We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Cottages, Highly Recommended!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Clements Cottages
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best Cottages, Highly Recommended!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My family and I were lucky enough to stay at Upper Clements Cottages on several occasions and I can honestly say that they really are the best vacation destination! The cottages are very nice, extremely clean and as another reviewer has stated the owners really have thought of everything! They are in the perfect location, right next to Upper Clements Park & very close to Historic Annapolis Royal and nearby beautiful Digby. I would highly recommend Upper Clements Cottages for ANYONE .. they are very appropriate for families but also for a romantic get away or trip with friends. Also I have to say that the owners of Upper Clements Cottages are the nicest people on the planet and extremely helpful in every way! Everyone should ignore the one bad comment because there must have been a misunderstanding - Margaret & Gary are fantastic and very accommodating! Everyone - do yourself a favour & if you are visiting the Annapolis area - stay at Upper Clements Cottages :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix, NS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The two-bedroom cottages are the best in Nova Scotia ... spacious, everything you want or need in the kitchen, clean (extremely clean), homey, comfortable, crisp linens (air-dryed on the clothesline), verandah, view of the Annapolis River, lovely pool ... I could go on and on!!! The owners deserve two thumbs up for the care they give to their establishment and their guests. Upper Clements Cottages are next door to Upper Clements Theme Park and very close to many Annapolis Valley tourist attractions ... Port Royal, Fort Anne, whale & bird watching (to name just a few). Four generations of my family (great-grandmother, grandmother, mother and daughter) comfortably stayed here and can geniunely attest to these excellent cottages. We can't wait to go back! Oh, and my granddaughter loved the bunnies and the goats.
PS Make sure you stay for at least a few days!!!

Room Tip: All cottages have two bedrooms (and a pull-out couch in the living room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Had reservations for 2 nights made months previous for family gathering to celebrate an 80th birthday. Arrived to have to explain who we were 3 times before she could find our reservation. (they only have 7 cottages so how hard could it have been). Then to be told that our reservation was only 1 night and not the 2 booked and confirmed. Then as we were filling out the forms she demanded "are those your children" we said no. The next thing out of her mouth was "is that your dog, because we do not allow dogs". Once again we said no. Then she said there will be a $25 sir charge since your stay is only 1 night. The fact that our reservation was for 2 and they were only honoring 1 night along with ripping us off with a bogus surcharge made this a very unpleasant------ experience. The cottages are nice but the staff are rude to the extreme and that they charge more than a high end hotel in any major city would for a night makes this a place we would never return to , nor would we ever recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanthonythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
First of all, this reservation was not made by this person himself, it was made by his mother-in-law, whose 80th birthday party they were coming to celebrate. The mother-in-law, who is actually a neighbor, came to our property on May 1st to make this reservation, as well as 2 more reservations for multiple nights for her grown grandchildren. At the time I questioned her about the one night booking for her daughter and son-in-law and she confirmed that they were ‘only coming from Halifax’, and that was all that was required. A confirmation letter was sent to our neighbor May 2nd confirming all 3 reservations. Regarding have to ‘explain who we were 3 times’ – there were a number of other guests in the office at the same time and this gentleman arrived stating, “I don’t know what name this reservation is in – it could be my name or it could be my mother-in-law’s name”. His reservation card was made up and ready for him – it was just a matter of figuring out what name I was looking for. As to my question of children – we often have guests arrive with additional people so we always ask how many adults and children, and since there were a number of people in the office and I didn’t know if they may have brought their grandchildren with them – this happens and more linens may have been required. There was also someone here with a dog and, since we do not allow dogs, it was an appropriate question, especially since he didn’t make the reservation with us directly and may not have been aware of our no pet policy. On to the $25.00 surcharge – there was no mention of a surcharge on check-in and none was charged. In fact, if this gentleman would check our website, he will see he was given a discounted rate. Our normal rate for a one night booking on a weekend night would be $205.00, plus tax. He was charged $165.00, plus tax. Upon checkout this person’s wife told my husband that she and her husband were up until about 2:00 am preparing food for the birthday party and the kitchen in the cottage worked well for them. As far as we knew, they were happy, with the exception of wanting a 2 night stay – and as his wife stated at check-in – “sometimes Mom gets confused.” Imagine our shock to see this review. Perhaps in future he should make his own travel arrangements or at least ask to see a confirmation. We work very hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, and other reviews show that we are highly successful with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family stays at Upper Clements Cottages every July and October – it’s now a family tradition – four years and counting! Our family books several cottages and we LOVE it there! We go in early July when Upper Clements Park opens - we get to spend a day at the park, then relax at the cottage afterwards.

Gary & Margaret are like family to us - they make our stay SO relaxing and enjoyable. Gary and Margaret are the best hosts - so hospitable and friendly - they really do everything they can to make your family feel welcome and enjoy your time at Upper Clements. The cottages are immaculate, cozy and definitely a 'home away from home'. The beds are comfy and cozy. The cottages are well-equipped – Gary & Margaret have thought of everything – from all the kitchen utensils, pots/pans, wine glasses, etc. – you even have your own BBQ! You don't have to bring anything besides your groceries! They have great fire-pits (made from washer tubs) – VERY affordable firewood (only a few dollars for a huge box!) - they even have marshmallow roasting sticks for the kids! They have a large pot/burner if you are planning a lobster or corn boil. They also have a selection of DVDs and board games for the kids if you happen to run into inclement weather. As I said – they’ve thought of EVERYTHING!

The kids absolutely LOVE the cottages - from the large grounds, the playground, the beautiful pool, and of course - the ANIMALS! They spend a lot of time feeding the goats and trying to feed (and chase!) the bunnies. Gary & Margaret even had the kids help feed the baby goats during one of our visits a few years ago! What a treat for them! Our kids constantly ask when we are going to "our cottage"! For anyone with younger children, the cottages are situated around the perimeter of the property, with the playground and large field area in the middle. It’s fantastic because parents can sit by the cottage or picnic table and watch their children without worrying about them running off or near the roadway, etc. Very safe, convenient and stress-free! The property is huge – lots of room for the kids to play – and they have a fantastic view of the ocean. The scenery in the fall is spectacular!

If you would like to take your family on a relaxing getaway, maybe enjoy the amenities in nearby Annapolis Royal/Digby or spend a day at Upper Clements Park, you DEFINITELY have to go to Upper Clements Cottages! We have made such wonderful memories from our vacations at Upper Clements - our family absolutely loves our long-weekend getaways and we’re looking forward to spending Thanksgiving weekend at ‘our cottage’!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueensCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We just spent four days at these cottages in Annapolis Royal for our family reunion. We booked all the cottages and everyone was extremely pleased with their accomodations. The range of ages in our family is from 11months to 85 years and I cannot say enough good things about our stay. Gary and Margaret were always available and allowed our family to use the facilities at our leisure.

We all said we would book here for another reunion and my family(being as big as it is) is not the easiest to please.

This is a highly recommended place to stay for any family. Very clean and has everything you need at your fingertips!!!

Kerry and Brenard Faye

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

What a wonderful spot for a little get away with the family. It was immaculately clean and very functional for the whole family. Great pool and lots of bunnies for the kids to chase. Also, lots of goats for the kids to play with and feed.They had thought of everything, down to the lighter for the bonfire. (each cabin has it's own private pit). The upper Clements park is literally next door which is convenient if you run into rain.(which we did). The owners were so friendly and patient with the kids; they really felt at home. Thanks guys for the wonderful stay!
The Armstrongs!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armstrongfjlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our stay in cottage #7 at Upper Clements Cottages greatly exceeded our expectations! I'm so glad I found this place via Google search for my family to spend our 1 week vacation! Gary & Margaret are very personable, helpful & will answer any questions you have. They go above & beyond to make sure your stay is a great one. All the little extras set these cottages apart from the rest! My son loved the animals (goats, bunnies, turtles, dog & cat), pool, playground, sandbox & pond. There is lots of room for kids to play & for outdoor games. The view is spectacular, right on the ocean! There are plenty of games & dvds in the office to borrow as you please. The cottages are extremely clean & well equipped. I would recommend this place for kids or even a romantic weekend away! Upper Clements Park is located just next door & other sites such as Fort Anne, Action Jax, Port Royal, Digby etc. are just a short drive away. I recommend the German Cafe for lunch/dinner & some yummy baked goods. What did I like least about Upper Clements Cottages? That we had to leave! We definitely will be back next year! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NovaScotians2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
2.6 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
10.6 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
4.8 mi away
Crown Cove Cottages
Crown Cove Cottages
#2 of 4 in Granville Ferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
6.7 mi away
Mountain Top Cottages & Campground
Mountain Top Cottages & Campgrou...
#1 of 4 in Granville Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
8.3 mi away
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
#4 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Clements Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Clements Cottages

Property: Upper Clements Cottages
Address: 3059 Highway 1, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Upper Clements Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale 2 bedroom fully equipped cottages overlooking the beautiful Annapolis River. Come and enjoy the various attractions of the Valley. Whether it is for a family vacation, outdoor activities or a romantic get away, our year round facilities will satisfy your needs. Join in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Upper Clements Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Clements Cottages Hotel Annapolis Royal
Upper Clements Cottages Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing