We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a luxurious home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillsdale House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the HH Inn in Annapolis Royal about a dozen times in the past two years. I am a fairly critical and picky person, and I can truly say that I have never found fault with the beautiful rooms, grounds and fantastic service at the Hillsdale House.
I have stayed in a few different rooms at the HH and I've never had one I didn't love. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are VERY lovely and clean. I really enjoy sitting on the idyllic back deck, sipping a glass of local wine (Val and Paul the owners can make good recommendations) and looking out over the fantastic yard. I've even seen deer wander by...
I think the most special thing about the Hillsdale House is the way that Val and Paul the innkeepers make you feel at ease, welcome and happy. They are full of great ideas about what to do in the area, and always eager to see how they can make your stay even better. I hope I get to return soon!

Room Tip: Room 10 has a really fantastic alcove that looks over the garden... I love room 5 (I think) because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 560 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our 4th year at the Wharf Rat Rally and 4th year that we stayed with Paul and Val at the Hillsdale. I don't know that there is much I can say that I have not said before, the Hillsdale House Inn is an exceptional place to stay, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, outstanding breakfast. We are already booked for next year. We truly look at the Hillsdale as our home away from home the Labour Day weekend each year and Paul and Val are definitely considered dear friends.
If you have the opportunity to visit the beautiful Annapolis Royal a stay here is a must.

Room Tip: The rooms are all so different you should look at the pictures and choose what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirls10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed only one night in the Hillsdale House Inn, but it was lovely. The room was a smaller one, as I was travelling solo, but it featured all the amenities I needed - and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and generous. The house and the grounds were spectacular. Breakfast was exceptional as well - fresh, hommemade and delicious! I would strongly recommend this Inn to any travellers in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E_McCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Hillsdale House in August and stayed in Room 5 on the top floor. The room was beautiful, air conditioned and had a large bathroom with a claw footed bath tub. We loved it. The inn itself is welcoming, immaculate, and lovely; breakfast was top notch with lots of choice, well cooked food and homemade muffins and jams. I would recommend staying here to anyone - it is close to the historic gardens and just a short walk to Fort Anne. For anyone with mobility issues a room on a lower floor would be recommended.

Annapolis Royal itself is also a lovely place. Don't miss the gardens or the graveyard tour.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCanadianHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Everything about Hillsdale House Inn was excellent, with one minor exception. We had a beautiful room, with a spacious, well-equipped en suite bath. The breakfast was delicious and very plentiful. The advice and assistance we got from Val and Paul was top notch. The one exception is that the air conditioner in our room was very noisy.

Despite that small glitch, I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanibelsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have stayed at 4 Annapolis Royal inns and this is our favourite. The grounds and gardens are outstanding. The room was very comfortable and right for us and breakfast was lovely. We loved sitting out on the veranda for a cocktail. Convenient to restaurants and Historic Gardens. We will book again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shar967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The 3rd hotel on my walking tour of Nova Scotia was Hillsdale House Inn in Annapolis Royal. Hillsdale House Inn offers 13 guest rooms - 10 in the main 3-story house and 3 in the attached 2-story carriage house. Their very informative web site describes each room individually with both text and photos so I won't try to repeat it all here.

I was only here for 1 night, thank goodness, as my carriage house room (#14) had no air conditioning and I had a miserable night even with 2 fans in the room. Oddly, the other second floor Carriage House room (#15) which was adjacent to mine did have AC. I really wanted to like this place as the owners and staff are so nice but the no AC killed it for me.

My bedroom was carpeted, but felt cluttered with too much furniture in it (seems to be a recurring Victorian thing).

The bathroom had a linoleum floor. The standard size tub was the plastic variety with a plastic shower surround and a straight shower curtain rod. The shower curtain was too long by about 6 to 9 inches and, as a result, lays wet in the bottom of the tub. Predictably, it had red mildew all along its bottom edge. The hand towels were on a wall rack but the bath towels were on a wooden floor stand - cute but unnecessarily eats floor space.

I wish I had more time to explore Annapolis Royal than my short stay here allowed but I am glad I only had 1 night in the hot room. Most reviewers love this place but for me it was only average at best and I give it a 3.

Room Tip: If you are staying during warm weather make sure your room has AC that works as some room have no AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

We want to thank this guest for taking the time to provide feedback on his visit to our property last week. We are also disappointed to learn that he was not particularly please with his accommodations for the reasons stated in his review. As pointed out the room that he was staying in was not air conditioned and while the room has windows that open for fresh air and oscillating fans are provided, we have had a unusually hot and humid summer and this obviously was not adequate. This summer we have added air conditioning units to all of rooms with this one exception. Unfortunately we have had to order a special type of A/C unit for this room, as a window unit will not fit.

Our property is a 153 year old Victorian Inn and as such we have tried to balance maintaining the character of the property while also providing modern conveniences. This is actually the first time that we have received a comment about there being too much furniture in this room.

The bath and shower in the room is a contemporary surround type unit. We do appreciate the comment about the shower rod and will soon replace it with one of the curved style rods.

The shower curtain was certainly an oversight, and has been replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: $82 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing