We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best activity in Annapolis”

Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Annapolis Royal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The award-winning Candlelight Graveyard Tour in Annapolis Royal has been one of the most highly recommended "must see" attractions in Nova Scotia since 1992. Sponsored by The Historical Association of Annapolis Royal, tours of one of the oldest English graveyards in Canada are held every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings between June 1 - Oct 15 at 9:30 pm (rain or shine). Meet at the parking lot of Fort Anne National Historic Site, and don't forget to bring your sense of adventure!
Windsor, On
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best activity in Annapolis”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

It might sound weird to make a graveyard tour. In fact, it is. It was our first activity on our trip through the Atlantic Provinces and all the information we got with Alan was key to understand not only the history of the city, but the development of the region. Interesting, fun and spooky. This is a must do when you go to Annapolis.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OscarSobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun and History”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Husband and I spent an evening in Annapolis Royal and I planned to take this tour for fun. So we showed up at Fort Anne on Thursday evening and there was a small group of about 20 gathered. Mr. Alan Melanson dressed in costume walks over introduces himself and asked us all to announce where we're from. He passes out lit lanterns to each of us to light our way as we walk to the graveyard and to headstones. Tour was very interesting and informative. Wear shoes to walk in the dark on grassy, uneven ground and . . . expect the unexpected!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do this. 'Nuff said.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Fun, educational, and with the proceeds going to a great cause (the Historical Society). Easily one of the highlights of our week in Nova Scotia.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheReluctantAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Ton of History”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Annapolis Royal Graveyard Tour was probably the most informative tour I've ever experienced. Alan Melanson is a true historian and he brought the "characters" of Annapolis Royal's past to life. He is a wealth of knowledge, and the setting (candlelit lanterns in the dark) is spectacular.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glengarry, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Oldest English graveyard in Canada”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When we first decided to join the Graveyard Tour we were simply looking for something to do on a Friday evening while staying in the Annapolis Royal area. This event turned out to be some much more. Alan Melanson, the gentleman who led the tour, is a national treasure. He walked us through a condensed history of Annapolis Royal by telling the stories behind a number of the graveyard stones in the cemetery. I learned that Annapolis Royal has a unique and important place in the history of Canada, Nova Scotia and especially Acadia. If you find yourself in Annapolis Royal on one of the evenings the tour is offered I would recommend that you make your way to the Fort Anne Historic Site and take part in this unique tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing