We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bread And Roses Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Ponca City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful room”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I loved this place. The room was wonderful. Lots of windows, a great comfy bed and we woke up to the soft sound of the fountain. The breakfast was good. The company and the hosts were nice. Altogether a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljw_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
122
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My sister and I stayed 3 nights at the Bread and Roses Inn. It is a beautiful brick Victorian house. We were on the third floor (thankfully Jim the owner brought our suitcases up) in a room with 2 double beds. The room was beautifully furnished with reproduction furniture. It was extremely clean and the sheets were luxurious. There was only one set of towels for each of us in the bathroom which was sort of strange, but I suppose we could have asked for more. The owners Gaya and Jim are very friendly and knowledgeable as they have been the owners for approximately 9 years. I can't say enough how beautiful the house and rooms are (we looked into a lot of the other rooms when they were empty). The breakfast that was served was delicious and the other guests were really interesting to talk to. We walked to everything in the town and took a side trip to Digby while we were there. The Historic Gardens are gorgeous and don't miss the night graveyard tour because it's very informative. I would absolutely recommend the Bread and Roses.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LItraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Enjoyed my stay, very friendly and helpful hosts, Gaya even offered me a cookie when I arrived out of the blue! Nice old home and nice grounds. Room comfortable, didn't know how to get heat out of the big old radiator and so a bit chilly, as I was by myself. Nice Breakfast time was set tight 8-9 so early risers have to wait a bit. Breakfast menu set as well - pancakes and bacon that morning, but tasty.

Andy McLean

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongogerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sept and again in October before coming home to England. Jim and Gaya were the perfect hosts. Bedrooms are fantastic - 4 poster beds, antique furniture, wonderful bed linen. Difficult to get out of the beds in a morning - although the smell of Gayas breakfasts and Jim's coffee helped.

Annapolis is a lovely small town. Historic sites, neat little pub serving good food. Great base for the Bay of Fundy side of Nova Scotia.

Thanks to Jim and Gaya for making it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorkeller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, NH
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Beautiful brick mansion. Interior is tastefully decorated to the period. Room was very comfortable with large bath. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast. Beautifully landscaped flower gardens. Location within easy walk to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

A really first class B&B .A great room at a modest price in a Victorian mansion.
Beautifully furnished, clean, quiet, all the amenities in a magnificent town. Breakfast was delicious.
The owner Jim was helpful from check in to check out. Highly recommend this place, don't miss the grave yard tour in the village. It was a tremendous stay and great value!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonLignow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgay, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Upon arrival at Bread and Roses, we were welcomed warmly and given many resources to make our stay in Annapolis Royal fun!
The lady who ran the B & B suggested restaurants and activities, all that turned out to be great!
We had room 6, which was on the top floor with two double beds. It was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated with elegant head boards and antique chairs.
The location was very convinient, being one block from the main road which was littered with trendy restaurants and cute stores.
In the morning, we headed downstairs to the grand dining room for breakfast. We had a buffet of fruit and biscuits, and then got served a hot breakfast of bacon, pancakes and coffee or tea. It was delicious!!
In the end, this is a great B&B that has a really great vibe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Garrison House Inn
The Garrison House Inn
#7 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
70 reviews
14.1 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bread And Roses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bread And Roses Inn

Property: Bread And Roses Inn
Address: 82 Victoria Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bread And Roses Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bread And Roses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bread And Roses Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing