We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”
Review of Claymore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Claymore Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It was much better since last time I stayed in 2009. The rooms were much more up to date and the beds were more comfortable. The lobby still looks a bit dated but it suits it. The on site restaurant was great and the breakfasts were fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gino234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give your impressions on our hotel and restaurant. I am pleased that you found improvements compared to previous visits and I want to ensure you that we will be continuing our efforts to make further upgrades. Thank you also for your favorable comments on the Justamere Cafe's food and service. It is definitely an asset to our overall operation.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
26
23
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were in Antigonish last week for our son's graduation from St. FX University but did not think we would need an overnight reservation. At the last minute we starting checking to get one and found everything was booked for miles around in that area. However, Claymore Inn were able to come through with a lovely room which included fridge, microwave, two great reading chairs (which is always high on list of priorites for a hotel room) and all the other amenties you would expect from a good hotel. Also, their in-house restaurant has high quality food especially at the breakfast we were able to leisurely enjoy the next morning. Also it is located in a small shopping mall area which includes a liquor store, other restaurants and drugstores, etc. so anything you may have forgotten is only seconds away. We had a great stay and would highly recommend the Claymore and we would certainly stay there again when we are in Antigonish

Room Tip: If reading is a priority, ask for room with two reading chairs and good lighting when you are bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am very pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant experience on your recent stay with us. Your positive comments are an encouragement for us to continue our efforts in providing high quality accommodations and restaurant service. We are looking forward to the privilege of having you as a guest in the future.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Claymore Inn this past weekend for our daughter's graduation. We could not have chosen better accommodations. The rooms were spotless, the staff amazing, and the restaurant was very good and convenient. The Inn is located adjacent to a small shopping mall which includes a liquor store, grocery store and a pharmacy. We used all three...champagne, snacks, and advil the following morning. It was a great weekend! Thank you so much Claymore Inn staff! Actually, thank you to all of the people in Antigonish, you are so hospitable!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fine. Clean and simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostAntigonish, Owner at Claymore Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind words.They give us the encouragement to continue our efforts to provide high quality accommodations and service to all of our guests. Our staff are often complimented on their friendliness and hospitality which makes me proud of them. I hope we have the privilege of serving you again in the future.

Ernie Curry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was there in 2012. I went there for a conference. I found a nice room with a clean bed. Staffs were so good. Breakfast was very nice. I liked it. It is close to everything. Pool was very nice and warm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I found the Claymore Inn when I was looking for a place to stay. The tourist information was closed for the season when I arrived. As I had no balance on my mobile phone and apparently 1-800 numbers were not free of charge, I didn't want to look around for a place to stay.

I didn't regret staying the night at the Claymore Inn. It's a good accomodation. The room was clean and big enough for me with TV, bathroom (shower/WC) and double bed.
During the summer, there are certainly a few other options, but I can recommend this hotel. There are other amenities (a small pool), but I didn't use those.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thor_74HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were in town for a badminton tournament and decided to pay the extra for a higher end room. (Rather than one of the motels along the highway) A pool, spa area, free wi-fi and breakfast were indeed added incentives for booking. We were disappointed to learn the pool area was out of service when we arrived, and we were unable to get logged into the wi-fi for several hours. (The friendly staff did not know why, perhaps at that time there were too many users?) The room had been updated in recent years and the carpet removed. I liked this feature, as so many times hotel carpets show their wear and bother my allergies. Our room included two vouchers for $7 off our breakfast. The cafe had a good selection of items, and was presented well. Unfortunately, they don't open until 8 on the weekend so we almost had to for go the discount and go elsewhere as we were supposed to start playing at 8:30 but we opted to wait and eat quickly. The staff were great to help that along.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherJ902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was my second trip to Antigonish and the hotel I had stayed in previously was booked. The staff there recommended the Claymore Inn, and I am very happy that they did. The room was clean and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was fantastic. The Inn is right by the mall and restaurants. Easy access to the highway. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snickers633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
1.9 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
537 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Antigonish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Inn

Property: Claymore Inn
Address: 137 Church St, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Claymore Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Claymore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Antigonish
Claymore Inn Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing