We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful handmade chocolates, cappuccino, and best chai tea ever”

The chocolate shop & cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful handmade chocolates, cappuccino, and best chai tea ever”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

JoAnn's Chocolate Shop is worth the extra walk down past the wharf on St. George St. We enjoyed a lovely club sandwich on a croissant while sitting outside on rustic willow furniture and watching artists painting during the Paint the Town Festival.

After our sandwich we each had a hazelnut truffle, an iced caramel latte (tasty and refreshing) and one of the house specialty oatmeal chocolate chip pecan cookies which were awesome.

Later that afternoon, we had to have a small box of chocolates and truffles to take with us for later. We got chai tea lattes to go as well. The home made chai tea was spicy with cinnamon and ginger and not too sweet.

If we didn't already love Annapolis Royal, we would certainly make the trip here just to have more of those chocolates. Forget Laura Secord, these are the best chocolates we have ever had. Oh and they have dark chocolate ginger all the time - not just at Christmas. I have already put my order in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliekind026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Super spot for coffee, a treat and of course chocolate!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We always enjoy visiting with Joanne. The coffee is good and the chocolate is wonderful. I have a friend who loves the peanut butter cups so I always try to pick up some for her when we visit Annapolis Royal. Not disappointed as J. made some specially for us!!! My friend will be very happy! Lovely spot, lovely view and good hospitality!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PBMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A "Sweet" Little Gem”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Chocolate Shop and Cafe is a gem in Annapolis Royal. A gathering spot for coffees, teas, and cold beverages, light lunches, yummy sweets and hand-made chocolates that are so hard to resist! With an interesting and varied collection of books, jewelry and antiques, this is a shop for everyone...to have a light meal or beverage, purchase a gift or stock up on reading material. It is a delight to visit - the friendly owner and her staff are always willing to stop and chat. This is the kind of place where you can go and meet friends or enjoy some solitary reading time with a good book and beverage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aeboulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great homemade treats!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

You may also find a small trinket in the unexpected antique shop in the back! Charming little cafe for a quick "pick me up" before the walk back through the beautiful town of Annapolis Royal. Purchased a variety of homemade chocolates for later at our B&B. They were lovely! You must go!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Choclove56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
1 review
“The Chocolate Shop & Cafe - a relaxed & tasty treat”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The store itself is extremely interesting since the back 2/3 contains books and antiques for sale. The food took longer than MacDonald's or Timmie's, but then it also tasted much, much better. Plus, I enjoyed having a little time to wander around the back section. The staff were friendly and chatty, making my visitors (sister & daughter) feel welcomed and very much at home.

The best thing was discovering the chocolates that JoAnn makes herself. We made several trips during the two weeks to buy either little boxes of chocolates or a few delights to eat as we strolled around town.

In an historical building, this quaint cafe evokes lovely memories and offers considerably more than delicious lunches.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The chocolate shop & cafe also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to The chocolate shop & cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing