We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth year in a row and it never disappoints...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Upper Clements Cottages
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our fourth consecutive year staying at UCC, and it did not disappoint. We book with 3+ other families each year just prior to the summer season beginning. The area is perfect for kids - you can walk over to Upper Clements Park, you can bring their bikes and they can drive around the road without concern for cars, you can let the kids walk over to the playground and easily keep an eye on them from your cottage or the fire pit. This year we discovered the walk to the water and it makes a perfect jogging path along the old railway tracks. It is the kick off to our summer every year and our children look forward to the trip every year. They call it "our cottage".

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnaedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 53 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed here and found the cottage clean and comfortable. The beds were sooo comfortable, with firm pillows. Having a full kitchen made our stay so much easier, we could have our own food and snacks whenever we felt like it. The sitting area had a couch and chair and we could play cards or watch the flatscreen tv.

And going outside with bread, calling the bunnies and having them come to us was very cool!!

A great stay, with welcoming hosts!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSoxFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed at UCC four times now, and each time gets better if that's possible!!! The cottages are spotless, cozy, and we love the bunnies, goats, and the sparkling clean pool!

Margaret and Gary are like extended family, wonderful, friendly, and a joy to deal with!!!

I can't recommend this place enough, it's our vacation home away from home. I have heard nothing but wonderful things from other guests, and seriously, if you've heard otherwise, all I can say is go stay for yourself and see how wrong they were.

My children ask me every month how much longer till we go back to upper Clements cottages!

It's a must stay if travelling to the valley :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dentalgirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend getaway with friends to Upper Clements Cottages. We had two cottages for two families, which resulted in over $400 revenue for this place. The owners are as rude as they come, and made us feel very unwelcome!! From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out. We will never stay there again and encourage others travelling in this area to look at other properties close by. Give your hard earned cash to a small business who values your business and knows a thing or two about customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 602TesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

We were quite puzzled by this review since, at time of check out, these two families wanted to book a night for each family for next summer. Perhaps their disgruntlement comes from our policy of not accepting reservations for a single night a year in advance. We are a small property with only 7 cottages and, like many cottage accommodations, we do have a minimum of two night reservations in the high season. We take single night reservations for 1 night openings that occur in our booking schedule. The families were advised to send an email with dates that they might be interested in for summer 2014 and we would notify them next summer if single night availability comes up in their time frame, for 2 cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was very excited to book in at these cottages, with their location being right next to Upper Clements Park. Upon arrival we booked in and took our kids over to our cottage to get settled in for our 2 day vacation.When we pre booked it was for 2 adults and 4 children. When we set sail for our trip we brought 2 more children with us knowing we couldn't leave a 4 and 7 year old behind.Knowing we were going to a cottage we didn't see the big deal. BUT a big deal it was for Margaret the owner. As we are outside with the children Margaret comes stomping over and says ''Are those all your kids" we replied yes.She quickly said ''we don't allow more than 4 kids and since you already paid I can't kick you out now''.We were speechless, the kids were already enjoying the bunnies and we had a 5 hour drive from PEI to get there.She made us feel very unwelcomed for our entire stay. We paid for our cottage 200.00 a night, she didn't give it to us!!!!!We never ask for an extra towel, blanket,pillow or anything. We left the cottage the same way we entered it.Completly clean and tidy.As we left the kids said can we come back next year but it was obvious they don't want to see us again and we don't want to ever see them again.KINDNESS goes a long way..So Margaret maybe you should find a personality for people who takes extra children..Kids are what vacation is all about especially where your located..2 extra kids didn't harm your cottages and we didn't ask for anything extra.We will give you lots of free advertisement on PEI.We will be back to the park but at the MOUNTAIN GAP.....ALREADY BOOKED IN AND THEY ARE KID FRIENDLY..4+ kids. HAVE A NICE DAY MARGARET!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Konner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

As a family oriented business, we certainly pride ourselves on being 'children friendly'. Our cottages are equipped for 6 people (beds, linens, dishes, etc.) We do not take reservations for 8 people in a cottage and are happy to refer people to other establishments that can accommodate that number of people in a single unit. In the past we have made exceptions in the case of a family having 2 adults and 5 children - but this is disclosed to us at time of booking. In our email confirmations to each guest we clearly state our policy, 'Please note that this reservation is for the number of people listed above. If there is a change in the number of people (adults or children), please advise us prior to arrival. Also note that we have a maximum of 6 people per cottage.' We were not made aware of any change in the number of people for this guests's reservation and it was just noticed outside when we politely asked if all the grandchildren (6) were theirs, and pointed out our policy of maximum 6 per cottage. We also asked if they required extra linens for the extra people. We certainly did not mean to come across as rude; however, we do have a policy and have the expectation that people will respect that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was my 4th time staying here. Super kid friendly. Cottages are more like a home and not a single detail missing. I would live there is I could :) Who doesn't want to stay right next to an amusement park...love love love this place

Room Tip: We always chose cabin #7...nice large area for children to play )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brentana98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

These cabins are a great way to 'home base' your visit, as the location is central to LOTS in the Annapolis area. With a quick trip to a local market, you can settle in for your stay and enjoy day trips out and about, or if you prefer, hang in and grill, visit the bunnies, have a swim, etc. The cabins are super convenient and the owners are some of the most friendly folks you'll ever meet. For a great view of the river/dykes, be sure to take a short hike down to the waterfront!

Room Tip: Free wifi reaches all the cabins so you're good to go in that respect. Have stayed in three diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoshisOnSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you folks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
4.8 mi away
Crown Cove Cottages
Crown Cove Cottages
#2 of 4 in Granville Ferry
27 reviews
11.2 mi away
Dockside Suites
Dockside Suites
#1 of 8 in Digby
192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Mountain Top Cottages & Campground
Mountain Top Cottages & Campgrou...
#1 of 4 in Granville Ferry
35 reviews
3.4 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Clements Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Clements Cottages

Address: 3059 Highway 1, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: $106 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Upper Clements Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale 2 bedroom fully equipped cottages overlooking the beautiful Annapolis River. Come and enjoy the various attractions of the Valley. Whether it is for a family vacation, outdoor activities or a romantic get away, our year round facilities will satisfy your needs. Join in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Upper Clements Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Clements Cottages Hotel Annapolis Royal
Upper Clements Cottages Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing