We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious house, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you feel like being pampered in the lovely town of Annapolis Royal, this is the place to stay. Suzan, the innkeeper, has used her amazing sense of style to make this a memorable experience. She has thought of every detail to make your visit comfortable -- and the breakfast is incredible. The rooms are all gorgeous, but choose one on the front overlooking the harbor if possible (although the huge garden in the back is beautiful too). Bailey House is very romantic and more appropriate for couples than families. Consider it for a special anniversary celebration!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 288 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is what a B&B should be !
We slept in the coach house with our two teenagers. Susan was not present at the time we arrived but she prepared everything and it was excellent. We were very surprised when we opened the door of the coach house: lots of space and amazing decoration in every room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved the Bailey House, and Annapolis Royal is a special historic place. Suzan is very welcoming, and she has done an amazing job of making a wonderful, historic old inn her own. The gardens and the lawn across the street on the river are beautiful. Suzan's decorating skills and hospitality are unequalled. She does a great job of leading you to the local sites and surrounding areas, depending on the amount of time you have. She suggested the Graveyard Tour at Fort Anne -- it is not to be missed if you are there on the right night! Suzan's breakfast was truly gourmet (she is an excellent cook), and she sent us off to the early ferry with a reeaally nice breakfast to go! (We were in the John Easson room one night, and the Carriage House the next night. Both very fine!)

Room Tip: If you have a family of four or a girls' group for a weekend, book the Carriage House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CZTHOMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a treat! We stayed with two adults and two teenagers in the coach house (recently built) and enjoyed two great nights there. Suzan is the most amazing proprietor! There is a lot of detail and taste to all decorations, linen, covers, towels, ... and the breakfast! OMG - what a way to start the day. Freshly baked cake, scones, biscuits and eggs. Fruit, yoghurt, self made jam and so much more.
We also had a delicious lunch package made which she offers for only 10 CAD p.p.; along with lots of ideas and tips to make the best out of your stay.
We are for sure coming again!

Room Tip: I did not see the rooms inside the main building, but they must be just as nice. We stayed with 2 ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Bailey House based on trip advisors rating-we got there early and Susan let us check in -the house is beautiful, obviously a labor of love. When we got to our room the older door
Knob was very loose and we had problems opening the door. Susan came up and showed us how to manipulate the knob to get it open, my husband suggested that it might be better if she fixed the lock rather than having guests go through gyrations to get into the room. (I was never able to open the door). We also had problems with the front door latch. Susan did not like the remark and gone was the charming innkeeper instead we had a very curt and abrupt lady who told my husband to stop talking-when he said he was doing exactly what she told us to do-he wasn't listening or he'd be able to open the door.. We left a day early because she was so unpleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mgl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the third time that I have brought friends to stay at the Bailey Bed and Breakfast in Annapolis Royal. I bring them because I know that it will be a memorable experience for them and always a joy for me. I leave feeling like I have been pampered from beginning to end and quite honestly, I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and this is the only one that makes me feel that way. Suzan is a gracious hostess and works hard to ensure that you are well taken care of. The house itself is immaculate and attention to detail is evident in everything from the decorating to the selection of high quality linens, featherbeds and towels. The breakfast that was served was all prepared by Suzan and was in short...spectacular!! Kept us going until supper time! I love the Annapolis Royal area and will be back - but the thing that draws me back to the area is a stay at the Bailey House Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: If there are two couples travelling, the Coach House is a spectacular oasis in which to stay separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a little jewel. The bed linens are imported and utterly exquisite. The soaps too are imported, and my wife said the soaps were amazing on the skin — light, fresh, not oily. The premises is immaculately clean (my wife dropped an earring that fell under the bed and the only thing under there but for her ear ring was shine). The towels too are luxuriant —- things you don't expect in a typical B&B The attention to detail is amazing: while the towels are white, a black face cloth is provided for those messy jobs, e.g. make-up removal.

The owner has taken culinary classes and the breakfasts are excellent, with breakfast timed when the release of cakes, buns and egg dishes. We have stayed at a lot of bed and breakfasts across the country and this is one of the best. We plan on coming back again. We stayed for 4 days and sadly left.

Given the folk art, Canadian art originals and the finer things in life, this is NOT the place to bring little kids, etc. This is a Bed of Breakfast of class and distinction. Indeed at the table in the morning over the course of 4 days we broke bread with artists, Harvard professors, a deputy minister, an electrical engineer, a senior biotech lawyer and a doctor / adjunct medical professor. The conversation was first rate.

The owner is exceptionally well informed about what is going on, in the province, in the town. She arranged a delightful whimsical event for breakfast — the town crier appeared in full regalia and the best history lesson of my life followed.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, and alternatively get the guest house when travelling with another couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
1 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 St. George Street | PO Box 368, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: $97 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailey House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in a uniquely Canadian experience ... in this c1770 Georgian heritage home. This is the only guest house in historic Annapolis Royal on the water. Enjoy 29 foot tides while lounging in the waterside gardens. Or, nestle into the back English gardens. Large, lush rooms all with newer en-suite, private washrooms, high thread count linens and feather beds. Or enquire about the new high end private Coach House with two bedrooms, lux washroom and sitting room. Breakfast is an experience at the BHBB with farm fresh eggs, local produce, fair trade coffee, fresh in-house baked goods and locally made preserves. Come, relax, enjoy, treat yourself at the Bailey House Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bailey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailey House Bed And Breakfast Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing