We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very warm and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillsdale House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillsdale House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“very warm and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed here several years in a row amd love it. We are aware of alternatives in Annapolis Royal and have stayed at a few but nothing equals Hillsdale House. Accomodations are perfect and Val and Paul couldn't be more friendly and helpful as are their well-chosen staff. Hillsdale is well located near the town centre for places to eat and other stores, also very near the beautiful Town Gardens (and the close by Town Marsh for us bird watchers) The whole area is of interest especially for history buffs. In the last few years wineries have grown up producing remarkably good wines. The Saturday morning farmers' market is not to be missed and the Town Crier often shows up at Hillsdale during the second B of B & B!.
Well done Hillsdale!

Room Tip: Specify upstairs (mo elevator) or downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    41
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
293
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Tx
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

No trip to Annapolis Royal would be complete without a stay at Hillsdale House. The Inn itself is beautiful, and the grounds are lovely. There are many places to sit and watch wildlife in the gardens. The rooms are lovely, and over the years I have stayed in almost all of them. Rooms are decorated in period antiques--but comfortably modern.

Breakfast at Hillsdale House is amazing. There is always a choice between eggs, bacon/ham, and homemade Nova Scotia Brown Bread and another treat, say waffles, for instance--but I have never been able to pass up the fantastic toast and eggs cooked just the way I like them! Val understands and executes any description perfectly!

We own property in Nova Scotia now, but first and last nights are always spent at Hillsdale House. The staff is warm and friendly and Val and Paul are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had two nights at this lovely hotel. We were greeted by Val who made us feel very welcome straight away. The hotel was built in the 1800s and the decor, furnishings, furniture and antiques reflect that period. Everything is polished and gleaming. Our room was large with a very comfortable four poster bed.
Breakfasts are taken in a very elegant dining room overlooking the large well kept garden. They are freshly prepared and delicious.
There is no evening meal available at the hotel but it is a short drive (or decent walk) to the Main Street and waterfront of Annapolis Royal where there are a few cafes and bistros.
Annapolis Royal is a lovely town steeped in history and The Hillsdale House Inn has always been part of that history. It is good to know that through Val and Paul it will continue to be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellers4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at Hillsdale House on four occasions. It is a beautiful house, set on spacious and gorgeously landscaped grounds. The rooms are decorated with lovely antiques, the inn keepers are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are amazingly good. We were provided with a wonderful picnic lunch to take with us during the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiyafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hillsdale House is one of those rare finds where everything is right. Our welcome was warm and friendly and we knew immediately on entering that we would enjoy our stay in this gracious house. The attention to detail is amazing. Floors gleam, furnishings are beautiful and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable. Val gave us invaluable travel advice and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, beautifully presented and well prepared. We left Hillsdale House very reluctantly as we had enjoyed our stay so much.

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staying here is relaxing. The grounds are lovely and there are many places to sit and enjoy a drink, even in the rain. The rooms are well kept and clean and the breakfast is great as well. And both Val and Paul take the time to speak to you and make you feel at home as do the three women who work there. A very warm atmosphere for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which was very, very large for a bed and breakfast place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiefer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Paul and Val have created a feeling of "home" in a spectacular Victorian era property. The meals were excellent expecially the home-cooked breakfast featuring home-made waffles with fresh fruit. The room was very comfportable and quiet with a modern bathroom. An "authentic" Nova Scotia experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
13.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Property: Hillsdale House Inn
Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing