakfast cost, we even misplaced them and were provided another set in the morning and reminded not worry and to enjoy our vacation by staff. So again the staff interaction in the morning deserve the highest compliment. We greatly recommend the fish cakes with eggs and waffle with NS maple syrup and fruit and very good coffee. While we dined another couple ate nearby and wanted to find a place to order some smoked salmon to be shipped home and the restaurant staff was very helpful as they researched and helped arranged this for them from a local shop. If you want a comfortable family friendly atmosphere stay at the Claymore!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandGreg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. It certainly makes me very proud of them. I will certainly pass on your compliments. I am pleased that your experience at The Claymore Inn and The Justamere Cafe was so positive and I hope you will visit us again.

Ernie Curry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
2 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
187 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
141 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
63 reviews
4.2 mi away
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
#1 of 11 in Antigonish
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Inn

Address: 137 Church St, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range: $107 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Claymore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Claymore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Antigonish
Claymore Inn Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing