We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a busy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro East

Bistro East
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a busy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great bistro. Very busy with nice food and good service. They went the extra mile when I asked for fruit for desert despite there being none on the menu and they rustled up a very nice selection. Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    151
    52
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Island, NY
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bistro East”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

When planning our vacation to Annapolis Royal we researched many local restaurants on Tripadvisor and visited their websites. We chose Bistro East for dinner our final night in town because items on their online menu piqued our interest.
Decor is attractive, warm and charming. I loved the paint scheme of red, black and gray. The restaurant was busy, with virtually every table taken. Janice was the only server, and she did it all. She hustled and did an excellent job, making sure everyone was welcomed, seated and served in a timely manner. I jokingly asked her if she was doing the cooking in the kitchen as well.
We shared an appetizer of world-famous Digby scallops wrapped in prosciutto, which were fresh and delicious. We then had fresh mixed salads. For our main course, my fiancé had Italian pizza with portobello mushrooms, prosciutto and green onions. I chose lobster pizza with bell peppers and roasted garlic. Both pizzas were very good, but the thin crust was not as thin as we are used to. We expect 'thin crust' pizza to be cracker-thin, but the crust was similar to Neapolitan pizza. Also, the pizza was a little dry, but still very good. Perhaps we are being too critical because we eat very good pizza back home on Long Island, New York. Other entrees on the dinner menu include beef, chicken, seafood and handmade pasta selections.
Overall we had a very good meal and dining experience. We recommend you try Bistro East and decide for yourself; you won't be disappointed. We would not hesitate to return and eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRedJonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Ate at the Bistro 2 nights and had good meals both times. The scallop pizza was great. I had the seafood extreme pasta the next night which was excellent- scallops and lobster. The lobster roll could have used little more lobster, but was tasty. Good experiences all around.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan-abc-123-456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Road trip through Nova Scotia led my wife and I through Annapolis Royal on a Sunday midday. The Bistro stood out as inviting. We went for a quick lunch and ordered seafood chowder and a lobster roll to share. Both were very good. The chowder was great. The lobster roll was nice but had a powerful celery and multigrain wheat bread roll that covered the lobster flavor some. It was quite slow too but gets a nice thumbs up from us.

Helpful?
1 Thank mapman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scallop pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Really enjoyed everything, even the guitarist and the rendition of Annie's song which hadthe whole restaurant singing

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RAHkim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro East also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Bistro East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing